• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Catalyst 14.1 Beta 1.6 Posted

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,333 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Here it is, the first public beta of AMD Catalyst 14.1, featuring Mantle, AMD's 3D graphics API designed to rival Direct3D and OpenGL. The driver enables the Mantle renderer on Battlefield 4, which is known to enhance performance on certain GPUs based on AMD's Graphics CoreNext micro-architecture. The driver can't be installed as an upgrade to an existing driver, which must be cleanly uninstalled first. In addition to Mantle, Catalyst 14.1 beta resolves rendering issues on a boat-load of games.

Show full news post
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
63 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Self build
Processor I7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Cooling Corsair Hydro H110 280mm
Memory Corsair CML16GX3M2A1600C10 Vengeance Low Profile 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 Mhz CL10 XMP
Video Card(s) Intel onboard
Storage Samsung evo 500gb ssd
Display(s) 40" Philips 4k monitor
Case Silent base 800
Audio Device(s) External Yamaha receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Logitech g600
Keyboard Thermal take
Software Ms 10 pro
Benchmark Scores God knows
#2
I just installed I cant see the difference
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,822
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#4
running bf4 in 2560x1440 ultra now where it was high before, Thanks Obama!
Way off topic, when is the 290x Lightning coming out Neliz?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
772
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#7
Doesent work for me....r9 270X still at 100% and no more frames !!!!
I didn't see the R9 270X in their support list unfortunately, which is weird because that is where the sweet spot for price/performance is. What are they thinking, is AMD dumb?

I'll check how Mantle runs after I get home in a few hours, hopefully it will have increased my frames with my setup. I want to start using more than 100% resolution scaling at a playable FPS. I'm sure it'll look amazing :)
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
I didn't see the R9 270X in their support list unfortunately, which is weird because that is where the sweet spot for price/performance is. What are they thinking, is AMD dumb?

I'll check how Mantle runs after I get home in a few hours, hopefully it will have increased my frames with my setup. I want to start using more than 100% resolution scaling at a playable FPS. I'm sure it'll look amazing :)

In the video settings i can activate the Mantle but nothing happends 2 the Performance !!!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#9
Doesent work for me....r9 270X still at 100% and no more frames !!!!
In the video settings i can activate the Mantle but nothing happends 2 the Performance !!!
Every single article about Mantle has talked about only the 260/290's supporting Mantle right now, and it's also one of the bullet points above, so what were you expecting?
Mantle performance for the AMD Radeon HD 7000/HD 8000 Series GPUs and AMD Radeon R9 280X and R9 270X GPUs will be optimized for BattleField 4 in future AMD Catalyst releases. These products will see limited gains in BattleField 4 and AMD is currently investigating optimizations for them.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
AMD Mantle Beta driver is currently supported on:
  • AMD Radeon R9 Series GPUs
  • AMD Radeon R7 Series GPUs
  • AMD Radeon HD 7000 Series GPUs
  • AMD Radeon HD 8000 Series GPUs
  • AMD A10-7000 Series and AMD A8-7000 Series APUs

so my R9 270x is in the list...maybe newer driver´s wil fix it
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#12
Those drivers broke my Crossfire again in AC4, Counterstrike and SWTOR. But now in SWTOR there is no more flickering during cut scenes...
So in each driver release you gain some, you loose some. Typical AMD...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
Those drivers broke my Crossfire again in AC4, Counterstrike and SWTOR. But now in SWTOR there is no more flickering during cut scenes...
So in each driver release you gain some, you loose some. Typical AMD...
I'm pretty sure that when they're fixing drivers, they care a bit more about modern cards than yours and mine. Plus, I don't think AMD is very serious about fixing much of anything on 5000-series cards considering how out-dated they are. Even my 6870s are getting there so I don't expect them to invest a ton of time in making sure it works just as good as the latest hardware that is out.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#14
They are only 3 years old man. Do you think 3 years are ancient times? :)) Windows 7 was released almost 4 years ago. Does it mean is ancient, and MS should start providing support for it?? =)) We are talking about AMD, no some shitty companies. A company with budget in the billions you'd think they they'd provide better support for their customers, don't you?
Besides, as far as I can tell, nVidia is still providing full time support for the 4xx series. ;)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
147 (0.08/day)
Likes
34
#15
Those drivers broke my Crossfire again in AC4, Counterstrike and SWTOR. But now in SWTOR there is no more flickering during cut scenes...
So in each driver release you gain some, you loose some. Typical AMD...
you don't seem to grasp the concept of "beta"

of course if this happened on a final release i would agree with you but being clearly a very experimental beta it is supposed to create troubles
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
They are only 3 years old man. Do you think 3 years are ancient times? :)) Windows 7 was released almost 4 years ago. Does it mean is ancient, and MS should start providing support for it?? =)) We are talking about AMD, no some shitty companies. A company with budget in the billions you'd think they they'd provide better support for their customers, don't you?
Besides, as far as I can tell, nVidia is still providing full time support for the 4xx series. ;)
Haha. Very funny. I think you forgot that 5000-series was released on Sept. 10, 2009 and the 5850 was released on the 30th. That was 5 years ago, not 3. You may have picked up your GPUs 3 years ago, but that's not how old they are. 5000-series are also the oldest series still supported by AMD's latest drivers and probably for good reason. nVidia's 400-series cards came out almost half a year later than AMD's 5000-series as well.

Also nVidia "supports" 8000-series cards on the current driver. That doesn't mean they work flawlessly. :shadedshu:

Downloaded them, when trying to get into bf4 options, the game crashes...
Did you take this into account? Next time, you might want to read the entire post. ;)

If Battlefield 4 crashes as soon as you go to options, disable your integrated graphics in BIOS or device manager.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,370 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
Works fine in the Star Swarm Benchmark. Bring on Thief!
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
614 (0.31/day)
Likes
357
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#19
Those drivers broke my Crossfire again in AC4, Counterstrike and SWTOR. But now in SWTOR there is no more flickering during cut scenes...
So in each driver release you gain some, you loose some. Typical AMD...
Just like the BF4 patches for me. Dude it is a Beta driver, what did you expect? Flawless & a pie? Give them some time as it does state many times crossfire is buggy with this Mantle driver.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
can someone tell me why this beta driver doesnt work flawlessly please? I dont understand it was delayed alot and released 6 hours ago. Someone help please.

on a side not WOOHOO!!
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#21
Why should a beta driver that enables Mantle break other games that don't even use mantle? I see this all the time on both nvidia and amd driver posts. I am using the latest driver on a GPU that is 4 years old and never had issues these guys always have. I have used the drivers that should have crashed every 5 minutes, that should have burned my card and none of this happened.
I honestly see this Mantle thing as a bit of fail, too much time has passed since it was announced and probably nvidia started desingning something like that too, and it will end up in a clash and both will go down forgotten in a few years, like physx which noone uses since its proprietary to nvidia. I wonder if it would have been a wiser decision to release mantle on the consoles, amd has monopoly there and it would have been more of an advantage to unifiy the two platforms for devs, and the hardware would have profitted lot from that. It is really a niche market who can really profit from mantle as it is now. People who will be able to play a game they couldn' t play before on a low end machine need this, not people who have 290X CFX in their pc and are happy to see their bench scores rise or in this case their FPS in certain games, when it was already playable for them. That is not the mass market.
The mass market would be the APUs, but those either don't support this tech or aren't financially viable yet(at least in my country the new gen is too expensive). They should have released this when it was final,not beta that is still rough and causing issues because it was rushed not to be delayed even more and they already had quite a few titles out that support it to appeal to more people and possibly not just games, media player software or graphics design software too.
OpenGL is still here every GPU supports the recent versions, yet the game devs pretty much abandoned it, apart from Valve and a few others. It supports almost everything that DX11 does and more important it is cross platform too, which mantle isn't fully yet. Why should mantle succeed if OpenGL didn't in recent years?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,822
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#22
In case anyone is quoting my post - i deleted it as it wasn't a Mantle graph. :oops:
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2013
Messages
29 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
System Name gaming rig
Processor i5-3570k@ 4.2
Motherboard MSI Z77a GD65 gaming
Cooling stock cooler
Memory kingston hyper-x genesis 2133mhz 4gb
Video Card(s) sapphire hd7950 vapor-x boost @1100/1575
Storage seagate 500gb
Display(s) samsung 22'' LED 1920x1080
Case Cooler master Haf 912 advenced (fan: 200mm 800rpm front intake, 200mm 800rpm top nd 140 mm 1400 rpm
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply corsair cx600v2
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3dmark11 p9530 Gfx score 10566 Physics score 7311 Combined score 7445
#23
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,080 (0.95/day)
Likes
1,157
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
#24
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#25
OpenGL is still here every GPU supports the recent versions, yet the game devs pretty much abandoned it, apart from Valve and a few others. It supports almost everything that DX11 does and more important it is cross platform too, which mantle isn't fully yet. Why should mantle succeed if OpenGL didn't in recent years?
OpenGL nearly killed PC Gaming in the 2000's because is probably farthest from cross-platform you can get, there were so many cases of ports or games that were simply not optimized for ATI/NVIDIA and thus rean at 10fps where the optimized version ran at 100fps.

The beauty of DirectX is that you either support it, or you don't, OpenGL is so incredibly random that you could program something with proprietary NVIDIA intstructions that it would run perfect on a GeForce 610 and it would tank on a GTX 780.

OpenGL requires 3 different versions, the arbitrary Rendering path, a NVIDIA version and an AMD version in order to get decent performance.


edit: Regarding the too high Brightness in Mantle: it's a bug in BF4:
https://twitter.com/repi/status/429985248995467265

Various screenshots already show that there are no rendering errors, it's just their brightness that's off.
 
Last edited: