• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

After PC upgrade dvi on GPU don't work

Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
I did quite huge (for me) upgrade
2500k -> 5900x
Asrock Pro3 -> MSI Tomahawk X570
DDR3 -> DDR4

For now I use GTX 780 and Nec p221w (only DVI)

After assembly problem occured.
When I start up PC LCD screen is black. GTX + Nec trough DVI
I checked HDMI -> DVI adapter and it's the same.

But
When I connect GTX to my TV trough native HDMI PC is booting into bios (no system yet)

Can I do anything with this situation or X570 has no ide what DVI is?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I've seen some weird issues with ryzen and Geforce 7x0 cards, lock the PCI-E slot to 2.0 in the BIOS and see if it helps

HDMI and DVI are electrically the same so that should always work, as long as your adaptor is working
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
I've seen some weird issues with ryzen and Geforce 7x0 cards, lock the PCI-E slot to 2.0 in the BIOS and see if it helps

HDMI and DVI are electrically the same so that should always work, as long as your adaptor is working
Will PCI-E 2.0 change impact M2 disk?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Will PCI-E 2.0 change impact M2 disk?

on my boards you can change the GPU slot seperate to the M.2 slot, but theres no harm in testing it to find out if it helps.

In my case i've got a GT620 and a 750Ti, and neither will post at all unless i lock the slots to PCI-E 2.0 on my 2700x and 3700x systems
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
on my boards you can change the GPU slot seperate to the M.2 slot, but theres no harm in testing it to find out if it helps.

In my case i've got a GT620 and a 750Ti, and neither will post at all unless i lock the slots to PCI-E 2.0 on my 2700x and 3700x systems
Can you help me with this settings location?
Is this:
Settigs/advanced/PCI Subsystem Settings
I have here:
Above 4G memory.Crypto Currency mining
PCI_E1 Gen Switch (can choose here gen 1 - 4)
Chipset Gen switch (can choose here gen 1 - 4)
PCI_E1 Lanes Configuration (Auto, x8+x8...)

There is interesting thing.
Changing gen don't work but when I start PC with tv connected, and then change cables to LCD it is working.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
PCI_E1 Gen Switch (can choose here gen 1 - 4)

choose 2, for this test
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
Didn't help ( I checked chipset too)
As I mentioned above.
Whet I start PC with TV connected (HDMI - HDMI) I can disconnect TV and connect LCD, an than it works.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Honestly, thats a strange one.

Is there *any* other devices connected to display outputs at all? Just the one cable only, to the graphics card (not the motherboards connectors)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
Honestly, thats a strange one.

Is there *any* other devices connected to display outputs at all? Just the one cable only, to the graphics card (not the motherboards connectors)
I tried both ways
One cable and two cables (LCT + TV)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
The only real thing that's changed between those platforms is UEFI support - which can make some GPU's not give a signal until windows.

This oddity of DVI not working while HDMI does is pretty bizarre. Can you show pics of the adaptors you're using? i might get a clue there
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
20201202_120240.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
57 (0.98/day)
System Name ChinaVirus
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2620 v3 @ 2599.39 MHz
Motherboard Huananzhi X99-F8
Cooling Cooler Master MasterAir MA410P, Fans Corsair AF120
Memory 16Gb (2x8) Micron Technology 8192 MB (DDR4-2400) - P/N: 18ASF1G72PZ-2G3B1
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire TOXIC R9 280X OC
Storage SSD NVMe 250Gb (KINGSTON SA2000M8250G); HD 1Tb (Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB);SSD 1TB KingDian
Display(s) Samsung 7.2 inches (18.3 cm) / 1280 x 720 pixels @ 23-60 Hz
Case Mymax Full Tower Horus black
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cougar Gx 800W 80Plus Gold
Mouse -
Keyboard -
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Enterprise LTSB 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/k9amvl https://gpuscore.top/furmark/show.php?id=212229
Can you help me with this settings location?
Is this:
Settigs/advanced/PCI Subsystem Settings
I have here:
Above 4G memory.Crypto Currency mining
PCI_E1 Gen Switch (can choose here gen 1 - 4)
Chipset Gen switch (can choose here gen 1 - 4)
PCI_E1 Lanes Configuration (Auto, x8+x8...)

There is interesting thing.
Changing gen don't work but when I start PC with tv connected, and then change cables to LCD it is working.
is your previous build still available? can you test the DVI port on your previous mobo to see if it still works? I'm asking this so we can be sure that the problem is not on the port itself, but some configuration in your new mobo BIOS

Man... that's some high quality photo... how...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
That's a single link DVI cable, but you're dealing with a 1600x900 monitor so that should work totally fine.
I was half expecting some dodgy crap from wish held together with duct tape.

This is either something broken - the cable, or the DVI port .... ooooor you've ran into a genuine, rare really weird bug
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
is your previous build still available? can you test the DVI port on your previous mobo to see if it still works? I'm asking this so we can be sure that the problem is not on the port itself, but some configuration in your new mobo BIOS


Man... that's some high quality photo... how...
Previous build can be problematic but I have an idea that can help with tests but... after work :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
57 (0.98/day)
System Name ChinaVirus
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2620 v3 @ 2599.39 MHz
Motherboard Huananzhi X99-F8
Cooling Cooler Master MasterAir MA410P, Fans Corsair AF120
Memory 16Gb (2x8) Micron Technology 8192 MB (DDR4-2400) - P/N: 18ASF1G72PZ-2G3B1
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire TOXIC R9 280X OC
Storage SSD NVMe 250Gb (KINGSTON SA2000M8250G); HD 1Tb (Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB);SSD 1TB KingDian
Display(s) Samsung 7.2 inches (18.3 cm) / 1280 x 720 pixels @ 23-60 Hz
Case Mymax Full Tower Horus black
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cougar Gx 800W 80Plus Gold
Mouse -
Keyboard -
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Enterprise LTSB 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/k9amvl https://gpuscore.top/furmark/show.php?id=212229
The only real thing that's changed between those platforms is UEFI support - which can make some GPU's not give a signal until windows.

This oddity of DVI not working while HDMI does is pretty bizarre. Can you show pics of the adaptors you're using? i might get a clue there
maybe if he changes the video support to legacy it'll work?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
maybe if he changes the video support to legacy it'll work?
I dont think the modern boards support that in the same way the old mobos did - the CSM is for booting from MBR drives, GPU's have to be UEFI to work properly.


Hell maybe this is that 1 in a million time where updating the GPU BIOS is a good idea?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
57 (0.98/day)
System Name ChinaVirus
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2620 v3 @ 2599.39 MHz
Motherboard Huananzhi X99-F8
Cooling Cooler Master MasterAir MA410P, Fans Corsair AF120
Memory 16Gb (2x8) Micron Technology 8192 MB (DDR4-2400) - P/N: 18ASF1G72PZ-2G3B1
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire TOXIC R9 280X OC
Storage SSD NVMe 250Gb (KINGSTON SA2000M8250G); HD 1Tb (Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB);SSD 1TB KingDian
Display(s) Samsung 7.2 inches (18.3 cm) / 1280 x 720 pixels @ 23-60 Hz
Case Mymax Full Tower Horus black
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cougar Gx 800W 80Plus Gold
Mouse -
Keyboard -
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Enterprise LTSB 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/k9amvl https://gpuscore.top/furmark/show.php?id=212229
Previous build can be problematic but I have an idea that can help with tests but... after work :)
We just need to test your gpu on other Mobo, and preferably the same monitor too.
It is highly unlikely, but, your dvi port could have been damaged in the process (I really cannot see how, but there is a chance) and, maybe even the monitor port can be damaged.
if both DVI ports are ok, try installing windows on a drive and then connecting both the HDMI and DVI, to see if the windows recognizes two displays.

I dont think the modern boards support that in the same way the old mobos did - the CSM is for booting from MBR drives, GPU's have to be UEFI to work properly.


Hell maybe this is that 1 in a million time where updating the GPU BIOS is a good idea?
Well, that i never heard of lol
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Whats the exact model number of the GPU? Let's go find a Vbios update


(Oh and trust me, over the years i've seen some weeeeeeeeird compatibility issues)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
Whats the exact model number of the GPU? Let's go find a Vbios update


(Oh and trust me, over the years i've seen some weeeeeeeeird compatibility issues)
It's gigabyte gtx 780 oc windforce rev 2
I'm afraid that it won't be easy - finding updated bios version
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
It's gigabyte gtx 780 oc windforce rev 2
I'm afraid that it won't be easy - finding updated bios version

I used to have one of those, should be easy actually.

Giga make it annoying where you need to use their garbage app to update, and often it gets outdated and broken.
Here's TPUs list - find one that matches your card more closely
VGA Bios Collection | TechPowerUp
One of TPU's many Bios flashing guides is here - GUIDE for Flashing BIOS of NVIDIA GPU | TechPowerUp Forums (if the latest BIOS has differing clocks to your model, you have the option of modifying the BIOS to match the clocks your card currently has to be safer)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
I did a test.
With defoult bios settings I set boot order to USB, HDD ...

After insertion of bootable USB, when I press enter, live CD is starting to boot and LCD is turning on. And it's on DVI - DVI connection.
So it seems that I can not go into bios with my LCD but I can install the system and problebly I will can use it.

Inconvenience - to use bios I have to connect TV to PC

I'll check GPU bios after system installation.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
57 (0.98/day)
System Name ChinaVirus
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2620 v3 @ 2599.39 MHz
Motherboard Huananzhi X99-F8
Cooling Cooler Master MasterAir MA410P, Fans Corsair AF120
Memory 16Gb (2x8) Micron Technology 8192 MB (DDR4-2400) - P/N: 18ASF1G72PZ-2G3B1
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire TOXIC R9 280X OC
Storage SSD NVMe 250Gb (KINGSTON SA2000M8250G); HD 1Tb (Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB);SSD 1TB KingDian
Display(s) Samsung 7.2 inches (18.3 cm) / 1280 x 720 pixels @ 23-60 Hz
Case Mymax Full Tower Horus black
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cougar Gx 800W 80Plus Gold
Mouse -
Keyboard -
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Enterprise LTSB 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/k9amvl https://gpuscore.top/furmark/show.php?id=212229
Wow, thats reaaally weird, your gpu displays when your system boot?
Now I'm really lost.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
107 (1.43/day)
And a little update.
O took an old LCD screen. Samsung 173p plus.
It's older than my NEC p221w

It's working flawlessly over DVI (gtx 780 DVI - LCD DVI)
Everything works!

Have no idea what is going on with my NEC :(
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,773 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
It must be getting an incorrect signal for resolution or refresh rate, this does sound more and more like a weird bug
 
Top