1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on my new build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by FooArm, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model - OEM - $25.99

    RAIDMAX ARES ATX-801WBP Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply - Retail - $56.99

    Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail - $69.99

    POWERCOLOR AX3870 512MD3-PH - $69.99

    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 - $19.99

    OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 - $24.99

    ASUS Triton70 92mm Vapo Bearing CPU Cooler - Retail - $14.99

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ Brisbane 2.8GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core black edition Processor - $ 77.00

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM - $64.99

    Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit - $35 (employee discount :) )

    Total Price With shipping and handling - $473.76

    any way to make a better rig budget is Dollar 0 - 500

    thank you
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  2. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Good price for a decent system.;)
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  4. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
  5. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Personally I wouldn't mix and match ram, one pair is best with some timings, the other one isn't, you have problems running dual channel and so on.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No offense FooArm, it would be worthwhile to spend the extra $5 and get another kit of the OCZ. That way you know you won't have ram compatibility issues between the 2 kits.

    Also, may want to look around a bit more for that HD3870, I am kinda leary about PowerColor now from hearing about that HD4850 that caught on fire.

    Also, PLEASE do me a favor and don't use the power supply included with the case.
     
  7. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie


    well i no what u mean but the RAM prices are after MAIL IN REBATE and i can only have one mail in rebate per household per product that is why
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  8. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    I am not rich so i cannot afford a extra power supply (super poor)
     
  9. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    DON NOT Cheap out on the PSU, it will cost you more in the longrun. As a general rule of thumb dont use a PSU that comes with a case as they are generally crap. There are some inexpensive and good PSUs out there, like this one:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139003
     
  10. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie

    That's cheap to you WoW !!! 55 bucks its a lot here

    and i dont think so that the PSU is that crappy in the case that comes with the case or is it ??

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811156070


    it is almost the same thing has which u should me except it is 24 amps on the 12v

    34 amps on 5 v
    28 amps on 3.3v
    and doesn't have the fancy mesh around the cables


    i don no all the amps are higher instead of the 12v and i am not sure if this will affect me that much


    and 55 bucks is a little to much for a psu ... i can do maybe 35 bucks
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  11. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    If you want a suggestion, this is what I would do for a more balanced system:

    Thermaltake 430w, $40.99, $30.99 after MIR
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153023

    Rosewill Case, $26.99 (just a random case, if you spend up to $50, I'd buy the Antec Sonata III and ditch the Thermaltake, the Antec includes a reliable 500w PSU for a total of $80)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147075

    G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 800mhz, $60
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122

    Here's a few keyboard / mouse combos that are pretty cheap. I've used an old regular Microsoft PS/2 keyboard on my desktop for years and I don't really see a need for anything nicer. As far as a mouse goes, you'll probably end up upgrading that over time.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...=2010290063 50001080 4093 1086107097&name=Yes
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823109046

    Even if you spend about $24 on the keyboard / mouse, you'll still come out the same assuming you would have spent $40 on a keyboard.
     
    FooArm says thanks.
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'm just trying to help you avoid problems in the future. Having a crappy PSU will result in crashes, lockups and may fry your precious components. I bet you anything that the PSU in that case WILL NOT deliver the promised wattage and voltage. Most of low-end PSUs have this problem, I actually recomend you read some reviews of that PSU or any other you are considering. My advice to you, save until you have enought to buy a quality unit.
     
    FooArm says thanks.
  13. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
  14. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    i think i can get microsoft employee discount on the keyboard :)
     
  15. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i'm not familiar with that unit. Seems to have pretty good customer reviews. But chances are its quality is mediocre. I tried to find something for you on Newegg but all the good ones start from around $55-60. I would say read up on that model and see what the hardware publication reviews say or perhaps someone here on TPU had experience with it.

    EDIT: You may want to look at this Antec Earthwatts, for $39 its a good PSU.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371006
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  16. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    okay ill go with the CORSAIR seems like some thing i can reuse for my next build
     
  17. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    good choice, man
     
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
  19. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    also ditch the amd and go with intel, wouldn't cost too much more:

    Core 2 duo e5200 $83:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116072

    Ecs P43 $69.99:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135092


    or if you want a higher quality motherboard, Asus p45 $100:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131333

    edit: don't mix and match the ram, if you have to only get 2gb now and another 2 later (vista x64 will work with 2gb of ram). Also don't waste your money on that cpu cooler, use the stock cooler that comes with the intel cpu and then later on upgrade to a higher quality one such as xigmatek:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233003
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  20. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    actually thats what i am planing to do here are new specs see

    intel which u said and mobo

    + xfx 9800 GT

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150316

    + mushkin 4 GB (2 X 2) DDR2 800 mhz

    + Antec NSK4480B CASE (comes with ANTEC EarthWatts 380W ATX12V v2.0 80Plus Certified power supply)

    +ASUS V-60 92mm Vapo Bearing CPU Cooler - Retail


    and all of this + vista 64 bit for $ 553. 50


    i know it is 50 bucks more of my budget but i think that this will give me better performance and last me longer

    is 380 watts enough for a 9800 gt + E5200 ... i plan to overclock the CPU to 3.5 GHz and 1.31V with a 1333 FSB (10.5 x 333) and the 9800 GT from 600 mhz to about 650 mhz

    i think i can get the corsair 450vx also but will have to postpone the new LCD my a month (already have 19" LCD so its okay)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  21. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
  22. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  23. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    380W PSU wont be enough, i beleive most modern video cards require 400W minimum

    at least get the v430W version i suggested earlier
     
  24. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    yah but are you sure because i dont want to waste money
     
  25. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    dont go by PSU calculators they are usually wrong.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)