• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 4GB Radeon RX 480 Can Be Flashed into 8GB

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,242 (8.59/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
You've heard of unlocking shaders with BIOS mods in the past, but how about doubling the memory on your card? That's right, owners of some 4 GB Radeon RX 480 graphics cards discovered that they can unlock 4 extra gigabytes of memory on their card by simply flashing it with the BIOS of the 8 GB variant. Some early batches of 4 GB Radeon RX 480 apparently have 8 GB of memory physically, but the BIOS prevents the GPU from addressing beyond 4 GB of it. Not all cards have such a weird contraption, and so AMD is drawing you into a lottery.





UPDATE: We successfully flashed a 4 GB retail RX 480 to 8 GB and benchmarked it in our newer article.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
737 (0.19/day)
Location
Philippines
Processor Intel Core i5-8400 2.8 GHz Hex-core Coffee Lake
Motherboard ASUS TUF B360M-PLUS GAMING
Cooling Stock Intel low-profile cooler
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8 GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz 14-14-14-35-2T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 240 GB PCI-E M.2 SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Corsair VS650 650W 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Razer Ornata
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Hopefully people won't be blindly flashing the 8 GB BIOS just to check. All they need to do is see if the chips are physically there.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
1,811 (0.59/day)
Hopefully people won't be blindly flashing the 8 GB BIOS just to check. All they need to do is see if the chips are physically there.
I am pretty sure many people will do exactly that and when BIOS flash fails end up with a dud.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard MSI X99 SLI PLUS
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61
Memory Crucial 32GB DDR4-2133mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 480 4GB
Storage 1TB 7200RPM, 250GB 5400RPM
Case NZXT H440
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2014 Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hopefully people won't be blindly flashing the 8 GB BIOS just to check. All they need to do is see if the chips are physically there.
Would it be warranty voiding to remove the cooler to check the memory chips though?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,841 (1.52/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
I am pretty sure many people will do exactly that and when BIOS flash fails end up with a dud.
No there will that one idiot that will post about a failure after trying.
 

thekingxzero

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
No, according to Koduri on the AMA, they sent an 8GB model to reviewers with the BIOS for both, so they could test both models on the same review sample.
take from reddit
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,185 (8.68/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
do these cards have the dual BIOS switch? because that would simplify things for testers
 
  • Like
Reactions: xvi

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,242 (8.59/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
No, according to Koduri on the AMA, they sent an 8GB model to reviewers with the BIOS for both, so they could test both models on the same review sample.
take from reddit
MyCE cited an AIB-branded retail card owner, so this isn't limited to retail sample.

do these cards have the dual BIOS switch? because that would simplify things for testers
They don't.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.48/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Hopefully people won't be blindly flashing the 8 GB BIOS just to check. All they need to do is see if the chips are physically there.
Both versions likely have the same amount of chips, only that the 4GB version uses 1Gb chips and the 8GB uses 2Gb chips.

I don't get why would AMD ship 8GB in 4GB cards. Are they sure they can actually access >4GB of VRAM and not just listed in GPU-Z or something?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.54/day)
Well, counting VRAM chips and summing them together shouldn't be so difficult... I mean you can find out what they physically are based on text on them.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,330 (2.07/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
You could also look at it this way. Why does AMD charge more for an 8GB card when they ship the same hardware on the "4 GB" version and just hide it in the BIOS?
This would be overcharging on the 8GB part because they won't sell them (4GB) at a loss.

They ought to address this before people start fiddling with things they might not really understand.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,185 (8.68/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
it was likely a supply issue early on, that they planned to rectify later.

make 8GB only models at first, flash some to 4.
once stock on 4GB models rises/supply issues go away, make them physically different.

personally i dont see why they even shipped a 4, jump to 8 - good marketing material really.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
451 (0.23/day)
System Name Personal Rig
Processor Intel i5 3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push/Pull
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz Vengeance
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000
Storage Seagate 1TB & 180GB Intel 330
Display(s) AOC I2360P
Case Enermax Vostok
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Microsoft OEM 2.0
Keyboard Logitech Internet Pro White
Software Legal ;)
Benchmark Scores Very big
Both versions likely have the same amount of chips, only that the 4GB version uses 1Gb chips and the 8GB uses 2Gb chips.

I don't get why would AMD ship 8GB in 4GB cards. Are they sure they can actually access >4GB of VRAM and not just listed in GPU-Z or something?
Actually, 8GB uses 8Gbit chips, while 4GB should use 4Gbit.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Location
Ottawa ON, Canada
Could be a publicity stunt.
If they are desperate it might be cheaper to sell a limited number of 8GB as a 4GB than few ad spots.
They do that, leak the good news, and then profit from all the buzz it do and the flock of people who buy those cards wishing to play the lottery-ish game.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,172 (0.29/day)
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
You could also look at it this way. Why does AMD charge more for an 8GB card when they ship the same hardware on the "4 GB" version and just hide it in the BIOS?
This would be overcharging on the 8GB part because they won't sell them (4GB) at a loss.

They ought to address this before people start fiddling with things they might not really understand.
You can ask the same question about lots of different hardware. You can ask why they charge more for Top end GPU, when the chip is exactly the same in the second best GPU, maybe with some components disabled but cost wise it should be the same. Thats how the industry works, Bigger numbers sell.

Same with memory sticks, theres less chips on high density memory but they still charge more, and sometimes a lot more. Companies rarely pass on savings, at least for the first few years.

Anyway, AMD (or whoever) will just say something like " Well some of the chips were not running up to spec so we had to disable them"

I dont think this will be possible for much longer, They probably just didnt have enough 4 GB versions so this was a quick fix but once production ramps up it wont be an issue.

Or there is a possibility AMD did it on purpose for some positive marketing. We've seen this kind of thing before, with bios updates unlocking cores or shaders or whatever.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,185 (8.68/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
You can ask the same question about lots of different hardware.

removing a piece of foam inside my headphones doubled their value, this isnt even a PC exclusive oddity. (sennheiser HD 555 to 595 mod, its seriously a piece of foam making the 555's sound worse)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,435 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I bought a 4 GB retail version for review, it has the same memory chips as the 8 GB version and the same number of chips.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,185 (8.68/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
I bought a 4 GB retail version for review, it has the same memory chips as the 8 GB version and the same number of chips.

time to make a detailed modding guide? :D

you do take quite impressive detailed pics, which might help people ID what cards are moddable.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
501 (0.34/day)
Location
In the middle of nowhere
System Name Scrapped Parts, Unite !
Processor i5-2500 @ 3.3 Ghz//Q9300 @ 2.5 Ghz
Motherboard GA-H67MA-USB3-B3// P35 Neo2-FR
Cooling Stock
Memory 10 GB DDR3 1333 // 3 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GeForce GTX1060 Vulcan U 6G // ASUS ENGT 220 1GD3
Storage Hitachi 500 GB, Sony 1TB, KINGSTON 400A 120GB // Samsung 160 GB
Display(s) HP 2009f
Case Xigmatek Asgard Pro // Cooler Master Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500 W
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 30fps, Tetris 40 fps, with overheated CPU and GPU
just a thought here
IF only nvidia made such things
their GTX TITAN long time ago is cannibalized by GTX 780 Ti/GTX 980 Ti
lol
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,610 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I bought a 4 GB retail version for review, it has the same memory chips as the 8 GB version and the same number of chips.
What are the IC names, for the clarity of things :)
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
373 (0.14/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Titanium
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Display(s) Samsung UE590D
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Mini
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
Are there any confirmed reports of successful 4GB>8GB bios flashes?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,050 (0.60/day)
System Name The Stone that the Builders Refused / iJayo
Processor R5 1600/ R5 1600X
Motherboard Asrock AB350 Pro4 / Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Cryorig M9 / Artic Freexer 33
Memory G skill 16 Gigs ddr4 / 16 gigs PNY ddr4
Video Card(s) MSI r9 270 / MSI RX 570 Armor
Storage 120gig 840 evo, 120gig adata sp900 / 512 Scandisc M.2 ssd 2 x 1tb seagate hdd 120 gig Hyper X ssd
Display(s) 42" Nec retail display monitor/ 42" Nec retail display monitor
Case Pink Enermax Ostrog / NZXT 200i
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing Expressionist Bass/ M-Audio monitors
Power Supply Corsair450 /Seasonic Focus 650 fx
Mouse corsair vengence M65 / Func Ms3
Keyboard corsair k70 cherry blue /corsair k95 cherry red
Software Window 10 pro / Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores meh... feel me on the battle field!
....this seems awesome....but.....

bricks.jpg

even to the best of us .bios flashing...even updating sometimes can be a randon an unruly beast......and there is no going back
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
211 (0.08/day)
Location
South-Africa
Processor i5 4670k @ 4.2 Ghz
Motherboard MSi Z87 GD65 Gaming Motherboard
Cooling Zalman CNPS11 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC Pro 6GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA950D
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Platinum
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma (2015)
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 Low-Profile Rapidfire
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Ooooooo, I love tweaking things like this, they are like little easter eggs. I still have my Sapphire HD6950 that I flashed to a HD6970. ^_^

I wish I could do that with an GTX1070 to enable a few extra of those disabled cores. :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,185 (8.68/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Ooooooo, I love tweaking things like this, they are like little easter eggs. I still have my Sapphire HD6950 that I flashed to a HD6970. ^_^

I wish I could do that with an GTX1070 to enable a few extra of those disabled cores. :)
how hard was that to do, i just acquired an asus 6950 and was pondering doing that over the weekend :D
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
211 (0.08/day)
Location
South-Africa
Processor i5 4670k @ 4.2 Ghz
Motherboard MSi Z87 GD65 Gaming Motherboard
Cooling Zalman CNPS11 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC Pro 6GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA950D
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Platinum
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma (2015)
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 Low-Profile Rapidfire
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
how hard was that to do, i just acquired an asus 6950 and was pondering doing that over the weekend :D
Well, the reason I could do it with the Sapphire was; that it had 2x BIOS, so you can keep the original BIOS (in case something went wrong) then you flick it to the secondary switch and flash the card with the Sapphire 6970 BIOS, it was a long time ago though, I have no idea what software I used, except for Wizards GPU-Z where I made a backup of the original BIOS, just in case something went wrong. Here is a guide that W1zzard made back in the day. :)

https://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159
 
Top