1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3 Motherboards with SLI support?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by TechnicalFreak, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. Are there any AM3 mobo's with SLI support out there? If "yes", what brand and models are there??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    yes 980a SLI, i believe MSI and ASUS do one
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,646 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
  5. sniviler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Bong island , NY
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    The MSI 880A Fuzion 770 has Lucid already

    edit: posted before me :)
     
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,925 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,054
    Location:
    Houston
    Sli hack and any 790/890gx/fx mobo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,056 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    My mobo (the Asus M4N98TD EVO with nForce 980a SLI chipset) does. It cost me a little over £90.
     
  9. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,925 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,054
    Location:
    Houston
    i have dealt with the 980/780/750a chipsets and 790FX/GX was a better chipset even with the sli hack people were getting better results on sli with them
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. This "SLI hack", is it done by software or BIOS mod; or is it the hardware that needs to be modified?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,925 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,054
    Location:
    Houston
    Completely software and there is a huge thread on it here
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    And its completely and easily reversible. I had done it on my MSI 790FX-GD70, and then reversed it later once I was back to a single card.
     
  13. Ok, thanks for all the replies. Thing is, I don't know what to get in March. Either upgrade system with an AMD based mobo and processor OR get a completely new i5 system for 699$ (6999SEK).

    The intel based system has all that I could need and also the mobo there has support for SLI. I was thinking of getting 4Gb more memory for either the AMD or Intel based system so that I have 8Gb in system memory (I'm using CS5, Photoshop/Illustrator/Indesign etc.). I need more power than I currently have.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. rolandwally83

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)