• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Am new to overclocking, need help with 3570k

Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
So I've never overclocked anything in my life, I don't even know where to start.

Are there any amazing guides to overclocking this 3570k as much as possible?

I've got the Asus Maximus V Formula, and I'll be using a Phanteks air cooler similar to Noctua NH-D14 (in fact back then, they were competitors).

I've been using the stock cooler since I bought the cpu, and only recently did I check my temps, only to see them reach 105 degrees Celsius........I know the noise this stock cooler makes when the cpu is under heavy load, and I imagine I had these kind of temperatures for the past 6 years.

Thank you.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,324 (4.30/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
You can start by reading a few guides.

I personally used this guide when i started off with IB overclocking but all the pictures are gone now as its been so many years - Even without pictures its still a good point of reference. Just keep your core voltage under 1.4v as much as possible and you should be good.

Heres another guide written by the legendary der8auer

And heres a more simplified guide

No one CPU is ever the same so we cant just read off a tonne of changes and let you set them in the bios for instant results. Overclocking is always about trial and error and finding whats stable for your CPU is part of the fun and learning experience of that journey.

We're here to answer any questions that you need if there is anything in the guides that you dont understand.


Before you make any changes. did you use new thermal paste when you changed the CPU cooler?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
Yes, I wiped the old stuff, and used the thermal paste that was provided with the cooler. Although, it sat in a box for 7 years, so idk if it's still any good.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,324 (4.30/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
What are your current temps??

7 years? I would of thrown it away and bought some MX-4.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,910 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.43/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Disable EIST, put all cores at same clocks, max out all the OC settings in the BIOS like LLC/Vdroop offset, PLL overvolt, OCP extension, set your volts as follows:

Vcore: ≤ 1.52V
PLL: ≥ 1.5V(or one step ahead of Vcore, so 1.55V for Vcore of 1.52V)
IO: 1.05V
SA: .94V
DRAM: 1.5V - 1.65V is all you should need for 2400(unless you're trying to go for max mem clocks, then ≤ 2.0V is fairly safe for short term use)

Use IBT with High stress level, or Linpack Xtreme with 2GB to test stability. If it'll pass 10 runs it's GTG for 24/7. Keep upping the clocks until it can't pass 10 runs. Then dial it back a notch or 2. Don't pay attention to temps. It doesn't matter. It'll shut itself down if it gets to hot. Use Memtest64 to test for mem stability. Aim for 2400(since you won't likely get anything higher fully stable with IVB)

volt 2.png

volt.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
125 (0.06/day)
With your hardware, 4.2-4.5GHz is a piece of cake. Something's not right with your setup. Unless you're in the tropics without AC or have a severely restricted system, a stock idle of 40C with TC14 is far too high. Hitting 100+C with stock cooler indicates restriced thermals. I have a similar IVB system, p8z77-v, 3770 (4.0GHz all core) with ambient 22C I get idle 29C, load 65C, and that's with a single fan U9.

What are you using to monitor temps? IVB has pasted IHS, which tends to degrade over time esp with high thermals...
(Edited for clarity.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
Those idle temps are still with the stock cooler, I did not install the new cooler yet as I've somehow misplaced the damn mechanism for lga 1155 or w/e the number for IBV.

Edit: Nvm me, I've confused the back-plate thinking it was only for lga 2011

Edit 2: I'll go to CanadaComputers and pay them to install the cooler for me, and to clean up my computer of all the dust. You would not believe the amount of dust I have, this case is an amazing dust magnet :D

No wonder my temps suck

I also have an AI overclock to 4.2, 4.4 or 4.6. What if I try the 4.6 and see what kind of voltages it will use and how temps will be?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
22 (0.03/day)
Location
Seattle area, Wa
Processor E5 1680 v2
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Soft tube loop w/ Black Ice GTX 360 and EK Supremacy Evo
Memory 2400mhz cl11 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Radeon VII (XFX)
Storage Crucial MX500 500gb
Display(s) old 27" Viewsonic 1080p, Asus 1080p
Case Thermaltake Core x9
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15, w/ 1680v2 @ 4.6ghz and XMP enabled, 1648 1680v2 @ 4.7ghz RAM @ stock 1333mhz, 1696
hi,

The 3rd Gen Ivy Bridge chips overclock almost the same way as the 2nd Gen Sandy Bridge chips. You can google up a Sandy Bridge or 2600k overclocking Guides which are still abundant across the internet. Since both Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge belong to the Socket 1155 platform, the BIOS settings will be nearly the same between the two versions. You should be able to hit 4.4ghz to 4.5ghz comfortably while staying below 1.35v, but if you have a Silicon lottery winner then you could possibly see 4.7ghz. 4.8ghz might be possible if you have a rare Golden sample but at the same time the Thermal compound between the IHS and CPU die would cause the temps to be unmanageable and the only way around this is to delid the CPU.

Don't get too caught up in the Sandy Bridge hype while reading those guides because Ivy Bridge typically overclocks 200mhz lower on average than a Sandy Bridge CPU. I have a 2600k that is super stable at 4.8ghz at 1.35v. The 3770k that was in my brother's system can do 4.6ghz at 1.31v. Then I have a 3770k I bought on used craigslist that can do 4.7ghz at 1.31v. I use Prime95 Blend and Small FFT and 15 rounds Linpack to test while watching the temps.

Prime95 v29.6 is the newest version which has more testing options than previous versions. lol, these would be good for people with newer chips that have the AVX2/512 instruction sets. LinpackXtreme is one I found here on TPU and it's awesome. You can also try Aida64 which is really popular.

At first try to overclock the CPU without touching the XMP, as this will give you a baseline as to what the CPU can do. Once you have found where you are stable, you can then start overclocking the memory. Sometimes you will have to play around with the VCCIO and VCCSA voltages if your CPU will not remain stable with the XMP profile on. Ivy Bridge has a stronger memory controller than Sandy Bridge so it will be possible to hit higher memory clocks.

You can keep it simple. Try for something like 4.4ghz at first, once you have your cooler installed. You should be able to set your all core ratio to 44x and then put the CPU Vcore to 1.3v then run a stress test. This speed and voltage shouldn't trigger any overvoltage protections the board has. In Digi+Power control in the BIOS, You can also adjust your 'Load-Line-Calibration' to High or Very High, with the CPU current capability set to 130%. You don't need to tinker with too many settings while trying to attain a lower overclock. Once you have found where your CPU is stable you can either lower the voltage 50 to 100mv at a time or raise the multiplier up 1x bin then retest. It might take a while for you to figure your chip out.

I would also suggest keeping a log and possibly taking screenshots. You have an excellent board which should make the overclocking better for you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
I installed the new cooler. Idle temps are around 22-28 celsius. The guy at the store said that he does not recommend overclocking since I'll have to change the thermal paste every 6 months, and seeing as how this cooler is huge and difficult to install, that is something that I do not want to do.

Is this true? Do you guys change your thermal paste once you install your cooler?

I also would like a list of programs I need for monitoring and benchmarking, like CPU-z and gpu-z, speed fan, anything to check the temps. Where do I get the intel burn test from or the other stability tools?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,910 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
Alright so I've tested at stock settings, and after 10 runs on high on intelburntest, temps were around 66-67 celsius, and it passed successfully with no indication of instability. I think I'll overclock as much as I can on stock voltage or maybe increase them a bit for that 4.5 ghz, and leave it at that.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,412 (1.31/day)
Location
Long Island
Right now being idle, temperatures are around 40 Celsius.
Doesn't mean much without knowing ambient.

I have found that over the years the best OC guides are to be found here.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1247413-ivy-bridge-overclocking-guide-ln2-guide-end.html

IB was the toughest nut to crack. And I would strongly recommend NOT using sythetics to test IB or anything newer. The are several problems with synthetics ...

a) If you are inexperienced or do not pay close attention, you can seriously over volt your CPU.
b) As many uses multiple threads of single task loads, it does not test in a multi-tasking environment. I have had 24 hour P95 stable OCs fail after 45 minutes in multitasking benchmarks like RoG Real Bench
c) Many folks wary of a) will test with older versions ... well if it doesn't include AVX and other modern instruction sets, what's the point ?
d) Finally, if you plan to buy a SUV to tow the JetSki you just purchased, to the ocean 12 miles from your house .... would you feel the need to test its towing capacity by towing 12,000 pounds up and over the Rocky Mountains ? RoG RB will put a multitasking load on your system far and away more challenging than any combination of programs it will see in its lifetime .... and it runs a sequence with all 4 tests at the same time. We have found bad OC settings in 2 minutes that take synthetics over an hour to find. In addition, in the aforementioned test, my P95 max core temps were 81 - 86C over the 24 hours. Those settings failed under RB but after raising the core and cache voltages a bit, I was able to get 4 hours under RB with temps from 71 - 78. Vcore is set at 1.3875v .... it gets up to 1.441v under some of the RB modules, and will hit 1.511 for a microsecond every now and then when AVX is present. It's remained stable for 5.5 years.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
Can someone explain to me what does Turbo Mode do exactly?

Does it increase the clocks from 3.4 to 3.8 at all times? So it's kind of like a free overclock?

I overclocked my cpu to 4.0 multiplier using stock voltages. Does that mean that my stock clock went from 3.4 to 4.0, and my boost clock from 3.8 to 4.4?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
11,459 (5.66/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Turbo will increase the multiplier as long as temperature and power usage are kept in bounds. You can edit those bounds in the BIOS, as you can edit the multiplier.

Your turbo multi is not an additional multiplier, its just the multiplier you set it at (per core, if you want to). So no, when you set base clock to x40 and don't touch the turbo, it won't go to 4.4. But its better to just OC with the turbo anyway. Leave the baseclock multi at 34. That way the CPU won't choke when it needs to drop to base clock. In addition, the CPU won't turbo inside the BIOS, so its also a safer way to OC and avoid a crash at BIOS due to a base clock you can't sustain. You'd have to clear CMOS otherwise if you get stuck there.

You can try 4.2 Ghz (x42 turbo) on all cores on stock voltage. Tends to work out OK. Going higher you usually hit a voltage wall.

Note that Intel sets a voltage curve for the K CPUs, so it means that if you increase clocks, you will also push up the voltage slightly even on stock settings. Although I am not 100% certain Ivy Bridge already does this, didn't look for it at the time on my 3570k.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,910 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Note that Intel sets a voltage curve for the K CPUs, so it means that if you increase clocks, you will also push up the voltage slightly even on stock settings. Although I am not 100% certain Ivy Bridge already does this, didn't look for it at the time on my 3570k.
I'm hitting a wall with 4770K right now. 4.4 is just giving me problems. I am at 1.24 at the moment (using offset +.012) and no change. Tried upping the ring to 42 and now upping the ring V as well.

Sorry OP. Not trying to hijack so if anyone does reply to this please just pm and leave his thread be.

I don't seem to have a turbo specific multiplier, interestingly enough, my CPU was always reporting running at my turbo clocks.

For the OP, do you have a turbo multiplier? Or just the base?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
11,459 (5.66/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I'm hitting a wall with 4770K right now. 4.4 is just giving me problems. I am at 1.24 at the moment (using offset +.012) and no change. Tried upping the ring to 42 and now upping the ring V as well.

Sorry OP. Not trying to hijack so if anyone does reply to this please just pm and leave his thread be.

I don't seem to have a turbo specific multiplier, interestingly enough, my CPU was always reporting running at my turbo clocks.

For the OP, do you have a turbo multiplier? Or just the base?
1.24 is very conservative for 4.4 on an i7 Haswell though. I already needed 1.21v for my 3570k @ 4.2 4c / 4.4 2c turbo.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,895 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
You can try 4.2 Ghz (x42 turbo) on all cores on stock voltage. Tends to work out OK. Going higher you usually hit a voltage wall.
Also beyond 4.2 that Ivy will drop cores iirc, so all will not overclock beyond 4.2 on all cores. I forget the exact intervals it beomes 2 and then 1.

1.24 is very conservative for 4.4 on an i7 Haswell though. I already needed 1.21v for my 3570k @ 4.2 4c / 4.4 2c turbo.
1.18v for 4.4 for me. :D
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
11,459 (5.66/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,910 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Also beyond 4.2 that Ivy will drop cores iirc, so all will not overclock beyond 4.2 on all cores. I forget the exact intervals it beomes 2 and then 1.


1.18v for 4.4 for me. :D
Yours is Devil's Canyon, mine is not. You are already binned.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,895 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Yours is Devil's Canyon, mine is not. You are already binned.
Ahhh, ok. Ive been hearing people for years say how hot and voltage hungry Devils Canyon is, so never really saw alot of difference on them. Thanks for the correction. :)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,910 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Ahhh, ok. Ive been hearing people for years say how hot and voltage hungry Devils Canyon is, so never really saw alot of difference on them. Thanks for the correction. :)
I don't know if there binned or a different stepping. In either case, consider yours Haswell+ :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,633 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Ahhh, ok. Ive been hearing people for years say how hot and voltage hungry Devils Canyon is, so never really saw alot of difference on them. Thanks for the correction. :)
Mine was fine at 4.4 GHz with a Vcore of 1.16. Maybe I shouldn't have been trying to push it higher even though all I wanted was 4.6 GHz at 1.25
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
50 (0.12/day)
So, with 1.26 vcore, 1.8 PLL, LLC set at very high (using this, vcore gets up to 1.264, if I use only high, vcore is too low and I crash), dram at stock, I got a stable 4.4ghz at about high 50 celsius when playing or stress testing with everything besides IBT (this one gives me around 70 with high stress option).

Furthermore, I left all other voltages on auto or stock. I manually set dram at 1.5v at speed at auto (1333mhz). I won't overclock dram cause what's the point unless I'm chasing benchmark scores, which I am not.

What do you guys think? Shall I go higher overclock up until I get to 1.35 on vcore?

Honestly, I'm amazed that after 7 years of running the shit stock cooler, and having temperatures in the 100 celsius, that this cpu is still a champ :D

Edit: I disabled the iGPU cause I don't use it.

Edit 2: Fan rpm is around 1000 with the above temperatures, can't hear a thing, it's amazing :D
 
Top