• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Barcelona/Agena FX' TDP is 95W

Bastieeeh

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
459 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Germany
Processor Dual Xeon 2.8GHz
Motherboard Asus PCH-DL
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS XP and Dual Laing
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800XT
Storage 8x Hitachi 7K250 Raid 5 and 2x WD Raptor74GB Raid 0
Display(s) Eizo 21" FlexScan T966 CRT and S1910 LCD
Case Lian Li PC-V2100B
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Tagan 480W TG480-U01
#1
The soon to be released next CPU architecture named K10 was x-rayed a while ago. We know that the K10 won't hit the 3GHz mark, it will come in all flavors from 2.1GHz all the way up to 2.9GHz. What we missed there, and what AMD didn't let out of their labs yet, was a corresponding heat dissipation figure. Now as Fudzilla.com acts like their silent megaphone they tell the public that 95W will be the maximum TDP for Barcelona and Agena FX. That is quite low for a real quad-core CPU, and sounds very promising in terms of overclocking achievements.

Show full news post
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#2
I hope AMD can at least match Intel's performance per-clock, even if these new parts dont clock as far. Lower power draw and equal performance would sway larger orders to AMD, companies trying to save power.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#3
At 95W Barcelona won't be that interesting compared to some Clovertown LV's, unless it outperforms them by very high percentages.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
I think the results will be comparible with the current gen Intel quad core.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
Still an improvement over the current gen wouldn't you say?
My point is that Barcelona needs to be either very fast or really cheap to take on current generation Clovertowns. Specially with the 1600MHz and 45nm parts coming soon as well.
Barcelona might just end up as too little too late.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
We'll have to just wait and see, won't we. Hopefully the haven't missed the boat this time. They already missed it with the lengthy delays with the R600.
 

Bastieeeh

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
459 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Germany
Processor Dual Xeon 2.8GHz
Motherboard Asus PCH-DL
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS XP and Dual Laing
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800XT
Storage 8x Hitachi 7K250 Raid 5 and 2x WD Raptor74GB Raid 0
Display(s) Eizo 21" FlexScan T966 CRT and S1910 LCD
Case Lian Li PC-V2100B
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Tagan 480W TG480-U01
#9
The Low Voltage Clovertowns that have a TDP of 50W come in only two flavors. The L5320 which runs at 1.86 GHz and the L5310 which runs at a slower 1.6 GHz. I think they are in no way competitive when compared to the fastest Barcelonas, at least not from the performance perspective. Though the LV Xeons draw less power but that's another thing...
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#10
Its all about pricing.
Now if AMD didnt have as strong as a Quad Core, but priced it right it will be a success.
It would be kewl to have a mainstream Quad Core after all :)
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
That it would be mate, I agree with you there.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#12
The Low Voltage Clovertowns that have a TDP of 50W come in only two flavors. The L5320 which runs at 1.86 GHz and the L5310 which runs at a slower 1.6 GHz. I think they are in no way competitive when compared to the fastest Barcelonas, at least not from the performance perspective. Though the LV Xeons draw less power but that's another thing...
a 1.86ghz Core 2 Based Quad CPU will still outperform the Barcelonas @ ~2.5ghz imo. That's assuming that AMD havn't made any major changes to the architecture of their cpu's.

I'm getting this rough figure by the way current Core 2 Duo's compete with current AMD Athlon X2 cpu's in benchmarks. A Core 2 Duo e6400 (2mb L2) @ stock 2.13ghz will quite happily outperform an Athlon X2 @ ~3ghz in a lot of benchmarks.

Another thing to put into the equation is the immense amount of L2 Cache the Clovertows have (8Mb L2).

EDIT: Plz no-one else quote this... i regret this post enough already.
 
Last edited:

kureng

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 5000 BE OCed 3.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI K9A2 CF A790X
Cooling CoolerMaster Gemin II
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS2 6400C4 DDR2 OCed 1000Mhz CL 4-4-4-13
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD3870 ICEQ3 512MB GDDR4
Storage WD 500GB SATA2, Seagate 250GB SATA2, Seagate 160GB SATA2
Display(s) Viewsonic LCD 17inch
Case CoolerMaster RC-690
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition ALC888
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86 SP1
#13
Its all about pricing.
Now if AMD didnt have as strong as a Quad Core, but priced it right it will be a success.
It would be kewl to have a mainstream Quad Core after all :)
i agree with that! if the performance is almost equivalent to Intel's quad-core, plus the price of AMD much lower... then, most users may buy AMD's quad core....
 

ryboto

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
289 (0.06/day)
Likes
4
Processor Opteron 170 [2.8ghz@1.4v|1.25ghz@1.025v]
Motherboard Abit AT8 32x
Cooling HR-03, TR Ultra-120, 3xScythe S-Flex
Memory 2gb Crucial Ballistix PC4000
Video Card(s) Ati Radeon X1950 pro
Storage 150 GB WD Raptor/500GB WD
Display(s) Acer AL2032WA 20'' Widescreen LCD
Case Lian Li PC-A05b
Audio Device(s) On board Audio/Plantronics USB Headset
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker EG495AX-VE 485W
Software Windows XP SP2 bblean shell/Ubuntu
#14
a 1.86ghz Core 2 Based Quad CPU will still outperform the Barcelonas @ ~2.5ghz imo. That's assuming that AMD havn't made any major changes to the architecture of their cpu's.

I'm getting this rough figure by the way current Core 2 Duo's compete with current AMD Athlon X2 cpu's in benchmarks. A Core 2 Duo e6400 (2mb L2) @ stock 2.13ghz will quite happily outperform an Athlon X2 @ ~3ghz.

Another thing to put into the equation is the immense amount of L2 Cache the Clovertows have (8Mb L2).
You're assuming that Barcelona is just two K8's on the same die? Have you read anything about Barcelona yet? It's similar to K8, with MAJOR improvements. so, your opinion, while not yet verified by benchmarks, is more than likely wrong.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#15
Yeah, i suppose everything's speculation atm. It will certainly be very interesting to see how it compares when it is eventually released.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#16
i agree with that! if the performance is almost equivalent to Intel's quad-core, plus the price of AMD much lower... then, most users may buy AMD's quad core....
Funny thing though is that Barcelona and Clovertown aren't aimed at the desktop market, therefor it isn't really important what the CPU's cost, customers look at a complete server/workstation. So unless AMD is giving Barcelona away for free a slight difference in pricing won't matter. Barcelona won't be "much" cheaper, not initially anyway. In fact I doubt AMD could sell them as cheap as the Clovertowns will be in July or they would lose money.

I really have my doubts about Barcelona.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#17
Intel is in a great position right now... while AMD is struggling to produce a 65nm processor that tries to compete with the 65nm Conroe, Intel has multiple fabs getting ready to produce 45nm processors. And with AMD being bogged down with ATi's stuff, they're really losing a lot of potential customers. Hopefully the new AMD processors are a big enough threat to Intel that it'll warrant some more price cuts :D
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
299 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
virginia, usa
System Name Fun fun fun.
Processor 6700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 970
Storage M550 512gb, WD SE 2tb, etc.
Display(s) Dell U2415
Case Corsair 750D Airflow edition.
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
#18
a 1.86ghz Core 2 Based Quad CPU will still outperform the Barcelonas @ ~2.5ghz imo. That's assuming that AMD havn't made any major changes to the architecture of their cpu's.

I'm getting this rough figure by the way current Core 2 Duo's compete with current AMD Athlon X2 cpu's in benchmarks. A Core 2 Duo e6400 (2mb L2) @ stock 2.13ghz will quite happily outperform an Athlon X2 @ ~3ghz.

Another thing to put into the equation is the immense amount of L2 Cache the Clovertows have (8Mb L2).
AMD has tweaked just about everything when it comes to changes between K8 and K10.

A 3 GHz Dual core AMD wins some and loses some benchmarks when compared with an E6600. Get your facts straight.

More L2 cache on Intel processors will be nice.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#19
I think you should prove me wrong.

And it's the AMD's that need more L2... although more L2 cache isn't a bad thing for any processor.

BTW...

"Get your facts straight" isn't necessarily a good thing to say to someone who 1. Knows thier shit, and 2. Has the ability to ban you. (Even if i am wrong on the odd occation, no-one's perfect)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
299 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
virginia, usa
System Name Fun fun fun.
Processor 6700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 970
Storage M550 512gb, WD SE 2tb, etc.
Display(s) Dell U2415
Case Corsair 750D Airflow edition.
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
#20
I think you should prove me wrong.

And it's the AMD's that need more L2... although more L2 cache isn't a bad thing for any processor.

BTW...

"Get your facts straight" isn't necessarily a good thing to say to someone who 1. Knows thier shit, and 2. Has the ability to ban you. (Even if i am wrong on the odd occation, no-one's perfect)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K8L#Characteristics_of_the_microarchitecture

A list of what they've changed, as well as more information.

Extra L2 cache on AMD's don't have nearly as large of an effect as it does with an Intel processor. Though, you should know that.

Threatening to abuse your mod power. Nice.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#21
I'll abuse my power as much as i want, although i prefer not to, so lets drop it.

Good info on the architecture changes, i'll freely admit that i didn't know that.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,749 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
a 1.86ghz Core 2 Based Quad CPU will still outperform the Barcelonas @ ~2.5ghz imo. That's assuming that AMD havn't made any major changes to the architecture of their cpu's.

I'm getting this rough figure by the way current Core 2 Duo's compete with current AMD Athlon X2 cpu's in benchmarks. A Core 2 Duo e6400 (2mb L2) @ stock 2.13ghz will quite happily outperform an Athlon X2 @ ~3ghz.

Another thing to put into the equation is the immense amount of L2 Cache the Clovertows have (8Mb L2).
When you say that the E6400 at stock will out perform an athlon x2 at 3Gig, I think you will find in many benches thats not the case, compare the 6000+ that stocks at 3Gig in most games and it beats not only the 6400 but also the 6600 at stock in some. Even in some of the CPU tests in 3D Mark 2006 the 6000 betters the 6600.

I do appreciate that the 6400 is cheaper and there is no doubt in my mind its a MUCH better all rounder (and will be faster in Integer and FP etc) and is a better overclocker but at stock there are still 3 or 4 stocked AMD's out there that can compete. (6000 and FX70 upwards).

http://techreport.com/reviews/2007q1/cpus/index.x?pg=3

Edit: sorry, didnt notice the couple of posts above, dont like to repeat stuff!
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
299 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
virginia, usa
System Name Fun fun fun.
Processor 6700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 970
Storage M550 512gb, WD SE 2tb, etc.
Display(s) Dell U2415
Case Corsair 750D Airflow edition.
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
#23
I'll abuse my power as much as i want, although i prefer not to, so lets drop it.

Good info on the architecture changes, i'll freely admit that i didn't know that.
Well, I suppose I just pay a lot of attention to the news. The one thing i'm actually interested in haha.

just to point something out while posting in this thread...

the higher clocked Barcelona/FX chips are going to have a 120w TDP...at least that is what i've read just about everywhere.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,102 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#24
lol usual banter i see, we'll have to see how barcelon fares, they abandoned the cache war as they simply can't compete there, so lets hope the architecture is enought to overcome the difference.

and its interesting to note that intels conroes dont punish amds so much in newer apps as they do in older ones, makes one wonder how well conroe will do in dx10 we are talking a completely revised tualatin, but perhaps some of the old architecture wont fare so well in wholly bloated apps.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#25
95TDP is amazing for a quad core. Unless you go ULV, Intels arent even that cool. Nice move on AMD and Im sure easier for OCING with nice gains.

A thing on this L2 caches. Since AMD has the HTT and its integrated on die (memory controller) the need for L2 cache isnt really as high. do to this fact, you probably wont see much on the L2 cache from AMD for awhile if ever. The fact that Intel is changing to an On die memory controller should tell you all something about that. By then, I suspect Intel to throttle down on their cache levels a good bit.