1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A8-3870K Cracks 6 GHz with All Cores Enabled

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    34,057 (9.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,394
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Overclocker "Christian Ney" of the HWBOT community claims to have cracked the 6 GHz clock speed mark with an AMD A8-3870K APU, with all four of its cores enabled. The feat consisted of a clock speed of 6067.7 MHz achieved using a base clock of 258.2 MHz and multiplier of 47.0x. The memory was clocked at 3505 MHz, just 95 MHz short of a world-record. The chip was put through a scorching core voltage of 2V. Supporting components included GIGABYTE A75-UD4H motherboard, and GeIL EVO Corsa DDR3 memory. The setup was cooled sub-zero. CPU-Z Validator rejected this submission, probably because like us, it finds 2V vCore and 258.2 MHz base clock unreal for Llano, since it uses a common 100 MHz clock domain for BClk and PCIe.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: MyDrivers.com
     
    w3b, hellrazor, Super XP and 5 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Awesome Processing Unit.
     
    w3b, hellrazor, Super XP and 6 others say thanks.
  3. Drugsh

    Drugsh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    i wonder how much is the gpu clock?
     
  4. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,857 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Location:
    Formosa
    If you look at the second picture you'll see that they're using a discrete card...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. timmyisme22

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Yakima, Washington
    It's an APU so it's still a fair question (even with the discrete). Anyone know if they disabled it to attain this clock?


    I'd prefer to see a high CPU/GPU clock and test it out with the sub-zero cooling. Would be much more awesome to see the result.
     
  6. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,520 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Heh, I built a rig for a relative with that board.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    34,057 (9.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,394
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    For APU's embedded GPU and a discrete GPU to work in tandem, the display will be plugged to the motherboard, not the discrete graphics card (as pictured). So the embedded GPU is likely not enabled.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    448 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    DIMM cooling looks insane! :rockout: I wish somebody produced superconductor based PCB and embedded superconductive vias in silicon wafers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,845 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Portugal
    :eek:
    Damn!
    That's impressive.
    I also didn't know those GeIL EVO Corsa RAMs could clock that high. :wtf:
    Those DIMMs were cheap here a while ago. Real cheap. Enhance version though, but still cheap.
     
  10. nonkX3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere in Central Java
    oh how i love the asus background behind it :p
     
  11. leonard83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Gigabyte A75-UD4H`s still the best in A75MBs
     
  12. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    pretty evil oc.
     
  13. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    really......a llano

    who knew??? :rockout:
     
  14. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    damn thats awsome
     
  15. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    431 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    2v is a lot of juice!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. ironwolf

    ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    Finally, all cores enabled. That's what kind of good stuff I was hoping we would see, none of this one or two core action crap.
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,792
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Yes, enabling the IGP portion of the APUs does seem to affect memory/core clocking.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    This is pointless. Not even us enthusiasts use LN2, dry ice, or whatever other extreme to cool our parts. That's saved for people looking to break records. 99.9% of us use air/watercooling...and some MAYBE phase-change.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    746 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    It wasn't intended to be a practical application, just a demonstration of maximum clock speed (like comparing a Corvette and a nitromethane dragster).
     
  20. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    746 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    Apparently they can, with a sufficient application of liquid nitrogen. :)
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion Vanguard Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,493 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,320
    2 volts :laugh: Unreal! :shadedshu
     
  22. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    also dependent on how stable could the integrated memory controller be at that speed.
     
  23. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    762 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Pocomoke, MD
    2v holy shit!!!
     
  24. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    My sentiment as well. Those crappy FX "records" mean very little - this is an actual record. It also shows that Athlon II architecture wasn't nearly as bad frequency-wise, there was hardly any need to go for extra-long pipeline in new architecture.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,505
    Thumbs down..

    This is a record actually considering this is an APU with All cores operating at 6 ghz each.

    I Dont see what the problem is when an Athlon XP took 1.8-2.0 VCore just to reach 2.6-3.0GHz

    AMDs love the voltage.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)