• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 32 nm CPU Conquest to Begin in 2010

Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#26
agreed they have their work cut out for them
but the race is definitely not over and in the best interest of the consumer (us)
you want the race to be pretty close
I for one am not bias on CPU's
I love both Intel and AMD.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.38/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#27
lol, took you Intel monkeys (no pun intended, there are AMD monkeys too) that long to figure out? AMD expects 32nm by 3Q 2010.
Also with 32nm you can expect to see 20-24 core Processors from AMD since AMD designs their CPUs to be VERY small.
But it will have some strange errata again I'm sure. Like DDR3 catching on fire during BSODs and they will fix it in the next stepping. j/k
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,691 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,109
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#28
TBH i think what needs to happen for AMD is to keep hohum on their next CPU lineup, and only reason Intel managed to stay ahead is because they keep on bribing JDEC to approve Crappy Ram (Cough DDR3). If DDR was still around and just had a Die Shrink nothing else, to say 45nm or even 30 it would probably whoop the DDR3 easily thx to tighter timings and not require a High Clock speed, and with the process shrink means less voltage is needed.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.55/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#29
DDR2 is good... I can run my DDR2 @ 3-3-3-10-14-1T @ DDR2-840.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#32
DDR2 is good... I can run my DDR2 @ 3-3-3-10-14-1T @ DDR2-840.
yep, DDR2 is still good, DDR3 was rushed to the market for really no good reason. Socket 775 platforms dont benefit that much from it.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,301 (0.28/day)
Likes
645
Location
South Africa
System Name Firelance
Processor i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz / 1.23V
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H @ F16h mod BIOS
Cooling Corsair H105 + 4x Gentle Typhoon 1850
Memory 2x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 CL9 @ CL7
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC with Gaming X BIOS @ 2000 core / 2300 mem
Storage 2x 256GB 840 Pro (RAID-0) + 3TB Deskstar 7K3000 + 512GB BX300 + 8TB WD Purple
Display(s) Dell U2713HM (25x14) + Acer P243W (19x12)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP² Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1
#33
AMD have just barely transitioned to 45nm and now they're talking as if 32nm is going to be a magic bullet to fix all their woes? Their problem is not the fab process, but the fact that the K10/Phenom architecture is simply not competitive with Core i7. I'd rather see a 65nm AMD CPU that can compete with Intel's best as opposed to a 32nm model that can't, thanks very much.

eidairaman1 said:
TBH i think what needs to happen for AMD is to keep hohum on their next CPU lineup, and only reason Intel managed to stay ahead is because they keep on bribing JDEC to approve Crappy Ram (Cough DDR3). If DDR was still around and just had a Die Shrink nothing else, to say 45nm or even 30 it would probably whoop the DDR3 easily thx to tighter timings and not require a High Clock speed, and with the process shrink means less voltage is needed.
The amount of factual inaccuracies and bias in this statement is so laughable I'm not even going to bother to dissect them, except to recommend that you check Wikipedia to educate yourself.

KBD said:
yep, DDR2 is still good, DDR3 was rushed to the market for really no good reason. Socket 775 platforms dont benefit that much from it.
DDR3 provides more bandwidth than DDR2, which is one of the reasons why Core i7 is designed around DDR3: that architecture needs massive memory bandwidth to perform well. On the other hand, DDR3 on a S775 platform is a waste because the memory controller simply can't take advantage of the extra bandwidth.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.38/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#34
TBH i think what needs to happen for AMD is to keep hohum on their next CPU lineup, and only reason Intel managed to stay ahead is because they keep on bribing JDEC to approve Crappy Ram (Cough DDR3). If DDR was still around and just had a Die Shrink nothing else, to say 45nm or even 30 it would probably whoop the DDR3 easily thx to tighter timings and not require a High Clock speed, and with the process shrink means less voltage is needed.
Incorrect. I want to know who told you that because thats kind of sad... :wtf:

Is that just something you made up because anyone in the computer field knows that is wrong.. I am not trying to be mean but tight timings only mean so much..
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,691 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,109
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#35
well explain why even DDR at 600 MHZ clobbers DDR2? It takes alot more bandwidth to overcome performance issues that DDR2/3 has vs DDR1 at lower clocks. Im pretty sure if DDR1 was shrunk down it would probably be able to maintain tight timings and then also require less voltage, but able to ramp the clocks higher without having to loosen the timings to what DDR2/3 requires. Also on the Intel Bit, AMD didnt move really when DDR2 came about but it seems eachtime they move Intel moves on to the next Memory standard, so it sounds like they are actually bribing JDEC to approve standards that are slower, and TBH QPI/HTT dont need all the Bandwidth in the World to get work done as they are a low latency solution.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,968 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,330
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#36
ok so more cores is not always the best way at all.
more cores = more complex software to actually take advantage.
and AMD has not lost any race at all.
Transistors@(X)GHz/price is the real race
for example 2 chips 1 has 500million @3GHz, the other 1billion@3GHz
if chip 1 is $200 and chip 2 is $65 then chip 2 wins even though chip 1 is faster
you have to understand most people are not enthusiast and dont know the difference very well but like the $65 much more than $200 especially since they never even tap into that power the chip 1 has.
so there are 2 races 1, the race for transistors/power/fabrication. race two is same as race 1 but the mighty $ factored in.
More doesn't equal better if you can't keep them busy. ;)