• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD AM3 motherboard question

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#1
If I have a AMD motherboard with 4 slots can I populate all 4 slots with DDR3 or can you only use two?
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#2
I see no reason why you can't populate all 4 slots.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#3
I see no reason why you can't populate all 4 slots.
thought they had some kind of trouble with more than 2 slots populated and when AM3 chips were used. I thought it was a memory controller issue
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#4
You can populate four DDR3-1333 modules, but they will run at 1066 MHz.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#5
You can populate four DDR3-1333 modules, but they will run at 1066 MHz.
ouch why? Why buy DDR3 then, buy a ddr2 board.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#6
You will have to bump you NB voltage before you overclock that's all
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#7

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#8
A limitation. AMD blames the BIOS for that, and the motherboard vendors blame the processor IMC. People usually succeed with overclocking, and many have run 4x DDR3-1333 at ≥1333 MHz via overclocking, though it isn't guaranteed to work. They said a future BIOS update will fix it, though they still haven't managed to fix the >1 module/channel limitation for DDR2-1066 on AM2+ CPUs.

The IMC normally sets two DDR3-≥1333 modules to work at 1333 MHz, 9-9-9-24 (JEDEC standard). But when four of these modules are used (or >1 module per channel,) DRAM multiplier is dropped to 5.33x.

nope I think thats not gonna help here.
I think he means CPU-NB voltage, yes it may help.
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#9
ouch why? Why buy DDR3 then, buy a ddr2 board.
If I had an option I'd def buy an AM2/AM2+ board so that I can run AM3 CPU's without being limited to just AM3.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#10
If I had an option I'd def buy an AM2/AM2+ board so that I can run AM3 CPU's without being limited to just AM3.
No not me their are now 65.00 AM3 chips no need.
 

MushkinSean

Mushkin Rep
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
#11
There were issues running 4 DIMMs on the AM3 platform at rated speeds/timings, most of the problems have been addressed in the last few months.
I've got quite a few customers running 8GB at CAS 7 @ DDR3-1600.

Some IMCs freak when when loaded with that much ram, in most cases a little more CPU-NB voltage helps get things stable and/or a Command Rate of 2T. Some IMCs will just refuse to run DDR3-1600 stable, in those cases it is necessary to drop the memory frequency to 1333, but you can generally tighten the timings to compensate. ;)
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#12
There were issues running 4 DIMMs on the AM3 platform at rated speeds/timings, most of the problems have been addressed in the last few months.
I've got quite a few customers running 8GB at CAS 7 @ DDR3-1600.

Some IMCs freak when when loaded with that much ram, in most cases a little more CPU-NB voltage helps get things stable and/or a Command Rate of 2T. Some IMCs will just refuse to run DDR3-1600 stable, in those cases it is necessary to drop the memory frequency to 1333, but you can generally tighten the timings to compensate. ;)
thats very helpful
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#13
There were issues running 4 DIMMs on the AM3 platform at rated speeds/timings, most of the problems have been addressed in the last few months.
I've got quite a few customers running 8GB at CAS 7 @ DDR3-1600.

Some IMCs freak when when loaded with that much ram, in most cases a little more CPU-NB voltage helps get things stable and/or a Command Rate of 2T. Some IMCs will just refuse to run DDR3-1600 stable, in those cases it is necessary to drop the memory frequency to 1333, but you can generally tighten the timings to compensate. ;)

So I have 8 GB of Mushkin DDR3-1600 (7-7-6-18), which is running at 1066. I have the latest Bios for my mobo (MSI GD-70). How exactly do I get it to it's actually timing and stepping? I up the memory voltage? I'm befuddled on this whole thing.
 

MushkinSean

Mushkin Rep
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
#14
Set up your BIOS like this,

Advanced DRAM Configuration
DRAM Timing Mode: Both
TCL: 7
TRCD: 7
TRP: 6
TRAS: 18
1T/2T Timing: 2T (try 1T later)
FSB/DRAM Ratio: 1:4
DRAM Voltage: 1.85V - 1.90V

If experiencing instability increase the CPU-NB VDD Voltage to 1.25V - 1.30V

If your IMC still won't co-operate at DDR3-1600 try this

Advanced DRAM Configuration
DRAM Timing Mode: Both
TCL: 6
TRCD: 6
TRP: 6
TRAS: 18
1T/2T Timing: 1T
FSB/DRAM Ratio: 1:3.33
DRAM Voltage: 1.85V - 1.90V
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#15
Set up your BIOS like this,

Advanced DRAM Configuration
DRAM Timing Mode: Both
TCL: 7
TRCD: 7
TRP: 6
TRAS: 18
1T/2T Timing: 2T (try 1T later)
FSB/DRAM Ratio: 1:4
DRAM Voltage: 1.85V - 1.90V

If experiencing instability increase the CPU-NB VDD Voltage to 1.25V - 1.30V

If your IMC still won't co-operate at DDR3-1600 try this

Advanced DRAM Configuration
DRAM Timing Mode: Both
TCL: 6
TRCD: 6
TRP: 6
TRAS: 18
1T/2T Timing: 1T
FSB/DRAM Ratio: 1:3.33
DRAM Voltage: 1.85V - 1.90V
Thanks I will try it out when I get home tonight. Appreciate the response!