• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AGP - X1950 Pro experiences

Is your AGP X1950 stable or unstable


  • Total voters
    27
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#76


ok i may be wrong here but according to this chart above in your link it was tested up to 522W and each rail only achieved 12A from that chart?

rail 2 & 3 are seperate from 1st according to this link you posted so you can basically use 24a max on those two...

these are maximum figures (not sustained / continuous) and not how youd want to run your system 24/7
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#77


ok i may be wrong here but according to this chart above in your link it was tested up to 522W and each rail only achieved 12A from that chart?

rail 2 & 3 are seperate from 1st according to this link you posted so you can basically use 24a max on those two...

these are maximum figures (not sustained / continuous) and not how youd want to run your system 24/7
Do you get what the ratings mean? It doesnt run 100% load 100% of the time. Anyway, this is way off topic, and what are you trying to argue? "Only" is an understatement.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athalon x2 2.2ghz
Motherboard MSI K8T Neo2
Cooling various fans. lovely arctic cooling heatsing :)
Memory 2 x 1GB Kingstion DDR 400mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon x1950 Pro ICEq 3
Storage 120 GB WD
Display(s) 17" Samgsung SyncMaster 720n
Case icute tihngy
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD BIAATCHHS :P
Power Supply Antec 430watts
#78
you lot are confusing me now :)

I'm not sure who to believe...

but i have problem. i reccently bought a HIS x1950Pro IceQ3 AGP 512mb.
which has made my PC completely unstable.

i have a Antec 430 Watt psu(says it wants a 450). I had the card on its own 12v 16amp rail.
and it was still unstable.

so whats to blame?
Card or Psu?

i dont wanna send it back if its my psu's fault
or
buy a new psu to see its the cards fault
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#79


ok i may be wrong here but according to this chart above in your link it was tested up to 522W and each rail only achieved 12A from that chart?

rail 2 & 3 are seperate from 1st according to this link you posted so you can basically use 24a max on those two...

these are maximum figures (not sustained / continuous) and not how youd want to run your system 24/7
He also loaded 2 different single rails with 30A each (at different times), with no repercussions. Actually read the text, instead of looking at just the pictures.


Also note that he loaded it to 12Ax3 on the 12v, for a total 12v load of 36A. Total output of 520w, for 15min, and the unit never went above 35C. That right there disproves the theory of it's rating on the Sapphire forums.

Now, take into account that the average 1950Pro system will NEVER draw 520w, and this unit is not being worked hard at all.

You can argue about this till you're blue in the face, but you are wrong. I'm sorry, but those are the facts.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#80
I'm not sure who to believe...

but i have problem. i reccently bought a HIS x1950Pro IceQ3 AGP 512mb.
which has made my PC completely unstable.

i have a Antec 430 Watt psu(says it wants a 450). I had the card on its own 12v 16amp rail.
and it was still unstable.

so whats to blame?
Card or Psu?

i dont wanna send it back if its my psu's fault
or
buy a new psu to see its the cards fault
Which model of Antec? (What series?) Some are good, some are bad.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#81
Also note that he loaded it to 12Ax3 on the 12v, for a total 12v load of 36A. Total output of 520w, for 15min, and the unit never went above 35C.
i did read it ... no need to be rude ;)

The "official" word from Corsair was the following:

12V1: ATX 20+4, 4-pin +12V and 8-pin +12V
12V2: PCI-e 1 and first two peripheral connectors
12V3: PCI-e 2 and last three peripheral connectors

so they all share that 36A maximum actual value (not the 18a per rail as stated on the actual piece of kit! and far from the underestimated power output that you have stated they have)

besides that at 522w its only go access to a maximum..24A (12v2 & 12v3) and those rails are used for the HDD's DVD's etc...(12v1 is a seperate rail for the CPU Ram etc.. which has maximum 12a seperately according to corsair and stated in the review)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athalon x2 2.2ghz
Motherboard MSI K8T Neo2
Cooling various fans. lovely arctic cooling heatsing :)
Memory 2 x 1GB Kingstion DDR 400mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon x1950 Pro ICEq 3
Storage 120 GB WD
Display(s) 17" Samgsung SyncMaster 720n
Case icute tihngy
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD BIAATCHHS :P
Power Supply Antec 430watts
#82
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#83
anyways.. buy that psu and put it with a X1950... perhaps you wont be one of the hundreds of posts that i come across with constant issues... who knows...

anyways i think i have said what i needed to say and remained polite throughout :)

i am new here and do like this forum so dont really want to piss too many people off... ;)
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athalon x2 2.2ghz
Motherboard MSI K8T Neo2
Cooling various fans. lovely arctic cooling heatsing :)
Memory 2 x 1GB Kingstion DDR 400mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon x1950 Pro ICEq 3
Storage 120 GB WD
Display(s) 17" Samgsung SyncMaster 720n
Case icute tihngy
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD BIAATCHHS :P
Power Supply Antec 430watts
#85
:)

ahh okay ...
I hope you're right.

I'm gonna send it back to OverClockers.

see if their technical support team agree :p

will post result!
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#86

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#87
i did read it ... no need to be rude ;)




so they all share that 36A maximum actual value (not the 18a per rail as stated on the actual piece of kit! and far from the underestimated power output that you have stated they have)

besides that at 522w its only go access to a maximum..24A (12v2 & 12v3) and those rails are used for the HDD's DVD's etc...(12v1 is a seperate rail for the CPU Ram etc.. which has maximum 12a seperately according to corsair and stated in the review)
Sorry, but you are frustrating me.

Nowhere in the article does it state 12A is the max. That's just how he choose to load it for stability and temperature testing, as it's easier to setup on his test machine.

Besides, the average 1950Pro system is not gonna draw 12A from 2 rails, prior to adding in the gfx card.

I'm sorry, but you are just wrong here. I really don't know any other way to put it. Start a thread here and ask others, if you doubt what I say.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athalon x2 2.2ghz
Motherboard MSI K8T Neo2
Cooling various fans. lovely arctic cooling heatsing :)
Memory 2 x 1GB Kingstion DDR 400mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon x1950 Pro ICEq 3
Storage 120 GB WD
Display(s) 17" Samgsung SyncMaster 720n
Case icute tihngy
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD BIAATCHHS :P
Power Supply Antec 430watts
#88
nahh i dont. i even tried it with just hd and an optical drive...

didnt work :(
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#89
nahh i dont. i even tried it with just hd and an optical drive...

didnt work :(
Sounds more like a problem with the card to me. Like I said, many have complained of the HIS cards lately. Seems to be a lot of RMAs going on with them in this forum, atm.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#90
This is an interesting post from there thats a bit more specific and to the point... sorry i cant find the "quote" button in my reply but its below the dotted lines instead hehe



---------------------------------------------------------------------------



170W + 600W + 9.6W + 15W = 620 ?
140W + 480W + 9.6W + 15W = 520 ?

How misleading It's actually 620-(170+9.6+15)=425.4w for 12v rails on the 620w unit. This leads to 425.4w / 12v = 35.45a which is enough on the table if this unit can really combine rails. 11.81a for each 3 rail which is ONLY good if a rail only serves the gfx card, nothing else. That's very unlikely, believe me.

It's worse on 520w unit. 520 - (140+9.6+15) = 355.4w and it's 355.4w / 12v = 29.66a for 12v rails. 9.8a for each 3 rail. And it may not even be the sustained(very important) but MAX/PEAK value which means nothing. Even if that unit can combine amps as it's supposed to, it comes short by a few amps. Those a few amps may lead to damage on the card or the psu.

Now, you must be careful about PSUs, because the companies are not always honest with the values or the unit can't live up to the specs. That's a fact, that's always been like this. The amps weren't an issue before because the gfx cards weren't powerful that much, they soon became wattage hungry and then amps hungry. So it's all about whether a unit can provide the rated specs or not. Even decent companies have crap PSUs but at least there're also ppl on internet that you can get info, advice about PSUs, because they just tried hundreds of combinations unlike regular home builders like us. And it's faster than formal ways most of the time.

One more thing. Almost every decent mobo has at least one thermo stick connection. Find one, put it inside the PSU of yours and plug it to the mobo. The default mobo application should show thermo stick temp. See if it's more than 50c or not. Because that 520&620 units are rated best under 50c. Heat is the main enemy of electronics, mostly for PSUs which will be less efficient.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

anyways, thats just one of the numerous posts that go on about that PSU and its suitability to the X1950 card

the whole thread can be found here:
http://www.sapphiretech.com/en/forums/showthread.php?t=14091&page=1&pp=10&highlight=corsair+520

i may be blind or dumb.
but why do 3 12volts rails at 18amps add up to 480 watts on one, and 600 watts on the other?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#91
i may be blind or dumb.
but why do 3 12volts rails at 18amps add up to 480 watts on one, and 600 watts on the other?
18A is all you are supposed to put on any single rail at one time. Once you go above 18A on a single rail, it's just supposed to trip the protection circuit in the psu. It's just a safety spec. No modular PSU is actually capable of maxing out all the 12v rails simultaneously. That's why you have to pay such close attention to the combined 12v rating.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#92
btw my his x1950pro runs great. i had a few driver problems with the 7.8 and 7.9 cats but the 7.10's work great.

mine is the vanilla model with the single slot cooler. the ram overclocks great i can go over 800mhz, but the core craps out at anything over 621mhz.

i have a 470watt psu with
2x 74gig raptors in raid0
2x storage hd's
2x optical drives
1x pci raid card
1x pci sound card
1x pci tv tuner card
1x pci nic card
6x 120mm fams with led's
2x 1gig mem chips
1x prescott 3.0 oc'd @3.8
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#93
dont want to jack the thread BUT are there any people using the gecube 1950xt agp?

if so hows that working for ya?

could the O/P maybe add the xt's to the thread/poll?

thnx

:toast:
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#94
That green gecko, he doesnt know what he is on about (no offense to him if he reads this), and proves how low the tech level is, moreover, he has problems, doing what a moderator SHOULDNT, trying to persevere with incorrect statements. Honestly mate, we do a better job here supporting their products than they do! How Pretentious is he! Now, ask him how much power does an X1950PRO consume? I doubt he knows!
Watchout I know there are staunch Sapphire forum users are around here.:D
 

Heyhoe

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#95
Hi, my first post.

My system is old. mainly as i never got round to buying a new cpu.

Currently its

Athlon Xp2500 @ 2.3
2gb Geil 3200 dual channel 400
OCZ stealth xtreme 600w psu
Sapphire x1950 pro 512mb AGP
DFI lanparty mobo, cant even remember the model now. something like a nf2 ultra b or something. its discontinued.

i mainly play race sims and CSS.

I used to have an unlocked asus 6800 128mb. But i wanted to try and get a bit more out my machine so i bought the PSU, the 2 gig of ram and the GPU.

And to be honest ive not really seen a massive performace gain at all.

So i took the plunge and have invested even more money into this damn machine. lol

Bought an asrock AGP mobo socket AM2 with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ and cooler.

Do you think i can expect to see a performace increase over the old 2500???

Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#96
Yeah definately ;)
I had mine on a 3ghz P4 with 2GB ddr400.... was fine but the CPU slowed me down a lot.

Got an asrock board and upgraded to a c2d E6600 and major difference... :D
since then upgraded again and thats also been a huge difference.
 

Heyhoe

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#97
Great, thanks for the speedy reply.

Apprently the E6600 is almost the same as the 6000+ so going from an old 2500 i should see a decent improvement.

Coming from overclockers UK on wednesday so il have to run a few benchmarks to see how it goes. :)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#98
nice... yeah youll be sweet...
I found games on the X1950 a bit laggy in 1440X900 on the P4 3ghz... but on the c2d E6600 it was smooth and really was able to max the card out nicely and get good framerates...
Also turn up other goodies like high quality sound etc..
 

Heyhoe

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#99
DOH!

Just realised that the mobo i bought is DDR2 making my memory useless. paid £100 for it too.

This ddr2 stuff was loads cheaper, yet faster.... :S

stupid me.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
If it's one of those AsRock Dual VSTA motherboards, it should be able to use the DDR400 until you get some faster ram.