• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD/ATI Radeon HD 6770M wont show bios in GPU-Z and wont be recognized in win 10

MojArch

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
5 (0.45/day)
Hi
after long time in Linux (around 10-11 year) i recently installed windows on my HP Pavilion DV6-6199ee to play some games in STEAM after a clean install on brand new SSD and necessary drivers as the thread title says i can't see bios version in GPU-Z and the GPU is not even recognized by windows!
here are some screen-shots for better view of problem
also sorry for bad English not a native speaker!
123055


123056


123057


123058


123059


123060


123061


123062

as you can see there is only intel HD 3000 no sign of Radeon HD 6770M
any idea?
thnx
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can try to install the switchable AMD/Intel graphics driver from their site here, its for Windows 7 but I believe the driver will work in Windows 10
 

MojArch

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
5 (0.45/day)
You can try to install the switchable AMD/Intel graphics driver from their site here, its for Windows 7 but I believe the driver will work in Windows 10
i already tested it had error like "system did not meets minimum requirements" or STH like that
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
i already tested it had error like "system did not meets minimum requirements" or STH like that
I see, my guess is you need to find driver that recognize both the integrated graphics and the dedicated graphics. You could try following this instructions below. Simply said, download and install latest Intel HD 3000 driver first, then you install the AMD graphics driver.
 

MojArch

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
5 (0.45/day)
I see, my guess is you need to find driver that recognize both the integrated graphics and the dedicated graphics. You could try following this instructions below. Simply said, download and install latest Intel HD 3000 driver first, then you install the AMD graphics driver.
thnx
i probably gonna reinstall windows and than use this guide to see if things works or not!(ps: if i use that rendering thingy in gpu-z it would show that my dGPU is loaded but the numbers are really low, here is a screen shot)

123085

this is when it is under load
123086

no load!
also i am not sure but all this might be GPU-Z misreadings cause i see different numbers for ROPs/TMUs which is really confusing)
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can try to force install the HP driver manually via Device manager if you know how to do it. The video below is the simple instructions on how do do it. Its for LAN driver but it should applies to Display adapters too. Extract the driver first to where you can easily pinpoint like desktop or root of C drive. I hope you find the solution.
 

MojArch

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
5 (0.45/day)
You can try to force install the HP driver manually via Device manager if you know how to do it. The video below is the simple instructions on how do do it. Its for LAN driver but it should applies to Display adapters too. Extract the driver first to where you can easily pinpoint like desktop or root of C drive. I hope you find the solution.
thnx but i tested it before and nothing!
interestingly i did disabled my HD3000 iGPU and this came on!
123115

note: the error in note section is just because i disabled HD 3000 iGPU!
and still no sign of bios in GPU-Z
i started to think there might be HW problem but it was all good in linux!
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
457 (0.10/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
thnx but i tested it before and nothing!
interestingly i did disabled my HD3000 iGPU and this came on!

note: the error in note section is just because i disabled HD 3000 iGPU!
and still no sign of bios in GPU-Z
i started to think there might be HW problem but it was all good in linux!
Usually the VBIOS in laptops is included with the motherboard BIOS if I'm not mistaken. Can you show me your device manager's display tab? Does it shows two display adapters or only one?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
184 (0.17/day)
System Name Baxter
Processor Intel i7-5775C @ 4.2 GHz 1.34 V
Motherboard AsRock Z97-E ITX/AC
Cooling be Quiet! Shadow Rock LP with Noctua NF-A12 fan
Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz HyperX Savage DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X 8G @ 1949 MHz
Storage Samsung 500 GB 850 Evo and 4TB Toshiba 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) Vizio P65-F1 4KTV
Case Raijintek Ophion
Audio Device(s) HDMI BABY
Power Supply Siverstone SX500-LG 500W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G613
When I had a 6770m laptop with Windows 10 and switchable graphics, I used these drivers to great success. 50% speed increase from the dated HP drivers that stopped getting updated pretty quickly:


You have to disable automatic driver updates, though, or Windows Update will continually change the Intel drivers or AMD drivers or both to the "newest" ones that of course don't allow switching. Also, I last tried this 3 years ago, it's possible the LTS version isn't supported any more. Good luck!
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (4.27/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Where all chipset drivers installed?
 
Top