• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AM3+ANDAM3 sockets pic

Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#1
Any of you guys that think your current mobo from ASUS,MSI ,Gigabyte will take a BD chip ,You need to look at this pic between the sockets ,Notice the pinhole space on the AM3B Black socket is much wider.http://hothardware.com/News/Mud-In-The-Water-Asus-Claims-Existing-Boards-AM3-Compatible/This just for some of you guys that will run out and buy a BD chip FX and try to put t in your current boards that have the white socket.I can see AMD and the mobo manufactures have a increase of RMA`s in middle June.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#2
It wont matter, people who "try" to put a AM3+ CPU into there old mobo wil find it just wont fit lol
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
194 (0.08/day)
Likes
32
Location
Montreal, Canada
Processor Phenom II 955 @ 3955Mhz 1.45v
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 push-pull /2x140mm + 2x230mm + 2x120mm = super noisy computer
Memory 4x2Gb Kingston DDR3-1333 8-8-8-22 @ 1527Mhz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x Sapphire Radeon 6850 @ 850/1200
Storage 320Gb Western Digital WD3200AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 23" 1920x1080
Case Azza Solano 1000R Full-Tower
Audio Device(s) VIA VT1708S (integrated) + quadraphonic speakers
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 700w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
aw... crap
but im sure some people will try to break that extra pin and try it
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Old news. Show me the backside of an AM3+ or Bulldozer CPU and we'll talk. The people running engineering samples on their AM3 boards with their beta Bulldozer bios' probablly think otherwise as well. ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
Old news. Show me the backside of an AM3+ or Bulldozer CPU and we'll talk. The people running engineering samples on their AM3 boards with their beta Bulldozer bios' probablly think otherwise as well. ;)
Funny all i see for sample pics and test pics are guys running a Gigabyte UD5 990fx board......Or a updated current board with AM3B on it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Funny all i see for sample pics and test pics are guys running a Gigabyte UD5 990fx board......Or a updated current board with AM3B on it.
Really? Where? Not like it matters as everyone will know for sure in a couple weeks. ;)
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,611 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,486
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
As I opened a thread HERE, and as I posted in the thread, Asus is claiming that several of their latest motherboards are AM3+ and Bulldozer ready.

http://event.asus.com/2011/mb/AM3_PLUS_Ready/

And I just checked on the Asus site, and sure enough, the 3017 bios is up and ready to test out.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
Some MSI mobo's are said to be getting a bios update to so they support AM3+ ( including mine ) but i bet it's only some of the AM3+ chips though.

BT posted it a few weeks ago.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,611 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,486
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Some MSI mobo's are said to be getting a bios update to so they support AM3+ ( including mine ) but i bet it's only some of the AM3+ chips though.

BT posted it a few weeks ago.
In reality, it should be all the 890 chip sets and up. I believe, as far as the research I have done, the 890 AMD chip sets were all prepared for AM3+ chips. I would imagine that the AM3+ development was well under way as these chip sets were being developed, and thus the chip set was made to accommodate the AM3+ chips.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#10
In reality, it should be all the 890 chip sets and up. I believe, as far as the research I have done, the 890 AMD chip sets were all prepared for AM3+ chips. I would imagine that the AM3+ development was well under way as these chip sets were being developed, and thus the chip set was made to accommodate the AM3+ chips.
Well mines a 880

Here's the post i was on about.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143748
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
142 (0.05/day)
Likes
19
Location
Perth, Australia
Processor Phenom II X6 1055 @3290/3760Mhz 1.375 HT@2115 NB@2350
Motherboard GA-880GM-usb3 (seems to dislike bclk of over 235)
Cooling Scythe Big Shiruken + TR 1300rpm 140mm
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB 8-9-8-24-32 1T @1566mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 @875mhz gpu 1150mhz memory
Storage G.Skill Evo 115GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, WD Green 5400 1TB
Display(s) LG Flatron E2240V
Case Lian Li V352
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 892
Power Supply Seasonic X-650
Software Win 7 Ult 64bit
#11

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,611 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,486
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#13
Really? Where? Not like it matters as everyone will know for sure in a couple weeks. ;)

http://news.softpedia.com/newsImage/Gigabyte-AM3-Bulldozer-890FXA-UD5-Motherboard-Goes-For-Sale-in-Japan-2.jpg/


Notice the old 3.0 version is right beside it.And this is the board for the beta bios....

And here it clearly says ver 3.1 ready for bulldozer...

http://lensfire.blogspot.com/2011/03/gigabyte-ga-ud5-890fxa-fx-motherboard.html

Notice the board has AM3B socket like I have been saying they are updating current boards with the socket and using this Beta bios that everyone and their kids think is also for AM3 .


Now read the cpu version is 1.59 and the board is 990fx ud5 in the screenshots.

http://wccftech.com/2011/05/10/gigabyte-leaks-amd-bulldozer-details/