• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL Released

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
AMD released a WHQL-signed version of its Catalyst 14.4 software suite, its first in four months (the previous one being 13.12 WHQL). The driver builds on the Catalyst 14.4 Release Candidate the company shipped out a little earlier this month, to lend immediate support for Radeon R9 295X2, which hit the shelves on the 21st. The four highlights of Catalyst 14.4 include support for the R9 295X2, CrossFire frame-pacing improvements for a number of games, full support for OpenGL 4.4 API, and bug-fixes for AMD Mantle API.

Among the games AMD worked to improve CrossFire performance of, include Crysis 3, which sees improved frame-pacing; Far Cry 3, which sees improved 3-GPU and 4-GPU scaling; Anno 2070, which sees an overall CrossFire scaling improvement of 34 percent; Titanfall, which sees reduced game flickering an micro-stutter; and Metro: Last Light, which sees 10 percent improvement in CrossFire scaling. The driver also addresses bugs related to 3x1 Eyefinity setups using three Ultra HD displays. For gamers running Battlefield 4 with its Mantle renderer, AMD addressed the performance slowdown seen when switching windows using Alt+Tab; and fuzzy textures when playing the game on rotated displays.

DOWNLOAD: AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL for Windows 8/7/Visa 64-bit | Windows 8/7/Vista 32-bit | Windows XP 32-bit and 64-bit
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.57/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#2
I'm getting a black screen upon during installing the driver, and it never resolves itself even after reboot. I have to go into safe mode and manually uninstall the display driver to be able to do anything with the PC.

This is strange because the release candidate worked fine before this, and I just reverted to the release candidate and everything is back to working. I even performed a clean uninstall using AMD's utility before attempting to instal the WHQL driver. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
54 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair LPX 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Rx 480 Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q
Case Corsair 600Q
Power Supply Corsair RMi 1000
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
I'm getting a black screen upon during installing the driver, and it never resolves itself even after reboot. I have to go into safe mode and manually uninstall the display driver to be able to do anything with the PC.

This is strange because the release candidate worked fine before this, and I just reverted to the release candidate and everything is back to working. I even performed a clean uninstall using AMD's utility before attempting to instal the WHQL driver. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
Hmm, haven't experienced that yet, so far my only issue is that Gpu-Z isn't showing some things in the sensor tabs (it was working alright in the previous drivers)

EDIT: Though it has happen to me in the past drivers, it hasn't happened in this one
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
152 (0.09/day)
Likes
18
#4
I'm getting a black screen upon during installing the driver, and it never resolves itself even after reboot. I have to go into safe mode and manually uninstall the display driver to be able to do anything with the PC.

This is strange because the release candidate worked fine before this, and I just reverted to the release candidate and everything is back to working. I even performed a clean uninstall using AMD's utility before attempting to instal the WHQL driver. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

No problems here. Working fine with my 7950 on Windows 8.1.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,837 (0.55/day)
Likes
528
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#5
Works great on R9 270
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#6
I'm getting issues too. CCC doesn't load at startup, and launching it manually gives me this each time:



The driver itself appears to be working.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
7970 GHz edition, working just peachy. no problems at all, windows 8.1 x64
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
714 (0.25/day)
Likes
405
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor Core i7 3930k
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X79 Tuf
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360 CPU
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz C10
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2)
Display(s) LG 34UC98-W - 21:9/75hz
Case Corsair 570X
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
#10
Works perfect .

R9-290x - Windows 8.1 x64.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#11
works fine for me so far. though I had the beta driver already installed if that makes any difference. My screen did go black for a while but it started working after a couple min, but that could be due to the tv i'm using with HDMI.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
878 (0.23/day)
Likes
201
Location
Overseas
System Name Old School
Processor Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.15Ghz (350x9, B3, Lapped)
Motherboard GA-P35C-DS3R (Ver. F4)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-2 (Lapped)
Memory 2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 @ 534.0mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850
Storage Seagate 750GB, WD Caviar 120GB, WD Raptor 150GB
Display(s) LG 19" LCD L1952
Case Enermax Phoenix
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista Home Premium X32 SP1
#12
Any point in installing this after already installing the 14.4 RC?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#13
I haven't updated my drivers yet, I still have 13.12 and it's running ok. Any real benefit if I jump on 14.4? Any noticeable improvements to single card setups in BF4?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
878 (0.23/day)
Likes
201
Location
Overseas
System Name Old School
Processor Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.15Ghz (350x9, B3, Lapped)
Motherboard GA-P35C-DS3R (Ver. F4)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-2 (Lapped)
Memory 2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 @ 534.0mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850
Storage Seagate 750GB, WD Caviar 120GB, WD Raptor 150GB
Display(s) LG 19" LCD L1952
Case Enermax Phoenix
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista Home Premium X32 SP1
#14
It said "Mantle improvements" and there are only a couple of Mantle enabled games, so it's possible. Plus, I'm pretty sure there have
been fixes/changes in the multiple betas aimed at BF4 since 13.12
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
222 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Argentina, Latin America
System Name CRIMSON TYPHOON
Processor Corei5 6600k Skylake @4.2ghz (COOLED BY A COOLERMASTER HYPER 212)
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170XP-SLI
Memory 2x8GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE RED LED DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) ASUS 1060 OC6GB @1950mhz
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 64MB Cache
Display(s) LG 24'
Case COOLERMASTER CM STORM ENFORCER
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek HD
Power Supply Thermaltake SMART M Series SP-650M
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Corsair K-70 (Cherry MX Red Switches)
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate Edition
#15
I haven't updated my drivers yet, I still have 13.12 and it's running ok. Any real benefit if I jump on 14.4? Any noticeable improvements to single card setups in BF4?
7870 2GB here on AMD 8320, 14.4 improved SIGNIFICANTLY the performance on BF4 with Mantle activated. While running DX11 i could get 60fps but with some drops to 40, or worse in heavy action parts. With mantle i can keep it on ultra 60fps locked trough the whole thing (im talking about 64 player servers) so i would say that if you play Battlefield 4, 14.4 for the 7 and 8 series it's a blessing!!
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.61/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#16
Had some problems updating from 13.6 - the display driver didn't want to update automatically. I removed everything from the add/remove and everything seems to be working.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
260 (0.12/day)
Likes
39
Location
The Netherlands
Processor Intel Core i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright Archon
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite 2x4GB 1600MHz (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) MSI Geforce GTX 1060 6GB Gaming X
Storage Plextor M5 Pro 512GB; WD Caviar Green 2TB
Display(s) Asus VW266H; HP ZR24w
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Special Edition Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Mionix Castor
Keyboard SteelSeries 7G
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit EN
#17
I'm getting issues too. CCC doesn't load at startup, and launching it manually gives me this each time:



The driver itself appears to be working.

Got the exact same problem on Windows 7 64bit.
Uninstalling the drivers and a run with DriverFusion followed by a fresh installation solved the problem.
Probably a problem with converting settings to the new CCC version.

Another weird thing I get is that the first time I run the setup I always get "warnings occured" at the completion step eventhough I don't see anything odd in the log.
Whenever I run the setup again I get the normal completion message.
 
Last edited:

skraftnm

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
I'm getting a black screen upon during installing the driver, and it never resolves itself even after reboot. I have to go into safe mode and manually uninstall the display driver to be able to do anything with the PC.

This is strange because the release candidate worked fine before this, and I just reverted to the release candidate and everything is back to working. I even performed a clean uninstall using AMD's utility before attempting to instal the WHQL driver. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Have u fixed the problem?

I'm having the same problem, while installing the new 14.4 (rc or whql) the screen goes black and the only way back is to use a restore point to before the driver.

Using w8.1 with R9 290.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
878 (0.23/day)
Likes
201
Location
Overseas
System Name Old School
Processor Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.15Ghz (350x9, B3, Lapped)
Motherboard GA-P35C-DS3R (Ver. F4)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-2 (Lapped)
Memory 2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 @ 534.0mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850
Storage Seagate 750GB, WD Caviar 120GB, WD Raptor 150GB
Display(s) LG 19" LCD L1952
Case Enermax Phoenix
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista Home Premium X32 SP1
#19
Using w8.1 with R9 290.
  • Driver installation might result in a black screen when installing on a Dual AMD Radeon R9 295X configuration under Windows 8.1. The issue can be overcome by rebooting the PC; upon reboot the display driver will be installed. The remaining Catalyst components can then be installed.
Perhaps it's not just isolated to the 295X
 

skraftnm

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
  • Driver installation might result in a black screen when installing on a Dual AMD Radeon R9 295X configuration under Windows 8.1. The issue can be overcome by rebooting the PC; upon reboot the display driver will be installed. The remaining Catalyst components can then be installed.
Perhaps it's not just isolated to the 295X
But in my case the reboot does not fix. x(

This is bullshit because the first WHQL driver in the last 4 months is the same that fucks me up! =/
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
402 (0.23/day)
Likes
66
Location
GA
System Name RYZEN WRECKER
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X 3.9ghz boost
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Thermaltake Silent 12 on CPU, Arctic Cooling Acellero Extreme 3 on GPU, Cougar case fans.
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair LPX 3200mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 1100mhz core / 1375mhz memory
Storage 1TB Seagate for Steam games, 1TB WD for backup, Patriot 120gb SSD for boot. 3TB for more Steam games
Display(s) ASUS VX24A @ 1440p 72hz
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 headset
Power Supply Corsair CX850m
Mouse Steel Series Sensei
Keyboard Razor Blackwidow
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#21
Working perfectly here. Windows 7 64-bit, 7950.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#22
Downloading now. Been using some old drivers 13.11
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#23
No issues on my 7970, Win 7 Pro 64.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,651 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,435
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
Been running this driver sense release and no issues at all on a 290.