• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Athlon II X3 425 2.70 GHz

Omega

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Likes
145
Location
Sibenik - Croatia
#1
AMD's Athlon II X3 425 offers all the features of the of the more expensive Quad Cores, and you can potentially unlock the fourth core. Being priced at only $79 it creates tough competition for Intel in this segment, but also for AMD who has a number of other processors in this market. Even though it lacks the L3 cache it still offers decent performance, especially considering its price.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
608 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
Location
São Paulo - SP - Brasil
Processor Q6600 @3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 8gb Crucial Red Tracer
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD 4850 512
Storage Seagate 160GB 7200.11 / 320GB 7200.10 / 500GB 7200.11 / 1TB 7200.12
Display(s) 17" AOC
Audio Device(s) ESI Julia -> Zero DaC -> Senn HD650
Power Supply 550W Seven team
#2
Nice review! You really made my mind going back to AMD with your sempron 140 review.
I found a little typo on the end of the article: on conclusion
".... are the weakest points of the Athlon II X4 425. With stock...."
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#3
AMD is hitting on all cylinders and flooding the market. Good and bad. Bad because they are having prices hit close to home in all sectors from Quads to Tris to Duals. Good because this influx of cash should help them to get a better hold on the high end sector and maybe help them release the 32nm procs before 2011.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
608 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
Location
São Paulo - SP - Brasil
Processor Q6600 @3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 8gb Crucial Red Tracer
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD 4850 512
Storage Seagate 160GB 7200.11 / 320GB 7200.10 / 500GB 7200.11 / 1TB 7200.12
Display(s) 17" AOC
Audio Device(s) ESI Julia -> Zero DaC -> Senn HD650
Power Supply 550W Seven team
#4
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#5
Good review.

AMD really seems to be kicking some ass on the low end. Quad core for $100, Tri core for $80 Dual for $60. Pretty much undercuts all of Intel's Wolfdale stuff.

I'm a bit concerned about AMD having too many models. There's the Athlon X2, X3, X4, and then Phenom X2, X3, X4. That's not so bad, but what makes it confusing is when they overlap. If I have $100, do I get a dual core with L3, a Quad core with no L3, or a Tri Core with L3? IMO, the Athlon X4 should cost the same as a Phenom X3 and there should not be a Phenom X2. Then that leads to the question of how much the L3 actually helps. I noticed that the X 435 pretty much performes the same as a X3 710. Yes there are a couple of exceptions, but in general, it seems to me that the $$ spent jumping to a Phenom version isn't worth it. The Athlon version with no L3 cache seems to get 90% of the performance for less than 90% of the price. But in the big picture, we're only talking a few dollars here... AMD's prices only range about $100 from top to bottom. (only talking low end stuff here)

I don't mean to sound Anti-AMD. :eek: I think they have completely dominated the under-$150 market.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#6
just a quick question. Are all the chips that AMD uses, from Phenom II x2-x4, athlong II x2-x4, using the same core with just defects or disabled parts, besides the Phenom II x4? If so then i think it explains really well why they are and can flood the market. All their chips are getting used except for the utmost faulty die's. great for them and great for us or at least the tech savy us that know the difference between all the diff chips AMD has out.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#7
No. Phenom chips use one die ,Deneb, which is a quad core chip and all other Phenom models are derived from this. Athlon chips use a different die, Propus, which is quad core with no L3 cache. The Athlon X4 and X3's are based on this. Finally the Athlon II chips and Sempron stuff uses a dual Core die, called Regor.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#8
so same core for all athlons then a different one for all Phenom II's? with just disabled parts and whatnot? still very efficient way for AMD to make use of its resources and die's. I'd wonder why Intel doesn't do the same but then they're the rich kids of the hardware industry.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#9
Well, they do. They have the Wolfdale Core. E8x00 series. Disable some cache, you get the E7x00 series. Disable more cache, you get the E5x00 series.

Intel has 3 major cores: Wolfdale, Lynnfield, Bloomfield. Nearly all of their chips are some deritive of these three cores. (I may be forgetting some)
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#10
true, i'd forgotten about the c2d series all being based on wolfdale now.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.99/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#11
dugg
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
East Yorkshire
System Name Box
Processor AMD 720BE @ 3700MHz 1.4v
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 (I know I've had it years but it just works)
Memory Corsair 4 x 2Gb (8Gb DDR2)
Video Card(s) ATI HD4850 512Mb
Storage Samsung F3 1TB OS, Samsung F3 1TB Media
Display(s) 22" Belinea 1680 x 1050
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 (dusty)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550w
Software Windows 7-64
Benchmark Scores 8669 in Overdrive 3.0.2
#12
AMD CPU's

Ok - it's good that AMD are trying their hardest to cross every box - but this doesn't make it any easier for you or I to buy these things - I mean incremental performance differences for just a few pounds difference? I suppose they want the box shifter market back from Intel - it does make a difference if you're buying 1000 CPU's...

Am interested in the new X4 Phenom II 965 with a lower TDP tho - that's a good idea - discontinuing an existing model and replacing with a better performing (have to wait for the tests) and better power consumpting...

Still, I've got a X3 720 which I'm not gonna upgrade until January / Feb - lets see what six cores can do!
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#13
Do these tri core Athlons use DDR2 800 properly in an AM2+ board? Saw a few going cheap on fleabay but the CPU-world pages say the memory controllers are 667MHz :(
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#15
This says otherwise though :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro

Omega

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Likes
145
Location
Sibenik - Croatia
#17
667 MHz is the actual frequency, but since today's memory is double data rade (DDR) it reads and writes data in one clock, so the effective clock is doubled to 1333 MHz.

So the number you see there is actually for max. DDR3 memory clock support. For 1066 MHz DDR2 you would see 533 MHz support there
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#18
667 MHz is the actual frequency, but since today's memory is double data rade (DDR) it reads and writes data in one clock, so the effective clock is doubled to 1333 MHz.

So the number you see there is actually for max. DDR3 memory clock support. For 1066 MHz DDR2 you would see 533 MHz support there
Get ya now; I assumed 667MHz MEANT 667 as in DDR2 667 :wtf: I didn't know recent Athlons/ Phenoms could do 1333MHz but I guess that's AM3 then :respect:
 

caamsa

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
I got the X3 425 and was able to unlock the 4th core and the L3 cache, but I was lucky. Not bad for a $76.00 chip. It seemed to work ok but when I went to turn the computer on one day I had to hit the power button a couple times to get it to boot. Not sure what that was all about so I set it back to stock. Anyway I am happy with my cpu and if you look at the benchmarks it is not all that great overclocked anyway so I might as well keep it stock. My MB is a ASRock A780GXH/128M and that allowed me to recycle my DDR2 memory so at 148.00 for the CPU and MB I would say that is a good cheap upgrade. ;-)