• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Advice on SSD for Pagefile

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#1
I really suffer from slowness and my pagefile get filled with up to 14gb, and all the time my HDD is loading

I have 2 options:
- get a 32GB ssd and just use it as dedicated pagefile, and keep using HDD for OS.
- get more 12GB ram, but I'm afraid it will not be stable on my current system and maybe I will still suffer from pagefile too. Also the 32GB SSD is cheaper.

I prefer the SSD idea, any one tried if before? will it solve my pagefile hdd loading all the time?


Thank you
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,521 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,278
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Why would your PF be 14GB? What application do you have that is actually loading 14GB of PF? Video encoding? Photo editing with a shed load of layers? Can you submit a screen shot showing its remotely full?
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#3
Why would your PF be 14GB? What application do you have that is actually loading 14GB of PF? Video encoding? Photo editing with a shed load of layers? Can you submit a screen shot showing its remotely full?
it is a game, I open many clients for it, average usage per client is 1GB but it keeps going up and goes to 3GB after some time, I open 14 to 20 clients.
I just restarted the system but you can see the usage under 1h only, with fresh start and 14 clients open

 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,521 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,278
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
Damn... what the hell game is that?! :)

More ram would be a better choice to me... Though getting 24GB stable you will need to pour on the Vtt for sure.

Posting your system specs (and then setting them up in USER CP) would be very helpful.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
it is a game, I open many clients for it, average usage per client is 1GB but it keeps going up and goes to 3GB after some time, I open 14 to 20 clients.
I just restarted the system but you can see the usage under 1h only, with fresh start and 14 clients open

http://i55.tinypic.com/254v51g.jpg
That is an amazing amount of RAM being used. What is this game with multiple clients? Why?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#6
likely multi-boxing IMO.... is it an RPG?

(fun times when i boxed in wow :D)
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#7
system spec added, the game is silkroad online which I benefit from it somehow so I open lots of clients to get profit.
And after some hours I suffer from random disconnect and crashes when I teleport from town to town which happen when my ram get fully and HDD light keep loading for ages.
after 5h:


and pagefile is already used 18gb ....


Please guys I need advice! even if I add 12gb more ram, you see how horrible is my page file... what is the best thing I can do?
Make new PC and just divide the clients over them or there is better ideas?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#8
How many IE's are open for this to happen?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#9
For what you are doing, more RAM would be better than an SSD based pagefile.
If you can eliminate paging you are always better off.
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#10
How many IE's are open for this to happen?
none, and I don't have any programs running at background... just firefox which is using 178mb now

For what you are doing, more RAM would be better than an SSD based pagefile.
If you can eliminate paging you are always better off.
eliminate paging by adding more ram but I think I will gain some more days before ram get fully used and the same happens with 24gb too?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#11
Downloading silkroad online now..GOING TO TRY AND DUPLICATE THE ISSUE...There has to be some kind of issue cuz no game should be using that much ram.:confused:
Shit their servers only have 14GB ram.


Installing....what do I have to do to initiate this odd behavior?
 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#12
eliminate paging by adding more ram but I think I will gain some more days before ram get fully used and the same happens with 24gb too?
It's possible that the client software has memory leaks in it, meaning that it is not releaseing unused memory when it's done with it.
If this is the case, the client will continue to gobble up RAM the longer it runs.

If that is true, then you will see an improvement by making your pagefile access faster, but in the long run the pagefile will continue to grow and the the burden of getting the data from the pagefile to the RAM (and back) will be placed on your CPU that is doing it's best keep the contents of the RAM in a state which does not require paging.

Your rig can only do so much before it starts to hit the wall with the hardware available to it.
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#13
Downloading silkroad online now..GOING TO TRY AND DUPLICATE THE ISSUE...There has to be some kind of issue cuz no game should be using that much ram.:confused:
Shit their servers only have 14GB ram.


Installing....what do I have to do to initiate this odd behavior?
Thank you DRDNA!

Well, you are running 1 client now so it will be hard to duplicate the issue but you can check the game and just leave it running for 24h and port from town to town and see how the ram usage of the client will go up and never go down ... you can multiply the ram usage x 20 clients and see the total.

I'm using illegal software (bot program) to open this number of clients.
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#14
It's possible that the client software has memory leaks in it, meaning that it is not releaseing unused memory when it's done with it.
If this is the case, the client will continue to gobble up RAM the longer it runs.

If that is true, then you will see an improvement by making your pagefile access faster, but in the long run the pagefile will continue to grow and the the burden of getting the data from the pagefile to the RAM (and back) will be placed on your CPU that is doing it's best keep the contents of the RAM in a state which does not require paging.

Your rig can only do so much before it starts to hit the wall with the hardware available to it.
It is true, I should have said that the game has memory leaks!
it never release unused memory... so you think the best I can do is adding 24GB ram + getting SSD for page file?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#15
Gold farming or something ? lol

If you double the memory and add an SSD you will mitigate the problem to a certain extent.
It will not fix it completely, and you wil most likely have to shut down and restart regularly to clear everything out so the client processes release the RAM they are using.
Adding more RAM will most likely extend the time between reboots.
Adding the SSD pagefile will improve performance for page file access.
Your best bet would be to use multiple rigs so you don't have such a heavy load on a single system.
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#16
Gold farming or something ? lol

If you double the memory and add an SSD you will mitigate the problem to a certain extent.
It will not fix it completely, and you wil most likely have to shut down and restart regularly to clear everything out so the client processes release the RAM they are using.
Adding more RAM will most likely extend the time between reboots.
Adding the SSD pagefile will improve performance for page file access.
Your best bet would be to use multiple rigs so you don't have such a heavy load on a single system.
Well, my main concern now to make the page file has faster access, as with ram, it is going to get filled and then again begins to write to page file so the factor here is the page file, the only difference between 12GB and 24GB will be only be time difference but the page file needs to be always faster but I doubt that will really kills the SSD in weeks or months due to the huge writing/reading to/from pagegfile, am I correct?
BTW are the SandForce SF-1222 controllers are good and reliable?

I don't favor making another PC now as it will really up the electricity bill but if it is the last thing I can do so I will go with it.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#17
Sounds like someone's loading up a bunch of bots to mine for gold to me...

Thanks for helping ruin the game, dick.
 

allevo

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name X58
Processor i7 920 @ 4GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Air
Memory 12GB 4GB x3 Corsair DDR3 1600MHz CL7
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850
Storage 2x 1TB Black WD
Case HAF932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec 850W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#18
Sounds like someone's loading up a bunch of bots to mine for gold to me...

Thanks for helping ruin the game, dick.
Thank you for your kindly words, but you don't know this game, you better know it first and come recheck your phrase again :)
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,443 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,868
#19
This game, that advertises trading throughout the entire description:http://silkroad.en.softonic.com/. You're telling us that your illegal program to run multiple clients, and the complaints that servers are too full, are not somehow linked directly.... Do we read like morons?



At any rate. The SSD being banged as a paging file might help, but I hope you're willing to see it dead nice and quick. Doubling the RAM will help, but it does not address the underlying issue. Your paging file doesn't appear to be double the size of RAM, and the program seems to be written by coding chimps. Every chimp likes to take memory, but none of them give it back. You'll never get stability with the program if this is true.



As at least a couple of people have stated, cheating is a dick move. Opening multiple clients at once in a world structured around a bartering system is cheating, assuming the red flag of "illegal programs" isn't enough to enlighten you of your misdeeds....

Assuming that you don't want to have a party, I can see you making your own to be each character class. At the same time, this definitely seems like you're playing with yourself rather than playing a game. Let that awkward masturabation segue sink in for just a moment...
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#20
I don't care about your uses etc, but if you use more RAM, buying an SSD is not going to save you. Buy more RAM, there is no question about it. It is like buying ultra high end fuel vs upgrading your engine. Yes the fuel can help, but if you need more engine power, UPGRADE YOUR DAMN ENGINE

Also, disable any process you don't need. I run 24GB of RAM and I only keep 2~4GB of pagefile on my SSD. TBH, you do not need more if you keep at 30 processors max idle

You can also upgrade to SB-E and buy the 8 RAM slotted ones. 8x4GB = 32GB, which is much more than excessive. If you want even more, by next year, 8GB sticks will be priced OK, and you can get up to 64GB of RAM
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals