• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AirLive WMU-6500FS 3.5" Turbo-G Wireless HD + Downloader

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#1
The OvisLink powered AirLive WiFi enclosure may look just like a normal NAS storage device, but it has a lot more to offer than that. The well constructed and easy to use web interface can convert the enclosure to an iTunes server, can handle your FTP, HTTP and even BitTorrent downloads - straight to the internal IDE or SATA hard drive.

Show full review
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Is there a place to plug in the 40mm fan on the PCB, or do you have to use the molex connector provided for the hard drive for the fan too?
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#3
Is there a place to plug in the 40mm fan on the PCB, or do you have to use the molex connector provided for the hard drive for the fan too?
The power cable can be unplugged from the PCB, so you could just replace it with one with two molex connectors and connect a fan that way.

cheers
DS
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#4
i saw asus's version of this and think its a great idea, i hate leaving one of my pc's on all the time running bittorrent, looks like it could be worth waiting for the technology to mature some more yet though (cooler running, and some kind of intergration with a bt client
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
It should be mentioned that "Turbo-G" is not a standard. It is based on IEEE 801.11g which usually runs at 54MB/s maximum. To achieve such a speed, you usually need all other devices in your network to be of the same manufacturer using the same proprietary standard. This includes WiFi USB sticks, PCI cards and routers. The chip on the miniPCI WLAN card is the RaLink RT3651ST, which is an 801.11g chip.
Think I spotted a typo. Isn't the wireless standard 802.11g, not 801.11g?

Good review, btw.
 
Last edited:

Dr_D_Doom

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
where does one buy this amazing piece of awesomeness?

Maybe Power Up will sell me their used one ;P
 

KrisW

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Very good review, but can you tell me guys, where I can buy this product. I've searched the net, but none of the e-shops doesn't sell it.

do you know any links to shops? Please help, I've just need to have it :)
 

KrisW

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Thx Doom, I've just bought it. Page is only in Germen, so you need to know a bit of German to buy it :)
I can't wait to receive the parcel.
 

KrisW

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I've setup the Airlive, but there is one major problem - download assistant doesn't work in bit torrent. I mean, when I want to upload a link there is "page cannot be found", the status option is not working either. I've upgraded the firmware, but nothing happend, still can't upload the links for torents. Do you know how to fix it?
 

xty

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Dubai
#11
I got it one month ago but still sitting there on my desk with a brand new 500 GB SATA HD.
I was about to throw away this box for some issues (useless manual, configuring wireless network was not easy, limited file systems support, useless disk utility, and lack of support from AirLive) ....until I saw this review.

I saw "ntfs" in one of the picture above. Are you sure that it support NTFS? Because the manual doesn't say anything about it. If yes, THAT IS REALLY COOL AND THAT'S WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR!!! :respect:


I haven't tried myself to make partitions out of the box. I thought I could use the built-in Disk Utility / FDISK. But NOOOO!!! It supports (also according to manual) only EXT2 file system and FAT32 (which until now I don't know how to use that piece-of-junk mkdosfs.exe downloaded from the site. I assume to run into the box's DOS/command line mode somehow, but how???). Tried asking the support, but no help :mad:

Maybe I could have make partition and format it out of the box. But what if I don't have a normal HD enclosure and a PC? If they think making ONE PARTITION OF 500GB WITH EXT2 FILE SYSTEM is Ok, they got to be kidding me!!!
 

xty

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Dubai
#12
I've made some tests... it does NOT support NTFS !!!. The photos above are misleading!

After partitioning & formatting with NTFS in a regular SATA enclosure, and then put it back to AirLive box, I can't copy any file to the drive (access violation). When I checked through FTP, it sets the partitions to read only (r-xr-xr-x). I can't seem to change/chmod either.

I thought it's because the Guest mode. I tried to change to Authorization mode, but it asked the drive to have Private partition (means back to square one as if I use the built-in FDISK utility), which I don't want.

Then I make FAT32 partitions (using Partition Magic), now I can copy any file without problems.

At least I can use it now, but certainly I wouldn't buy again.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
If they think making ONE PARTITION OF 500GB WITH EXT2 FILE SYSTEM is Ok, they got to be kidding me!!!

Hi m8, can you create several partitions (EXT2 and FAT32) with the built-in tools? If not, I think I must create one partition of 500GB with EXT2. Why wouldn't you create that?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
It can read ntfs, but not write ntfs. The picture showing ntfs is just the screen showing what partitions are on the drive. Obviously, the reviewer put an ntfs drive in the enclosure for testing.

The specs on the first page of the review clearly state what file systems are supported.