• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AGP video card - NO SIGNAL

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
HI TPUF!!!
I recently purchased a MSI NVidia GeForce4 MX440 AGP 8x.
I thought, that its gonna be back warts compatible with my MSI-6577 4x AGP board.
I received the card today in the MailBox for only $8!
But my happyness would soon find an end...
When i tryed to start my computer - there was no video output!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:
Well i tryed to reset bios / unplug / different monitor / take out all extra pci cards.
NOTHING WANTS TO WORK!!!! :cry:

I was looking for AGP settings in the bios, but there was no such thing. :cry:
Maybe 1 of u can helpo we - how ot get it to work. :respect:
PLZZZZ!!!! :respect:
:cry: :cry: :cry:

IF SOME ONE FIXES IT - REWARD OF $2 VIA PAYPAL!!! :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#2
I know it's only a very small picture but if you look closely you can see it say's ... "Primary Video..." my guess is the rest of what say's is "display" if I'm correct if you select that you should be able to see the other options of the selected item, yes? now, here you should be able to change your display adaptor from onboard to "AGP" hope this helps.

Opps, EDIT: here's the pic
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
it doesnt show any picture at all
the monitor only goes into stand by mode and when i turn on the computer it wont awake from stand by but i can hear the hard drive loading the os (xp)
My old AGP 4x radeon 7000 works perfectly :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#4
Pic added, sorry about that. Anyway's that should be a picture of your BIOS layout yes? So the 7th from the bottom on the list on the left, like i said it says Primary Video... you should be able to select your AGP port from there.
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#5
Intel® 845 chipset supports the latest graphics devices through
1.5V AGP 4X interface. No 3.3V AGP 2X interface is supported.
in MSI MS-6577 v2.X user manual

Maybe that card can't scale back from 8x to 4x, just a thought but it's the only one I can think of, since no AGP card with bus speed > 2x uses 3.3v anymore. And since your Radeon 7000 (still have one too btw) works the card is either faulty or does nor work on this board.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#6
in MSI MS-6577 v2.X user manual

Maybe that card can't scale back from 8x to 4x, just a thought but it's the only one I can think of, since no AGP card with bus speed > 2x uses 3.3v anymore. And since your Radeon 7000 (still have one too btw) works the card is either faulty or does nor work on this board.
AFAIK that GPU is backward compatible between AGP x8, x4 and x2.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
ohhhh man damn it!!!
i already played a little arround with the sisplay settings - but nothing works!!!
By the way does anyone have a radeon 9000 or 9200 for cheep?
 

gunsmoke

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
352 (0.12/day)
Likes
34
Location
u.k.
System Name OLD SCHOOL
Processor E6300 1.8 Gig
Motherboard ASUS P5VD2-X rev 0501
Cooling air
Memory 1 x 512 ddr2 1 x 1024 dd2
Video Card(s) ATI hd 3870 PCI-E
Storage 200 Gig ide/ 160 ide / 80 ide / 160 sata
Display(s) samsung
Case Thermaltake Armor Case VA8000
Audio Device(s) on bored
Power Supply 560w silverstone
Software win 7 32 bit
Benchmark Scores no time for benchmarking
#8
can you not boot in safe mood on windows xp by pressing f8 on boot up
see if you get any video output your bios shod pic up any agp card installed
by Defolt
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#9
can you not boot in safe mood on windows xp by pressing f8 on boot up
see if you get any video output your bios shod pic up any agp card installed
by Defolt
Would be ideal if he could see the boot screen but as far as I'm aware he is unable to see even that.

It's possibly a dud card, @OP did you order the card from eBay or some other similar site?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#10
return it if the system works fine with one card and not the other its likely faulty especial considering its age
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
Yeah i ordered it from ebay!
Everybody who ordered one said it worked perfectly!
And the seller is top rated!!!

THE SCREAN IS JUST DEAD!!!
Only the fan on the MX440 AGP 8x spins - thats it!
Anny one with an answer?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#12
Yeah i ordered it from ebay!
Everybody who ordered one said it worked perfectly!
And the seller is top rated!!!

THE SCREAN IS JUST DEAD!!!
Only the fan on the MX440 AGP 8x spins - thats it!
Anny one with an answer?
I'd send the seller an Email listing your problem and the solutions you have tried and then ask him that you want to either return the item for a refund or a replacement.

One last thing... do you have the BIOS speaker connected? If so this could point to the problem directly.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#13
I got NEWS!!!
The card worked in my sisters computer!!!:twitch:
WHAT IS GOING ON?!?!?!?!
Her comuter is even older!!!!! (Athlon XP 1800+)
My computer has bios speakers onboard so there always on, but i never here them.
The only time, i hear them is when i enter the wrong password in the login.(a short beeep)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,939
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#14
Probably a motherboard capability issue
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#15
Got the latest bios?
I'm guessing your board is an OEM from a HP? HP Pavilion?

EDIT: Definately not compatibility issue, there are other people with the same mobo and gfx card on the webz.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,886 (1.03/day)
Likes
882
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#16
Have you tried booting up without the card, going to the BIOS and turn off the On-board Graphics card? Just wondering...;)
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#17
Sorry for double post; just found this:
MX440 8x to run at 4x
..... I encountered trouble while trying to set the AGP mode to 4x. It just wouldn't allow me to run the card at AGP 4x. I made contacts with Ryan at XFX and he was kind enough to help me with the problem. Apparently, if the card has AGP 3.0 specifications and the board is able to recognize it, it will force the card to run at the specification. In order to run the card at AGP 4x mode, you would have to "mod" the card with some small pieces of scotch tape. I tried with electrical tape and it didn't work.
All you have to do is tape the third and eleventh contacts and that will make the motherboard unable to recognize the AGP 3.0 specification. This will make the video card to run at AGP 4x.
Source
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#18
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,886 (1.03/day)
Likes
882
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#19
It is a nice find, but I've run a Radeon 9200 card, which are also AGP 8x 3.0 spec, on AGP 2x (3.3v) boards (for example) and didn't had to do any taping. That seems to be an issue with that particular motherboard, rather than the card itself.
Besides, as the text you quoted says,
if the card has AGP 3.0 specifications and the board is able to recognize it, it will force the card to run at the specification.
The motherboard in question here does not recognize the AGP 3.0 spec, it is limited to AGP 4x which is 2.0 spec.
Please, hoax32, do try what I've said earlier and report back to us. That will eliminate some of the possible problems.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#20
It is a nice find, but I've run a Radeon 9200 card, which are also AGP 8x 3.0 spec, on AGP 2x (3.3v) boards (for example) and didn't had to do any taping, that seems to be an issue with that particular motherboard, rather than the card itself.
Agreed, I'm thinking it's the board too. Might be because it's an OEM board (it's been used in a lot of OEM PC's from what google's told me). Hopefully it's something we can work around.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,886 (1.03/day)
Likes
882
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#21
Agreed, I'm thinking it's the board too. Might be because it's an OEM board (it's been used in a lot of OEM PC's from what google's told me). Hopefully it's something we can work around.
My guess is the same as yours, but not because of the fact that it is an OEM board, rather because the IGP may be getting in the way. It needs to be turned off so that the computer will use the AGP card. Older motherboards didn't do this automatically. At least, for now, I think the problem resides there.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,909 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,126
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#22
Techtu already mentioned to try disabling the onboard audio, on top of that he was able to get his older Radeon 7000 AGP working in the computer fine- so I think disabling the onboard GPU is not the issue.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#23
My guess is the same as yours, but not because of the fact that it is an OEM board, rather because the IGP may be getting in the way. It needs to be turned off so that the computer will use the AGP card. Older motherboards didn't do this automatically.
In my first post here I posted a (very small) photo of a screen from his motherboard BIOS, it seem's he does have the option to change from onboard and AGP but it just isn't accepting the card, I got a feeling scaminatrix's find may be the only way of getting the card to work on his system even though that board is suppose to support AGP x2/4/8.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#24
Anyone experienced an OEM BIOS stopping the use of x8 card when the retail version of the board supports x8?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,886 (1.03/day)
Likes
882
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#25
Techtu already mentioned to try disabling the onboard audio, on top of that he was able to get his older Radeon 7000 AGP working in the computer fine- so I think disabling the onboard GPU is not the issue.
Yes, Techtu mentioned the on-board GPU (not audio) 1st, but it seems the OP didn't went that way. Mainly because OP said:
it doesnt show any picture at all
It's really a matter of where you plug the VGA connector.
In my first post here I posted a (very small) photo of a screen from his motherboard BIOS, it seem's he does have the option to change from onboard and AGP but it just isn't accepting the card, I got a feeling scaminatrix's find may be the only way of getting the card to work on his system even though that board is suppose to support AGP x2/4/8.
Scaminatrix find is a way to solve the issue, but I'm fairly certain that this case does not apply. Read what is written there, or just what I quoted and you'll see. The examples of this board that I'm finding do not support above AGP 4x spec 2.0 1.5v, so the issue described in that article doesn't apply. Also because it isn't the same motherboard, chipset, BIOS, socket and, therefore, processor.