• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD “will consider adding support” for RIS on Vega, but has no plans to right now

Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,741 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
I don't care about any of that, DLSS is just something else they get to play with.

Fact is 436.02 drivers brought image sharpening and lower input lag to all their users, both were Navi selling points.

All else is tears in the rain.
As is the investment in tensor for consumers?, tears in said rain ?

Doesn't matter to me and I don't get sharpening ,shrug.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,945 (1.03/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
As is the investment in tensor for consumers?, tears in said rain ?

Doesn't matter to me and I don't get sharpening ,shrug.
Your broken English is hard to understand frankly.

But yes, Vega is being left behind I guess.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
549 (0.11/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3 F31 BIOS
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x8GB Samsung OEM B-die 2133MHz @ 3133MHz
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
And NV's new Freestyle Sharpen works across all their GPU's across all those API's.



From the article it said Freestyle Sharpen only on supported games, and through GeForce Experience by pressing Alt+F3 while in-game to apply the filter. I never installed GeForce Experience because IMO its just a bloatware. I don't want to install it just to enable a simple filter.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,741 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Your broken English is hard to understand frankly.

But yes, Vega is being left behind I guess.
Let me clarify , so all those that bought tensor cores have paid a surcharge for wasted tech that is not needed ,Tensor cores.
Shit happens that way on both teams , no need for the lofty attitude and cat like bs.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,945 (1.03/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
From the article it said Freestyle Sharpen only on supported games, and through GeForce Experience by pressing Alt+F3 while in-game to apply the filter. I never installed GeForce Experience because IMO its just a bloatware. I don't want to install it just to enable a simple filter.
Of course, but that is still more than RIS. I'm also sorry to hear ram is tight for you, but that is your choice.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
159 (0.86/day)
Let me clarify , so all those that bought tensor cores have paid a surcharge for wasted tech that is not needed ,Tensor cores.
Shit happens that way on both teams , no need for the lofty attitude and cat like bs.
Surcharge you say? Since 2060 vs 5700 and 2060s vs 5700XT are comparable in price (actually in both cases you can get Nvidias slightly cheaper going by this site at least for you European guys https://geizhals.eu/?cat=gra16_512&xf=9810_9+5242+-+RTX+2060~9810_9+6397+-+RTX+2060+SUPER~9810_9+6497+-+RTX+2070 ) then AMD is charging you one for not having DLSS/RTX? :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
549 (0.11/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3 F31 BIOS
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x8GB Samsung OEM B-die 2133MHz @ 3133MHz
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Of course, but that is still more than RIS. I'm also sorry to hear ram is tight for you, but that is your choice.
You misunderstood, 16GB of RAM is plenty. I just don't like to have additional software just to run a simple filter. nvidia Ansel can be run with default driver install why don't this?
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,159 (0.94/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Surcharge you say? Since 2060 vs 5700 and 2060s vs 5700XT are comparable in price (actually in both cases you can get Nvidias slightly cheaper going by this site at least for you European guys https://geizhals.eu/?cat=gra16_512&xf=9810_9+5242+-+RTX+2060~9810_9+6397+-+RTX+2060+SUPER~9810_9+6497+-+RTX+2070 ) then AMD is charging you one for not having DLSS/RTX? :laugh:
Honestly, I've got V64 and I don't see the problem here. If not GPU then CPU will take care of that.
Why would they bring RTX and that crap called DLSS? RTX is cool but you can forget about DLSS case it is crap. RTX sure ditch the DLSS.
Well, RTX wont work as it should anyway. Which means RTX is for the next generation. Nice to show off but that is basically all there is.
BTW. AMD with its GPUs has more things to worry about than RIS support for Vega.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,945 (1.03/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
You misunderstood, 16GB of RAM is plenty. I just don't like to have additional software just to run a simple filter. nvidia Ansel can be run with default driver install why don't this?
I'm pretty Ansel support has to be baked into the game though. But sure it would be nice if the functionality was available without the need of GFE, but isn't that much of an issue really. Maybe that will change in the future.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
159 (0.86/day)
Honestly, I've got V64 and I don't see the problem here. If not GPU then CPU will take care of that.
Why would they bring RTX and that crap called DLSS? RTX is cool but you can forget about DLSS case it is crap. RTX sure ditch the DLSS.
Well, RTX wont work as it should anyway. Which means RTX is for the next generation. Nice to show off but that is basically all there is.
BTW. AMD with its GPUs has more things to worry about than RIS support for Vega.
Well, when Vega came out, Nvidia also didn't have those things yet, so of course we can't blame it for that, but it obviously had its own bunch of problems, however Navi not having any ray traycing support a year after Turing isn't a good sign at all, since that is here to stay. Yes, it's not quite viable yet, but no new technology really is in its first iteration, yet I expect Ampere to already make big leap in that department, leaving Navi even further behind.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,159 (0.94/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Well, when Vega came out, Nvidia also didn't have those things yet, so of course we can't blame it for that, but it obviously had its own bunch of problems, however Navi not having any ray traycing support a year after Turing isn't a good sign at all, since that is here to stay. Yes, it's not quite viable yet, but no new technology really is in its first iteration, yet I expect Ampere to already make big leap in that department, leaving Navi even further behind.
Really? First you have to ask yourself a question (which was answered in my previous post). RTX - WHY NOW? You start from wrong point in time brother. You think, since RTX has been release by NV this is the path to go and from now on all the GPU must support it? Well, my dear foreign friend I disagree. If something is being released it doesn't mean it has to be followed this instant. RT is cool and NV didn't invent it. That's the first thing. The RTX has been released as a showcase for the market or prove advancement over a competitor due to their new releases of GPUs. AMD can do RT but it is pointless because the horsepower for the GPUs isn't there.
It is a cool feature no doubt but what's the point of using it if it can't be fully utilized and the performance is horrible. DLSS is increasing the FPS but the image quality is suffering. I don't thing forcing this is a good thing. The time will come. bravo for NV to show RT in games and that is all.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
159 (0.86/day)
Why not now? Ray tracing has been "the holy grail" of computer graphics for decades - you have to start somewhere and by 4000 series it will almost certainly be in regular use at least on the higher end models while AMD will be sluggishly pacing behind, just like the last 5-6 years
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,159 (0.94/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Why not now? Ray tracing has been "the holy grail" of computer graphics for decades - you have to start somewhere and by 4000 series it will almost certainly be in regular use at least on the higher end models while AMD will be sluggishly pacing behind, just like the last 5-6 years
the holy grail :) You started your premise with a myth or a very controversial subject. I remember that 4K is the way to go. Now it is RT which means 1080p at max. We have so many features added to gaming over the decade as you mentioned. Do you want to choose between features? Do you want to play 4K or either RT or you want all of it? Do you want to pay extra (and I mean shit load) for that one feature which is not fully supported and utilized fully in games (programmers need to pick which RT feature they will implement because all of them at one time is fools errand). I want all of it working at the same time. The realism in games can be done with RT that's for sure. If it is a holy grail? I wouldn't say so cause you make it sound like it is something not achievable or exceptional. Maybe lets wait a bit and have all good things coming in one package not choose between features and make the companies charge us extra.
BTW they have started somewhere 10 years ago. Everyone knows how to do RT it is just to demanding for current GPUs to be accomplished.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
159 (0.86/day)
Do you want to play 4K or either RT or you want all of it?
Do you want to pay extra (and I mean shit load) for that one feature which is not fully supported and utilized fully in games (programmers need to pick which RT feature they will implement because all of them at one time is fools errand). I want all of it working at the same time.
Funny you mention that, because with AMD, you can't really do either (obviously no RT and none of their cards can handle most games in 4k at high settings and stable fps at least in the high 40s, not to mention stable 60 and more).
Secondly, we've already established several times that you don't pay extra, as prices of similarly performing cards from both teams are comparable, meaning you get RT (and DLLS) as a bonus with Nvidia.
And lastly - you want everything at the same time? :rolleyes: If I use an aviation analogy, you would hold off introducing commercial flights until Concorde was available? And besides, 4k isn't really that important for gaming, where most monitor sizes are below 30 inch - it's much more useful for videos on huge TV displays, while 1440p high refresh rate is a very comfortable sweetspot for the former and I'm willing to bet this will be fully viable with RT in 2-3 years.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,159 (0.94/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Funny you mention that, because with AMD, you can't really do either (obviously no RT and none of their cards can handle most games in 4k at high settings and stable fps at least in the high 40s, not to mention stable 60 and more).
Secondly, we've already established several times that you don't pay extra, as prices of similarly performing cards from both teams are comparable, meaning you get RT (and DLLS) as a bonus with Nvidia.
And lastly - you want everything at the same time? :rolleyes: If I use an aviation analogy, you would hold off introducing commercial flights until Concorde was available? And besides, 4k isn't really that important for gaming, where most monitor sizes are below 30 inch - it's much more useful for videos on huge TV displays, while 1440p high refresh rate is a very comfortable sweetspot for the former and I'm willing to bet this will be fully viable with RT in 2-3 years.
Like you can play RTX on all RTX cards with sufficient FPS? DLSS is crap dont even mention it. Make it as if it didn't exist and don't bring AMD into this. RTX will work (lighting if there is light source present, if it isn't there you get nothing but the FPS is down anyway) Besides I already mentioned that AMD has other things to worry about than RTX and RIS. RTX doesn't work fully. Do you understand what that means? The price for this is so damn high and I dont see the reason why this should be considered "premium" feature. NV want's you to think that and you do so good for you. You can play quake 2 from over a decade. Great :)
4K is awesome. I dont need refresh rate I need more details and sharper image. This refresh rate again. I play games in 4k on my V64 and I can pull this off. Believe me 4k is great and I refuse to go 1080p just to get some sort of partial RTX experience or even your beloved refresh rate. BTW you mention high refresh rate monitors and you claim RTX is awesome? How can you combine these two? RTX on and your FPS goes down the drain but high refresh rate is better than 4k. I don't get you. You need to make up your mind.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,834 (2.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
AMD today released their latest Radeon Software driver. Version 19.9.3 brings with it a much requested feature: support for Radeon Image Sharpening (RIS) on graphics cards based on the Vega architecture.

Now everyone can finally relax.
 
Top