• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD/ATI ATIFlash - flashing questions

Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I want to edit my RX580 Device ID with the ID of a WX7100.
In the help of DOS version of atiflash, I see the following:
Code:
-mi <Num> [ID]          Modify SSID & SVID in BIOS image of adapter <Num> to
                        <ID>.  SSID & SVID in BIOS image of adapter <Num> is
                        displayed if [ID] is not specified.
-mb <Num> <File>        Modify SSID, SVID, BIOS Pin Number, & Boot Message in
                        BIOS image of adapter <Num> to values in <filename>.
                        Input file example:
                           ssid = 715B
                           svid = 1002
                           biospn = "113-xxxxxx-xx"
                           bootmsg = "AMD graphic board"

-isr <Num> <Build Number> <Board Number>  Set ISR number based on the given
                                          build and board number
                                          if not specified, print out ISR Number
-prod <Num> <12 digit serial number>      Set PROD number based
                                          on the given serial number
                                          if not specified, print out SN Number
-checkprodsn <Num> <12 Digit Serial Number>  Comparing the Prod SN based on
                                             existing prod sn saved in ROM
Firstly, I guess that the SSID is not the DeviceID? How do I change that?
Secondly, can someone explain what's up with the ISR number?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,151 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,325
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
239 (2.23/day)
Likes
73
System Name Custom Build/M6700/Clevo P870TM1/Dell T3600/Clevo P377SMA
Processor i7 8700K/i7 3920XM/i7 8700k/E5 2658/i7 4930MX
Motherboard Z370 MSI Gaming/M6700/Z370 Clevo/C600 Dell/HM87 Clevo
Cooling EVGA AIO/ Built in heatsinks
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 1080 ti/980M/1080 SLI/R9 Fury X/1070 SLI
Storage 500GB SSD RAID0 500GB HDD RAID 0 & 1.5TB HHD/500GB SSD & 1TB HDD/250GB SSD/500GB HDD
Display(s) 1080p 144HZ/1080p 120HZ & 1080P 60HZ & 1200P 75HZ/1440P 120HZ/720p 60HZ/1080P 120hz
Case H500/Laptop/Laptop/OEM Dell/Laptop
Power Supply 750W/240W/330Wx2/500W/330x2
#3
I know people who've flashed RX 480 VBIOS to the mobile WX7100 so it should be compatible?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,151 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,325
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
That's the same BIOS and, based on the ID numbers cross-checked against RadronPro ccc2_install.xml file, it seems that is a laptop version. If I had a desktop version, it wold be nice.

What I did until now (and didn't work) - I have hex edited the ID numbers in my stock BIOS (there are two BIOS portions, one legacy, one UEFI). During the search in the BIOS, my ID appeared in three places (reversed endian). I calculated and applied the new checksum. I even edited the name (RX580 is in clear).

After boot, Windows and gpu-z are still showing the card as RX580. So that's somewhere else.
I know that nvidia added also hardware straps for ID's (resistors soldered on the back) on Maxwell (or newer) cards: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/
Wonder if AMD did the same for their Radeon RX5xx gen cards?

PS: I had as backup card an older ATI HD 8450 (Caicos, TerraScale 2) gen card in a secondary slot, to be able to recover-flash if anything went wrong.
Works well with generic MS drivers, in combo with CGN and AMD drivers, but if you try to add AMD TerraScale 2 drivers with the GCN ones it will mess up your Windows! I have to recover the drive, and even after that the profile was corrupted, had to delete it from registry.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,151 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,325
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
103 (9.36/day)
Likes
43
System Name SALTY
Processor A10-5800K
Motherboard A75
Cooling Air
Memory 10Gig DDR133
Video Card(s) Zotac OC 1050Ti (twin fan)
Storage HDD
Display(s) 4k HDR TV
Power Supply 320 Watt
#7
I want to edit my RX580 Device ID with the ID of a WX7100
doesn't the WX 7100 need use/access to ECC ram ? I'm sure I read some was trying to do same thing but was having stability issues, gave up and flashed it back to rx580 sure it was due to ASIC quality difference between the rx580 and WX 7100 and think they said something to do with ECC ram (not sure if they mean on card or in system) needed for some of the types of software critical app's the card was made for? not sure if any of that is correct though lol so just asking
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
103 (9.36/day)
Likes
43
System Name SALTY
Processor A10-5800K
Motherboard A75
Cooling Air
Memory 10Gig DDR133
Video Card(s) Zotac OC 1050Ti (twin fan)
Storage HDD
Display(s) 4k HDR TV
Power Supply 320 Watt
#9
No ECC on the WX7100, basically it's the same card like RX580, lower clocked:
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-radeon-pro-wx-7100,4896.html
hmm maybe they mean, recommend ECC ram for the system, to run certain apps for the drivers of the wx7100 ?, the long and short of it from what I could make out is the WX7100 is higher quality silicon and its higher clocked and more reliable.

I see if I can find were I was reading it

have a read on here may help figure something out
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/67grz3
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,627 (1.79/day)
Likes
2,001
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V ,Ttevo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1 ,FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 ,Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb 2933@16, @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK,
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic ,Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi, Corsair ax1200
Mouse CM optane, no comment bad
Keyboard CM optane, asus but the worst free membrane one.
Software Win 10 Pro ,same
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 7703vega 3dmark timespy
#10

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,151 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,325
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
I may have to try that:) see if I can get a gpu installed on server2016 ,cheers , how are you both thinking its mobile though , it's top clock is 1243 and it looks clock for clock like it should for the wx7100 afaik.?
Im not thinking its mobile, thats the only 1 in our database
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
103 (9.36/day)
Likes
43
System Name SALTY
Processor A10-5800K
Motherboard A75
Cooling Air
Memory 10Gig DDR133
Video Card(s) Zotac OC 1050Ti (twin fan)
Storage HDD
Display(s) 4k HDR TV
Power Supply 320 Watt
#13
GDDR5 is ECC memory. Both cards have it.

And that ROM linked above is NOT for a WX 7100 Mobile. It has the device ID of the desktop version(1002 67C4). The device ID for the mobile version is 1002 67C0.
didn't know that ?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,971 (1.46/day)
Likes
1,625
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#14

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,151 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,325
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
GDDR5 is ECC memory. Both cards have it.

And that ROM linked above is NOT for a WX 7100 Mobile. It has the device ID of the desktop version(1002 67C4). The device ID for the mobile version is 1002 67C0.
Yeah I got to learn how to read device IDs a little bit better to expand my knowledge of it all because eventually I will be doing bios modifications myself
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
Download the AMD RadeonPro drivers and expand them with 7zip.
In the "Config" folder you will find the file "ccc2_install.xml". Open with an editor (notepad) and search for:
Device Id: 1002 67C4
Subsystem Id: 1002 0B0D
You won't find anything.

Search only for the 67C4. The devices with Device Id 1002 67C4 are either "Ellesmere Mobile GL XT" or, if they are, "Ellesmere Desktop GL XT" are marked as "AMD Radeon(TM) Pro Duo".

But search for the desktop WX 7100 Graphics and you will see they have only the Device ID: 1002 67C7 See the screen capture below.

PS: And no, EDC is not the same as ECC. EDC insures the data integrity on the chip (die) itself, while ECC is realized between chips, organized as a word, requiring an extra memory to hold the parity bit. Like instead of eight memory chips, you have nine soldered on board. Plus a separate controller to calculate the parity.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECC_memory
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top