• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ambient occlusion - new nV drivers - examples

What do you think about Ambient Occlusion?

  • meh! I care more about FPS than visual tweaks/improvements

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Interesting, but not excited

    Votes: 9 40.9%
  • w00t! This will make gaming (incl. older simpler graphics engines) look fresh! :) Lemme at it!

    Votes: 13 59.1%

  • Total voters
    22
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#26
Screens please.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#27
Have just got HL2 reinstalled, gonna compare a couple of games, but beta testing one of Ketxxx's mBIOSes screwed my system up bad and I have just spent two hours fixing it, so I'll do some comparisons tomorrow with FPS and screenies. :)
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
972 (0.24/day)
Likes
185
Location
NorCal
System Name Modest Box
Processor Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 16GB
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1060 6GB EXOC White Edition
Storage OCZ Vertex 460A 480GB
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA 450W Bronze
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#28
Seen a number of screenshots that look very good - a marked difference. Still, I reserve judgement until I can try it out on my favorite games with my present system. If it chugs I won't use it. If its a fairly unnoticeable FPS hit I will.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#29
^ Agreed. If an older game, currently at 150fps gets hit to 90fps, then it could still be OK. But if a modern game, currently at 50 fps gets hit to 30fps, then it will spoil gameplay.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#31
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#32
Does anyone know of any good timedemo's or BM tools for HL2?

Rather than me just trying to do the same thing and commenting on the average FPS I saw?

EDIT:

NVM just found out how to record my own :)

EDIT2:

185.65 completely breaks HL2 :roll:

Thats that over! Guess I'll be going back to 182.50. I know its beta, but their pre-WHQL drivers are not usually that bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
405 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HAF
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 EXTREME 4
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-SD964
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 FTW
Storage Seagate 250GB
Display(s) LG 24' + Samsung 22'
Case HAF 922
Power Supply CoolerMaster GX750W
Software Windows 7 x64
#33
So AO is only supported by nvidia cards

A screenie :
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#34
EDIT2:

185.65 completely breaks HL2 :roll:
In what sense? I've only seen screenshots, but it should work isn't it? If they took screens, it worked. Try reinstalling if it's not too much of an annoyance, please, I want to see some more screens and videos (yay!) of that in action. I can't, because I'm in XP and I don't want to go to a friend's house just for that.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#35
So AO is only supported by nvidia cards

A screenie :
http://img.techpowerup.org/090403/42452.jpg
When talking about the driver forced feature, yes it's Nvidia only.

You know how much better that shot in the right looks and yet I'm sure there's a lot of people that would be unable to see the difference. And I'm sure many of those people would say that anything below 1920x1200 4x/8x AA is unacceptable...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#36
Ambient occlusion seems to work best (have greatest visual impact) on the example I gave in the OP - rooms and corridors, walls and solid objects.

In the "monster" example given by sapetto above the effect is small. But there are already thousands of polygons and light maps in the design of that NPC. And for the scenery, it is already complex.

To get the most out of ambient occlusion, we see it in "simple" lightmap structures, e.g. a room with one or a few light sources, and the AO will improve the light/shadow casting.

If AO is on in open spaces and is applied to complex NPC's then I'm not surprised it is hitting performance so badly.

It needs a smart-driver. To apply it to large polygons (typically walls and boulders etc.) and not apply it to tiny polygons (typically NPC and scenary candy like leaves and grass etc.)

For these reasons, I can see that an "unsmart-driver" would be best suited to older games. For newer games it is "overrendering", if that makes any sense to-ya.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#37
There's a huge difference in the monster IMO. Look at the abdominal area. Without AO it looks like the character wasn't lit. But specially in the ground and the foliage it makes a big difference. It looks like a uniform or even deformed mass without AO.

And look at the borders of the character, without AO it's as if the character had been put there like in a collage*. That's something that always has happened in games, objects seem to be glued in a 2d fashion and as if they were hovering above the ground. But AO completely fixes that.

*I don't know if that's the proper tranlation, google says so, the word it's french in origin but it's used in many languages. It's when you copy and paste photos or pieces of paper to form a picture.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#38
"collage" is correct. I think we took the word from the French many years ago.

Re the monster. Yes, it is different/better. But I can also understand such a model under AO will make a huge hit on performance. And, IMO, the "immersion"/impression is greater when fixing the statics (eg. interior rooms and corridors) than the moving monsters in vegetation. Again, I'm not saying it doesnt significantly improve the monsters in vegetation, but fixing the "maps" is the first need. And if we can do that without a huge performance penalty, then there is every reason to use it.

Therefore a "smart engine" should first implement AO on the "map" rather than the NPCs. This would need to be done in the engine. If not in the engine, a "smart driver" would have to guess what was map and what was NPC. There may be clever ways to do this; the simplest being, small polygons are NPCs, large polygons are maps.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#39
"collage" is correct. I think we took the word from the French many years ago.

Re the monster. Yes, it is different/better. But I can also understand such a model under AO will make a huge hit on performance. And, IMO, the "immersion"/impression is greater when fixing the statics (eg. interior rooms and corridors) than the moving monsters in vegetation. Again, I'm not saying it doesnt significantly improve the monsters in vegetation, but fixing the "maps" is the first need. And if we can do that without a huge performance penalty, then there is every reason to use it.

Therefore a "smart engine" should first implement AO on the "map" rather than the NPCs. This would need to be done in the engine. If not in the engine, a "smart driver" would have to guess what was map and what was NPC. There may be clever ways to do this; the simplest being, small polygons are NPCs, large polygons are maps.
We can agree to disagree. IMHO if you want to improve only stationary things it might be even better to use the old school painting in the corners of the textures that are going to be close to another wall, etc.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#40
^^ come on DM, you know that isnt practicable. Every wall is a different length, so you would need a different texture for every wall to put such hand rendered shading in. You might be able to do that once or twice, but it would be WAY TOO much work to try and do that using a regular map editor for every single static object. And just think about the size of data on the HDD and the GPU memory getting trashed. A new texture for every single wall. (or object whatnot). No you couldnt implement that technique.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#41
They do that in Gears of War One. Every terrain shadow is drawn into the texture on most multiplayer levels.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#42
Thanks for the info DrPepper. Wow, what a lot of work and what a lot of data. Makes for good "virtual effects" and high framerates!
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#43
Thanks for the info DrPepper, didnt know that. Wow, what a lot of work and what a lot of data. Makes for good "virtual effects" and high framerates though!
Indeed it does. There are sneaky ways of using such textures twice. Imagine a car with a concrete road and the shadow is painted onto the road and the car model stuck on top of it and can be used in other scenes.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#44
Yep, reusing the car is obvious. But the problem is this: moving objects and distructive environments. What happens when that car moves? Shadow still painted on road. LOL

Painting shadows onto terrain for known objects is a much easier exercise than painting shadows into EVERY corner of every room/corridor. That's the issue with the technique. OK for hard static shadows around a few objects. But not EVERY vertex in the map!
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#45
Yep, reusing the car is obvious. But the problem is this: moving objects and distructive environments. What happens when that car moves? Shadow still painted on road. LOL
The car doesn't move its static. That's why it can be planted on the texture and increase performance.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#46
We need to get this thread back on track! PICTURES of AO improving graphics in newer and older engines please!
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#47
We need to get this thread back on track! PICTURES of AO improving graphics in newer and older engines please!
Indeed. I don't have a nvidia card atm its dead but screenies will come when its back.