• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Am i going to lose my mind over this M$ crap again

Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1


Sometimes i feel throwing the computer out of the window
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#2
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Really no idea what's going on, but a quick google search brought this link up that seems to have some workarounds:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...-file-is/381e9f29-50a5-4fa3-b9f2-7b3389293063

what makes you think i didn't tried all of that , including other trilion google hits ... this bug is apeshit crazy.

plus , ... do you really think im going to use CMD all the time this happens , i rather throw the PC out of the window right now.


speaking of OS , does linux allow nuking any file any time any where?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
http://www.shrani.si/f/2g/a3/44spAJdJ/mdeepshit.jpg

Sometimes i feel throwing the computer out of the window
Stop blaming everything on Microsoft.

If explorer has locked the file for some reason, then you can't make changes to it(move/delete/etc it). You haven't given any real useful information. What are you trying to do to the file? What were you doing to the file before doing what you are doing now. Have you tried to rebooting? The file is an EXE, so if the exe is running and was started under the explorer process(most programs are started under explorer) it will say that it is open in explorer.

Reboot the system and try deleting the file. If that doesn't work fire up Killbox and use that to delete the file.

speaking of OS , does linux allow nuking any file any time any where?
Not if the file is in use like this one is.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Stop blaming everything on Microsoft.

If explorer has locked the file for some reason, then you can't make changes to it(move/delete/etc it). You haven't given any real useful information. What are you trying to do to the file? What were you doing to the file before doing what you are doing now. Have you tried to rebooting? The file is an EXE, so if the exe is running and was started under the explorer process(most programs are started under explorer) it will say that it is open in explorer.
rename and delete don't work

EVERY FILE ON DESKTOP !

It's been a year with this, reboot is the only fix temporary fix ... leaving the PC running a few days/hours it comes back randomly
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Not if the file is in use like this one is.
why not ... then linux is no better than win then, lame

this file is not in bleeping USE . it just got created(downloaded) A $)"/%)%/ SECONDS AGO
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,202 (0.83/day)
Likes
640
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#7
Just open Task Manager and end the explorer.exe process and run it egain via "New Task".
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,202 (0.83/day)
Likes
640
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#8
why not ... then linux is no better than win then, lame

this file is not in bleeping USE . it just got created(downloaded) A $)"/%)%/ SECONDS AGO
What an incredibly mature comment. Go sit in the corner till you can learn to use a computer like a real techie and quit complaining.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
why not ... then linux is no better than win then, lame

this file is not in bleeping USE . it just got created(downloaded) A $)"/%)%/ SECONDS AGO
Because files in use are locked and can't be deleted, deleting files that are in use would lead to extremely bad things.

Obviously the file is in use, or it wouldn't be giving that error. You might not know how it became in use, but it is in use and locked by explorer for some reason. This can be a symptom of malware if it is doing it to all files on the desktop.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
Just open Task Manager and end the explorer.exe process and run it egain via "New Task".
:D:rockout::respect:

Too bad i already tried this ! It fixed deletion but not renaming.

sigh
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,913 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#11
Chill out download combofix from bleepingcomputer put in the root of your windows drive, run as administrator say yes to prompts.

If it turns up nothing try these, all from command line which you love so much

SFC /scannow
Chkdsk /f
If it keeps up its not windows there's something jacked up on your computer or you changed/turned off/deleted that is causing it.

Next step reformat it.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#12
what antivirus yo using?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
nod32 4.0

break it up guys , i know what im doing, it's a freaking m$ bug , ive seen the behavior of this, it just pops up randomly
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.24/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#14
Not saying it's a pebkac issue or anything, but could it be an app that you commonly use? Automatic defrag? Any sort of indexing or automatic backup program? A locker or some sorta security app? Could WEI running it's default scheduled task cause that?

It's just that I get the impression it doesn't happen to everyone so I'm guessing Windows could be conflicting with an app. that you have.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#15
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#16
nod32 4.0

break it up guys , i know what im doing, it's a freaking m$ bug , ive seen the behavior of this, it just pops up randomly
so if you sure its a bug ask microsoft or wait the patch
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#17
People are complaining for a very long time it still didn't come



indexing is not, i got it disabled for half a year and i enabled it back a few days ago , and this bug was always present
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#18
What an incredibly mature comment. Go sit in the corner till you can learn to use a computer like a real techie and quit complaining.
that's because im not in a good mood at 00:30 with this stuff coming up


half a year ... it's been enough
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,159 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,792
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#19
half a year wow I would have formated after 2 hours
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#20
nod32 4.0

break it up guys , i know what im doing, it's a freaking m$ bug , ive seen the behavior of this, it just pops up randomly
I was just asking, as i dont have that issue and im running WIndows 7 X64 too.

do you allow windows updates?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#21
so if you sure its a bug ask microsoft or wait the patch
MS doesn't patch user experience bugs. They wait for the next windows release, and they'll only listen to suggestions on fixes for a small window leading up to the release. My blood boils just thinking about it and all the little random shit like this I have to deal with because of it.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
It's just that I get the impression it doesn't happen to everyone so I'm guessing Windows could be conflicting with an app. that you have.
leave the PC running for a few days ... but yeah this could be avoided by simply restarting often ... heck i don't even know the sympotoms , i didn't analyzed it that much.


but the time when it happens it's really random


Now i got the locker running , it detected 3 instances of explorer , but i only had one explorer process (i have folders in another process i think)

It will go away when i disable the process

I will come back after i enabled it and just as i select the file, it will get used again , same problem again.


Clicking right without slecting first, and then renaming doesn't make a difference
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#23
MS doesn't patch user experience bugs. They wait for the next windows release, and they'll only listen to suggestions on fixes for a small window leading up to the release. My blood boils just thinking about it and all the little random shit like this I have to deal with because of it.
they only fix stuff which nobody needs, or it's not important at all , that's because they bring up new crap every release, they design the new OS which nobody has asked for it, ... mostly i have never seen MS fixing actual user experience bugs, they just fill windows with useless features ,already disabled half of the services and other stuff


there's one sad thing for linux, anything on there must be open-source , games with their engines will never be released there open source, so they have to change their thinking if they EVER want to get linux more useful to SOMEHOW make a competition against this annoying mainstream crap that microsoft got into. Windows 8 will be A300$VistaPatch#2


What i know for sure if you asked me right now, im not buying windows 8 - it'll be another vista, in people's minds, some fanboys will buy it, or newcomers, but in terms of support it won't be so bad just because it's so similar to vista, the drivers probably won't be so hard to do since win7 got support quite quickly as we know vista is NT 6.0 , Win7 is NT 6.1 , and let me guess if Win8 isn't NT 6.2 or 6.3 whatever
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#24
do the 3 instances of explorer also show up in the task manager? try right clicking them and go to "open file location" and see if they're all in the same spot or not. if they're in anywhere but c:\windows then you got some scanning to do.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#25
do the 3 instances of explorer also show up in the task manager? try right clicking them and go to "open file location" and see if they're all in the same spot or not. if they're in anywhere but c:\windows then you got some scanning to do.
they all closed when i closed the one explorer that was in task manager ...