• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

All GeForce 8 Cards to Gain PhysX Engine Support Says NVIDIA

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Video card giant NVIDIA, which completed the acquisition of AGEIA Technologies the day before, is now starting to port AGEIA's PhysX engine software to run on its GeForce 8 cards, according to The Tech Report. During a financial call, NVIDIA CEO Jen-Hseun Huang revealed that the ported engine will bring enhanced physics capabilities to all of the company's existing GeForce 8 cards.
We're working toward the physics-engine-to-CUDA port as we speak. And we intend to throw a lot of resources at it. You know, I wouldn't be surprised if it helps our GPU sales even in advance of [the port's completion]. The reason is, [it's] just gonna be a software download. Every single GPU that is CUDA-enabled will be able to run the physics engine when it comes... Every one of our GeForce 8-series GPUs runs CUDA.
Huang also added that the integration shall encourage people to spend more on graphics processing hardware, and maybe start to buy two or three graphics cards, where one of them will work for physics only.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
1,172 (0.31/day)
Likes
148
Location
UK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3.40GHz (400x8.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.1
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x Crucial Ballistix DDR2 2GB 4:5 @ 500MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 560Ti 1GB TOP Edition
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD + WD Black 500GB WD5001AALS
Display(s) Samsung P2370HD @ 1920x1080 60Hz
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24-bit w/ Creative Inspire T6060 5.1 200W
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 600w
Software Windows 7 Professional Edition SP1 64-bit
#2
it was always a matter of time...
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#3
HA, HA, I knew it, this is going to backfire big time. It appears that one card will not be enough to run PhsyX and the game itself. Which lead us back to what they were doing to begin with, SLI. Which costs more then getting 1 video carda and 1 Phsyx card...way more!

Huang also added that the integration shall encourage people to spend more on graphics processing hardware, and maybe start to buy two or three graphics cards, where one of them will work for physics only.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,283 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,383
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Hopefully this means that you can stick a lower end video card in the machine and have that do physics. I don't see why an 8500GT or 8600GT couldn't be used to do physics.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,171 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
buy 3 gfx cards, pfft....
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#6
Hopefully this means that you can stick a lower end video card in the machine and have that do physics. I don't see why an 8500GT or 8600GT couldn't be used to do physics.
+1 actully im an small ati fanboy but when you can combine a 8800gt for rendering and that with an 8500 for physics that would be awesome


PS:i already have an sli mobo so it wont be difficult to go nvidia(i allready have an nvidia but i was going to buy ati only i think im neutral now)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#7
+1 actully im an small ati fanboy but when you can combine a 8800gt for rendering and that with an 8500 for physics that would be awesome


PS:i already have an sli mobo so it wont be difficult to go nvidia(i allready have an nvidia but i was going to buy ati only i think im neutral now)
That makes no sense, all you are doing is replacing one card for another. With a 8500 its possible to get lower performance using PhsyX. People complain now how SLI doesn't work in all games. Now it's OK to buy a second card that only works on handful of games? Sorry, but if I were to buy a second card, I want to gain the benefit of it in all the games I play.
 
Last edited:

bud951

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Location
San Antonio, TX
System Name Making Love
Processor Intel SandyBridge 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7
Cooling Corsair H70 Liquid Cooler
Memory 8 GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 6970 2gb + XFX GeForce 8800GT 512mb Hybrid PhysX
Storage Crucial 128 GB SSD for os and games + WD 2TB for storage
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260 LCD 26"
Case Thermaltake Shark Mid Tower (plus Vasoline to make it all fit!)
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
I have 2 8800GT's and a physx card (thats not installed at the moment). What does this mean for me? Is my Physx card going to be enhanced or will my SLI setup be more powerful or taxed more? Confused.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#9
I'm waiting for the ATI\AMD Fusion chip to ship on desktops; I bet it'll have a simular technology. Then again, it IS tempting to order an nVidia card while I wait, lol.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#10
I have 2 8800GT's and a physx card (thats not installed at the moment). What does this mean for me? Is my Physx card going to be enhanced or will my SLI setup be more powerful or taxed more? Confused.
It looks like you should be able to leave out the Physx card and still have the same graphics power that you would with the card installed (once the software is released.)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
Nvidia is barking up the wrong tree on this one.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#12
HA, HA, I knew it, this is going to backfire big time. It appears that one card will not be enough to run PhsyX and the game itself. Which lead us back to what they were doing to begin with, SLI. Which costs more then getting 1 video carda and 1 Phsyx card...way more!
100% agree
 

bud951

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Location
San Antonio, TX
System Name Making Love
Processor Intel SandyBridge 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7
Cooling Corsair H70 Liquid Cooler
Memory 8 GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 6970 2gb + XFX GeForce 8800GT 512mb Hybrid PhysX
Storage Crucial 128 GB SSD for os and games + WD 2TB for storage
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260 LCD 26"
Case Thermaltake Shark Mid Tower (plus Vasoline to make it all fit!)
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
It looks like you should be able to leave out the Physx card and still have the same graphics power that you would with the card installed (once the software is released.)
So I can play GRAW, Warmonger and the UT special Physx maps without the Physx card? Cool.. less heat and a free pci slot!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
I'm a little cofused... So there is going to be a software update and I can run PhysX with my 8800GTS 640mb while using it as my video card, or is this just Nvidia trying to sell more graphics cards as PPU's?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#15
I'm a little cofused... So there is going to be a software update and I can run PhysX with my 8800GTS 640mb while using it as my video card, or is this just Nvidia trying to sell more graphics cards as PPU's?
IMHO (and will we find out for sure soon) if you have SLI setup now, you will have 1 video card and one card capable of PPU operations via cuda. Therefore you will no longer have an SLI setup. This is why I believe 3 cards are needed to get SLI working again. But time will tell if this is true or not. If CUDA is used, this makes PhsyX a software operation not a hardware operation. Unless Ageia PPU really sucked I don't see Cuda being faster at this time.

Side note: I did not find any Cuda support for Vista. This may change in the future though.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#16
:roll:"Our expectation is that this is gonna encourage people to buy even better GPUs. It might—and probably will—encourage people to buy a second GPU for their SLI slot. And for the highest-end gamer, it will encourage them to buy three GPUs. Potentially two for graphics and one for physics, or one for graphics and two for physics.":roll:
:roll::roll:
AND a new MB+a PSU
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#17
The OP needs to add the following as it answers a lot of questions being posted:

Our expectation is that this is gonna encourage people to buy even better GPUs. It might—and probably will—encourage people to buy a second GPU for their SLI slot. And for the highest-end gamer, it will encourage them to buy three GPUs. Potentially two for graphics and one for physics, or one for graphics and two for physics.

Last, but not least, Huang said developers are "really excited" about the PhysX-to-CUDA port. "Finally they're able to get a physics engine accelerated into a very large population of gamers," he explained. Huang was unwilling to get into a time frame for the release of the first PhysX port. However, considering this will be purely a software implementation and Nvidia now has Ageia engineers on its payroll, the port may not take too long to complete.
Wow, I was right and didn't read this part until just now. :rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,003 (0.24/day)
Likes
156
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
#18

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#19
IMHO (and will we find out for sure soon) if you have SLI setup now, you will have 1 video card and one card capable of PPU operations via cuda. Therefore you will no longer have an SLI setup. This is why I believe 3 cards are needed to get SLI working again. But time will tell if this is true or not. If CUDA is used, this makes PhsyX a software operation not a hardware operation. Unless Ageia PPU really sucked I don't see Cuda being faster at this time.

Side note: I did not find any Cuda support for Vista. This may change in the future though.
I think I see what your on about EascoastHandle.

Im concerned as well how NVIDIA is going to change the AgeiA PhySX from a hardware unit to a software unit and what kind of repercussions that that could provide us. Personally I believe that if this does become just a piece of software that it may just end up being a rival to HAVOC physics
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,283 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,383
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
That makes no sense, all you are doing is replacing one card for another. With a 8500 its possible to get lower performance using PhsyX. People complain now how SLI doesn't work in all games. Now it's OK to buy a second card that only works on handful of games? Sorry, but if I were to buy a second card, I want to gain the benefit of it in all the games I play.
Yes, but people are complaining about two $300 cards not working. If you can drop a $50 card into the machine and get improved physics in games it is ok. Not every game needs improved physics, so yes it won't work with every game. However, for the price, it is worth it.

Now, if they make us use high end cards for physics, then you have a point.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#21
Yes, but people are complaining about two $300 cards not working. If you can drop a $50 card into the machine and get improved physics in games it is ok. Not every game needs improved physics, so yes it won't work with every game. However, for the price, it is worth it.

Now, if they make us use high end cards for physics, then you have a point.
I thought it was common knowledge that a 8500GT was more then $50? You may find a sale or 2 but that's the exception not the rule. Since this is software based, I really don't see it being faster then what the the PPU offered unless it really sucked to begin with. Cuda wont do any performance gain. It will allow more visual effects but the performance "hit" (If any) has yet to be seen.
 
Last edited:

bud951

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Location
San Antonio, TX
System Name Making Love
Processor Intel SandyBridge 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7
Cooling Corsair H70 Liquid Cooler
Memory 8 GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 6970 2gb + XFX GeForce 8800GT 512mb Hybrid PhysX
Storage Crucial 128 GB SSD for os and games + WD 2TB for storage
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260 LCD 26"
Case Thermaltake Shark Mid Tower (plus Vasoline to make it all fit!)
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
Nvidia did this to make money one way or another but they have confused everyone in the process. What if I already have a Physx card? Will it be as good or better than a 3rd graphics card? If a 3rd graphics card is needed.. does it need to be bridged in SLI with the other cards or can I just get a cheaper 8 series card and run it alone in the 3rd pcie slot? Will my Physx card be more widley supported now or is it now just junk? In other words, is this a good thing or a bad thing? I am still confused..??
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#23
since when does havok work on PhysX PPU ?
i still think Pysics is processor related
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#24
I'd think you just need to sacrifice some image quality and run the game and physics with just one card ok. Remember that graphics cards are a lot more powerful than PPUs or CPUs, if programmed for the task in hand, like that folding@home.

If game runs good something like 1280x1024 4xAA 16xAF might transfer to 1280x1024 2xAA 8xAF with physics if it's done really well. I'd think we can expect to lose all AA and AF to keep the same frame rate, anything below that in performance is useless (for single card users).
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,171 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#25
So I can play GRAW, Warmonger and the UT special Physx maps without the Physx card? Cool.. less heat and a free pci slot!
lol free pci slot, not
you'll just be taking up another pcie slot and the slot adjacent to it, lol :laugh:
:shadedshu