• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 14.1 Beta 1.6 Posted

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,410 (4.24/day)
Likes
6,322
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#52

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,410 (4.24/day)
Likes
6,322
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#54
I see unfortunately this is only for D3D commands and the structure in which they are stored this has nothing to do with mantle and the performance would not be comparable considering mantle is not d3d. It may be of some use to nvidia but this is a d3d call change that needs to be programmed into the game engine this has nothing to do with drivers or API. this change would also benefit AMD cards but as I said is not the same as mantle.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.40/day)
Likes
163
#55
How it works doesn't really matter to end users like me. With it, the performance difference between D3D and Mantle is much smaller for this demo.

AMD drivers don't support driver command lists. Or didnt, not sure if newer drivers support it now.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#56
These are my d3d results.

Win 8.1 2560x1600 170 res scale full ultra


Win 7 2560x1600 170 res scale full ultra

100 RES SCALE 2560X1600 FULL ULTRA


100 RES SCALE 2560X1600 FULL ULTRA except for 2x aa



Mantle just bsod constantly and ive tried everything for it not to.
I have seen the performance of it @ 200 res scale 2560x1600 for about 3 seconds.
CPU 5ms GPU was 12ms fps was around 145
Then it bsod on me lol
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,995 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,354
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#57
These are my d3d results.

Mantle just bsod constantly and ive tried everything for it not to.
I have seen the performance of it @ 200 res scale 2560x1600 for about 3 seconds.
CPU 5ms GPU was 12ms fps was around 145
Then it bsod on me lol

Disable your integrated GPU in the BIOS. The HD3000, and I would probably make sure you uninstall all your drivers before the new install, including all the drivers that may have been installed for the HD3000 built into the CPU.


In short. RTFM & YMMV.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#58
Disable your integrated GPU in the BIOS. The HD3000, and I would probably make sure you uninstall all your drivers before the new install, including all the drivers that may have been installed for the HD3000 built into the CPU.


In short. RTFM & YMMV.
Its off already I actually tried it with it turned on without much luck.
Ive reset 3x once from scratch and installed everything including windows updates and drivers from scratch once from my unattend usb win 7 I made a few weeks ago with all my drivers and windows updates within the win7.wim file then I tried win 8.1 evaluation copy that's good for 90 days, It made no difference, I used the Display Driver Uninstaller to make sure there is no conflicts aswell.
Ive tried lowering cpu clocks and memory timings,
ive tried changing the different option given in the bios for the pcie express from auto 1 2 and 3 with no effect,
Ive tried putting old drivers in then removing them then putting the beta back in just in case there is a missing dll or library file,
Ive tried running at a lower screen res no effect, Ive tried updating punk buster no effect, Ive tried plugging my fans back into the gfx card in case there is a hidden speed fan profile no effect, ive tried driver booster to check if there is any outdated drivers,ive tried plugging the pc into the tv from the usb port, ive tried disabling the on board audio on the cards ive tried playing that star demo from steam before opening the game in case there there maybe a file no opened when running bf4.Ive tried running in 32 bit mode no effect,ive tried other things but I see this is getting way to long.

Anyone have a idea im all ears thx
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,995 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,354
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#59
If its still happening at stock clocks I would run a few tests on the cards to make sure it is OK before proceeding with anything else. Have you tried a single card?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.88/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#60
Well so far, I've seen a couple of people getting lockups, stutters, bsods, getting stuck at loading etc.

Acceptable since it is still in its early stages handled by AMD's mighty fine driver team and to make things more complex, it is being debut on DICE's half assed BF4.

Luckily, there is a simple flag to just disable Mantle usage for now, and wait for everything to be ironed out:

Open PROFSAVE_profile located in
:\Users\%username%\Documents\Battlefield 4\settings


GstRender.MantleEnabled 1
and change it to
GstRender.MantleEnabled 0
So it is either that or just continue to be a guinea pig.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#61
If its still happening at stock clocks I would run a few tests on the cards to make sure it is OK before proceeding with anything else. Have you tried a single card?
Yeah tried that.

Star swarm works ok no problem there but only one card works no crossfire support at all for that.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
396 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#62
It's an ASUS 7970 MATRIX w/ R9 280X MATRIX BIOS.
never mind that AMD said they had driver issues getting the most out of these chips well over a year ago, but performance hasn't increased...stability has, sure.
It's a shame no one really does these kinds of overall performance testing anymore but actually performance did increase over the 7970's lifetime.

http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=942&page=11 from 12.11 to 13.1 is a 35% increase

http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=1100&page=14 from 13.1 to 13.10 is a 8% increase

per reference, NV performance increase is 20% over the lifetime of the 680.
http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=1098&page=14
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,705 (2.24/day)
Likes
5,957
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#63
Well so far, I've seen a couple of people getting lockups, stutters, bsods, getting stuck at loading etc.

Acceptable since it is still in its early stages handled by AMD's mighty fine driver team and to make things more complex, it is being debut on DICE's half assed BF4.

Luckily, there is a simple flag to just disable Mantle usage for now, and wait for everything to be ironed out:



So it is either that or just continue to be a guinea pig.
It's not Mantle causing the lock ups. Since the 1+Gb patch, I've had 2 CTD in two nights and when I lowered my GPU clocks (still above stock) I was getting screen locks that would recover after a second or two. I'm on Nvidia with Intel so no Mantle performance for me but BF4 performance is now very erratic.

I don't think anyone should blame these BF4 crashes or lock ups on Mantle. It's DICE being shit again.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.74/day)
Likes
465
#64
These are my d3d results.
Mantle just bsod constantly and ive tried everything for it not to.
I have seen the performance of it @ 200 res scale 2560x1600 for about 3 seconds.
CPU 5ms GPU was 12ms fps was around 145
Then it bsod on me lol
In the release notes...
  • Intermittent stuttering or stability issues may occur when utilizing Mantle with AMD CrossFire technology in BattleField 4 - AMD recommends using the DirectX code path when playing Battlefield 4 with multiple GPUs. A future AMD Catalyst release will resolve these issues
 

WTF

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#65
I didn't see the R9 270X in their support list unfortunately, which is weird because that is where the sweet spot for price/performance is. What are they thinking, is AMD dumb?

I'll check how Mantle runs after I get home in a few hours, hopefully it will have increased my frames with my setup. I want to start using more than 100% resolution scaling at a playable FPS. I'm sure it'll look amazing :)
<<What are they thinking, is AMD dumb?>>
Answer:
<<you don't seem to grasp the concept of "beta">>

AMD try to make something better than Direct-X, and it is open / will even work on Intel and nVidia not only AMD Radeon.
They started at the beginning: high-end GPUs', where the difference is most noticeble, and to offer those users the best, as promised.
And this effort for something free and this comprehensive is coming from a company with less employees than nVidia/Intel, you inconsiderate ...

Just try using those extinct brain-cells, research what you are talking about, don't act/speak dumb... -.-' :
Apparently everyone is complaining of free improvements that were not promised at the card's purchase, and while nVidia, Intel and Microsoft are mintrubbing in this concern.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#66
They were promised at the cards purchase. Everyone knew mantle will come sooner or later. The rest of your post is also BS, none of those facts is true, you are just flaming. Because someone put up the actual problem: why power users who already have good performance and are a small share of the market get it instead of the midrange users, who don't throw out $400 every generation of GPUs. The average joe might not even know about mantle and it should be available for those people too, when the final version gets out somehow notify the people using outdated drivers to update as not everyone runs the laterst driver, most people run 1-2 year old drivers because they are not into tech, and they are missing out a lot, compared to us.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,439 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,107
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#67
I guess my problem is common sense, this is BETA with new added stuff that there be even more of a chance of there being a issue.
I haven't use a WHQL driver since I first bought my cards, I always used beta drivers. My point was that in each release they fix something, but they also broke something that was working in previous one.
And yes, if I use a WHQL monthly driver, I will have all the issues, no CFX updated profiles, etc....
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,705 (2.24/day)
Likes
5,957
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#68
Here's a thought...

It seems like far more people are experiencing problems in BF4 since the Mantle patch. Could there be any coding issues that might be influencing general stability due to Mantle being present? In which case, it is DICE's poor implementation or a side effect of the API?

This is based on the recent upsurge in CTD's and BSOD's people are seeing. This isn't a pop at Mantle, it's a genuine question.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.35/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#69
Here's a thought...

It seems like far more people are experiencing problems in BF4 since the Mantle patch. Could there be any coding issues that might be influencing general stability due to Mantle being present? In which case, it is DICE's poor implementation or a side effect of the API?

This is based on the recent upsurge in CTD's and BSOD's people are seeing. This isn't a pop at Mantle, it's a genuine question.
Fairly certain this is a DICE problem, after reading around it happens to plenty of people without AMD anything. People just like to find something they don't understand to blame everything on, especially when it's new to the field. DICE are just bad at implementing anything. This is why developers use Alpha, closed BETA and open BETA testing. Evidently DICE learns nothing, ever.

Granted, sh!t is happening for people with Mantle-supporting hardware, but even if mantle was working properly, they'd still experience the issues everyone else is having.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,446 (5.73/day)
Likes
8,966
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#70
As much as I would LOVE to troll the Mantel worshipers about the CTD in BF4 I will have to admit its a DICE issue. Ever since they "patched" it for Mantle support it hasn't been as stable. Even I had a crash the other night getting into a tank (which is a known bug). I wouldn't count on Mantle giving you 300 FPS more than what you are getting now but, I also wouldn't fully blame it for all the crashes in BF4. Its the perfect storm of fail. New DICE patch + New AMD driver/Tech = Epic Fail Sauce. Give it a while before you fully judge.

As for the BSOD's well that Ill bet money is AMD's fault. CTD is one thing. BSOD is AMD without a doubt.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#71
They were promised at the cards purchase. Everyone knew mantle will come sooner or later. The rest of your post is also BS.
Bro, I'm staring at my 2 X 7850 boxes with no promise of Mantle anywhere. The R9 280 cards have none on it either. The cards are priced according to their current performance at the time, not some promised future performance.

The rest of your post is also BS.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#72
As for the BSOD's well that Ill bet money is AMD's fault. CTD is one thing. BSOD is AMD without a doubt.
I've played games that caused hard locks and BSOD before. It also happened on both my 660GTX and Radeon 7850. I will admit these are rare situations. However, saying BSOD is AMD's fault without a doubt may be stretching it too far. I would say it is probable but there's still a chance it could be anything. It is DICE we're talking about here. I've never seen a game with such a high budget but end up with so many problems even on a console. Yes, that game completely crash my Xbox One and my friends' PS4s all the time and forced a restart. That's the equivalent of BSOD on a console.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#73
I found building a unattended windows 7 usb install improved my d3d performance and general system stability 10 fold.
It only takes a few hours depending how many programs you want to install and configure and the speed of your hard drives and internet for the updates.
And with this http://joshcellsoftwares.com/products/advancedtokensmanager/
Registering windows is dead easy as well saving you having to phone them up and run through that horrid 50 digit key press.
Its something most of you already do I imagine..
This is probly in the wrong place lol

As for my bsod ive been getting 100% of the time only happened on bf4, on this star swarm it didn't happen a single time.

I can see mantle giving me 180 fps @ 5k + screen res maxed out.
Ive seen about 3 seconds of the performance that's waiting for me the cpu and graphics delay time was below 10ms for both.
The cpu was 9 ms the gpu around 5 ms this was on 2560x1600 res scale 200 res scale.
Having a game + 150 fps at these kind of details is something I would expect in 3 to 5 years from now or 4 titans.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,446 (5.73/day)
Likes
8,966
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#74
Well its simple to find out if the BSOD is caused by AMD. Check the error. Bet its driver related. BSOD is almost all the time related to driver/hardware issues.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,600 (3.83/day)
Likes
11,007
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#75
It's a shame no one really does these kinds of overall performance testing anymore but actually performance did increase over the 7970's lifetime.

http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=942&page=11 from 12.11 to 13.1 is a 35% increase

http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=1100&page=14 from 13.1 to 13.10 is a 8% increase

per reference, NV performance increase is 20% over the lifetime of the 680.
http://www.ocaholic.ch/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=1098&page=14


LuLz. I see virtually ZERO increase. 3dmark11 increase of 1000 points from 12.10 to 13.1??

Skyrim, AvP, and a couple of other titles saw boosts, yep. For sure. Interesting choice of tests though, tessmark.. accounts for a large part of that increase? Perhaps it's a bit OS-dependent.