• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

All's Well That Haswell?

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,328 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#51
Still not bad, around what, 350$?

I was thrown off by that newegg price lol

I wonder what Microcenter will be selling it for xD
i7-2700K is more like $350~$370. So i7-3820 could be $384. It has a locked BClk multiplier, but you can OC using BClk, the old fashioned way.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#52
i7-2700K is more like $350~$370. So i7-3820 could be $384. It has a locked BClk multiplier, but you can OC using BClk, the old fashioned way.
This, and the fact that you get probably more features than a 2600k/2700k setup, especially the option to upgrade later to a 6 core system :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#53
TBH, you are right, at this point it is a guess. But IMO, to whomever is thinking of purchasing a 2600K or 2700K setup soon, wait for SB-E and seriously consider it
I agree, I'm not advising anyone to upgrade right now. If anything, when Sandybridge-E comes out, it should lower prices slightly on Sandybridge.

i7-2700K is more like $350~$370. So i7-3820 could be $384. It has a locked BClk multiplier, but you can OC using BClk, the old fashioned way.
I thought the BCLK was still pretty limited, like Sandybridge. However, Intel has included BCLK multipliers that affect only the CPU speed. There are only two BCLK multipliers, x1.25 and x1.66. Making the effective BCLK 125 or 166 +/-5%. You aren't free to just adjust the BCLK to whatever you want "the old fashioned way".

So if you look a the i7-3820 with a clock speed of 3.6GHz, or a multiplier of 36. Lets say I'm aiming for 4.0GHz. I have to raise the BCLK, so I bump it to the next available option of 125. That puts it at 4.5GHz, so then you have to lower the multiplier to 32, which gives you 4.0GHz. Now of course, overclocking isn't a matter of just picking a target, I'm just giving how you get to a certain clock. Where this system becomes a hassle is when you are trying to find your max overclock. Instead of just raising one figure(be it multiplier or BCLK) you now have to fool around with balancing two to find the clock that works best for you.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,158 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#54
Theres just no point saying 1155 is a better option than 2011 when we havent even seen benchmarks yet.

It only has to be 10-15% faster than socket 1155 to be a success and for enthusiasts to choose socket 2011 over socket 1155.

Anything over 15% performance will be a bonus and they will sell like hotcakes to the enthusiast crowd.

The platform is coming out next week so how about we wait for benchmarks before writing off the platform?
 

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#55
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#56
Didn't tomshardware do something also? Though I can't say TH is the most reliable source lol
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#58
Intel does want you to buy a new motherboard every two years.
Yes, not only does the permit them to have the best performance and the best features, in also gives them more sales. It's WIN WIN WIN for intel, WIN WIN LOSE for use (ie: more win then lose)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#59
more like a new motherboard and CPU, intel doesnt impress me at all.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#60
Ok, so the numbers are in, and the conclusion? 2011 processors have almost no performance advantage over 1155 in games and most other apps. The only exception being rendering apps that take advantage of the 6-cores(the 4-core model isn't out yet). Oh, and the cheapest 2011 processor is $550... Yeah, I'm not recommending 2011 to anyone unless they really need 6-cores for something.

more like a new motherboard and CPU, intel doesnt impress me at all.
AMD's doing the same thing with FM2 so big deal.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#61
Dont Doubt FM2 will last longer than the constant board changes Intel is forcing on their users.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#62
Dont Doubt FM2 will last longer than the constant board changes Intel is forcing on their users.
Its replacing FM1 after less than a year and a half...so...yeah...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#63
Its replacing FM1 after less than a year and a half...so...yeah...
apparently FM2 is supposed to be the next Major Socket That replaces AM3, but In mean time they should have 1 or 2 more CPUs for AM3+ that will be on FM2, sort of like how opterons where then aswell
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#64
apparently FM2 is supposed to be the next Major Socket That replaces AM3, but In mean time they should have 1 or 2 more CPUs for AM3+ that will be on FM2, sort of like how opterons where then aswell
If you mean they will have a few AM3+ CPUs that will work with the FM2 socket, you are wrong. FM2 will be completely incompatible with FM1 and AM3+.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#65
If you mean they will have a few AM3+ CPUs that will work with the FM2 socket, you are wrong. FM2 will be completely incompatible with FM1 and AM3+.
u didnt understand what i meant, ok think about the Opteron of the time, it came in 1 way, 2 way and 8 way- 1 way was compatible with 939. I suspect that the fix bulldozer arch or w/e is next will come in both AM3+ and FM2 and then after that first or second batch of FM2 AM3+ will be phased out, considering the FM2 is supposed to handle both CPUs and APUs.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#66
u didnt understand what i meant, ok think about the Opteron of the time, it came in 1 way, 2 way and 8 way- 1 way was compatible with 939. I suspect that the fix bulldozer arch or w/e is next will come in both AM3+ and FM2 and then after that first or second batch of FM2 AM3+ will be phased out, considering the FM2 is supposed to handle both CPUs and APUs.
Oh, yeah, I see what you mean. Yeah, AFAIK, that is what they are supposed to do. Release a few FM2 processors on AM3+. But then that kind of makes we wonder why even release FM2? Why not stick with AM3+ if the processors will work with AM3+?

But that is Intel's strategy, and I like it. They aren't holding back designs and sacrificing performance to maintain compatibility. They just go balls out, design a processor the way they want, then design the platform around it. That is why people with 1366 have been able to keep their platforms for 3 years now, and can continue to use their platforms for at least another year. And AMD has yet to really even catch up to 1366. So you keep being not impressed with Intel, I'm quite impressed with the fact that a platform they put out over 3 years ago is still outperforming AMD's platform released a few weeks ago. I'm not impressed with AMD, but plenty impressed with Intel.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#67
Oh, yeah, I see what you mean. Yeah, AFAIK, that is what they are supposed to do. Release a few FM2 processors on AM3+. But then that kind of makes we wonder why even release FM2? Why not stick with AM3+ if the processors will work with AM3+?
its to get those final sales of AM3+ out n then phase out AM3/AM3+ and go fully FM2 for all desktop performance, budget and Mainstream systems. Recall 939 having the opteron- that CPU Lineup was locked but could overclock further than even the AMD FX Series. What would be pretty cool is if the APU has an FPU already but then when u put in a discreet vid card the vid controller becomes a fulltime FPU for the APU. I suspect FM2 to implement PCI Express 3.0 and Quad Channel DDR3/4 Memory Capability. I wouldnt doubt the CPU becomes totally the APU in the future.

For my Brothers machine which has an AsRock 970 Extreme 4 with a Phenom II X2 555 BE with 8 gigs Ripjaws 8CL and 6770 Vid Card. Windows 7 HP 64 (CPU Unlocked to the X4 B55/955 BE Status) it Performs effin fast already (Built in August/September). I will drop in the Fastest and final AM3+ CPU Produced and then max the ram out after upgrading 7 to Pro, then he probably wont have another upgrade till say 7-10 years down the road. this was going from an Old P4 2.4Ghz machine
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#68
its to get those final sales of AM3+ out n then phase out AM3/AM3+ and go fully FM2 for all desktop performance, budget and Mainstream systems. Recall 939 having the opteron- that CPU Lineup was locked but could overclock further than even the AMD FX Series. What would be pretty cool is if the APU has an FPU already but then when u put in a discreet vid card the vid controller becomes a fulltime FPU for the APU. I suspect FM2 to implement PCI Express 3.0 and Quad Channel DDR3/4 Memory Capability. I wouldnt doubt the CPU becomes totally the APU in the future.

For my Brothers machine which has an AsRock 970 Extreme 4 with a Phenom II X2 555 BE with 8 gigs Ripjaws 8CL and 6770 Vid Card. Windows 7 HP 64 (CPU Unlocked to the X4 B55/955 BE Status) it Performs effin fast already (Built in August/September). I will drop in the Fastest and final AM3+ CPU Produced and then max the ram out after upgrading 7 to Pro, then he probably wont have another upgrade till say 7-10 years down the road. this was going from an Old P4 2.4Ghz machine
Yeah, I remember 939, I remember it replacing 754 in under a year, and then itself being replaced with AM2 in under 2 years.

As I said, Intel users with 1366, or even 1156, are set for just as long as a AM3+ user.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#69
Yeah, I remember 939, I remember it replacing 754 in under a year, and then itself being replaced with AM2 in under 2 years.

As I said, Intel users with 1366, or even 1156, are set for just as long as a AM3+ user.
Ya the major caveat of putting a ddr Controller on the CPU means a socket change, AMD could of gotten away with sticking with DDR way longer and just moved to DDR3 when time was right. But On another note, it would be worthy for FM2 to eventually implement a DDR3 and DDR 4 controller in later Life on the CPUs then move to DDR 4 completely while stayin with FM2 but put a warning on the CPU and Motherboards that the machine must USE DDR4 or the system will not boot. At the Time of 754 AMD didnt see it necessary to have Dual Channel DDR because it was overly faster than the fastest Athlon XP with Dual channel anyway.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#70
Ya the major caveat of putting a ddr Controller on the CPU means a socket change, AMD could of gotten away with sticking with DDR way longer and just moved to DDR3 when time was right. But On another note, it would be worthy for FM2 to eventually implement a DDR3 and DDR 4 controller in later Life on the CPUs then move to DDR 4 completely while stayin with FM2 but put a warning on the CPU and Motherboards that the machine must USE DDR4 or the system will not boot. At the Time of 754 AMD didnt see it necessary to have Dual Channel DDR because it was overly faster than the fastest Athlon XP with Dual channel anyway.
The memory controller was already on the CPU with 754, the memory slots were already wired to the CPU, so moving to Dual-Channel would not have needed a socket change, just a controller change on the CPU itself. And if you used an older CPU you got single channel, and a newer you got dual. Even still, I don't see why it is OK for AMD to replace a socket in under a year because they lacked foresight, but not OK in your eyes for Intel to replace the socket every 2 years to keep the progress of technology unhindered.

If AMD really wanted to maintain compatibility, if it was really a concern of theirs, they would have left the DDR controller on the Athlon 64 architecture and just added a DDR2 controller for AM2 sockets and keep support for 939. AMD only uses the compatibility thing because they have to because they are behind on performance. If they were ahead, they'd be changing out sockets like crazy, just like they did when they were ahead.