• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Curve Optimizer any guides / experience

Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
62 (0.86/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Msi b450 tomahawk max II
Cooling Artic liquid freezer II 240mm
Memory 2x8gb Tforce delta r 3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Rtx 2060 oc
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb + 1tb ssd
Case Corsair 275r airflow
Audio Device(s) Hyperx
Power Supply Seasonic core gc 650w 80 plus gold
Mouse Zowie ec2-a
Keyboard Trust
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20: SC=631 MC=6146 Cinebench r23: SC=1628 MC=15672 CPU-Z: SC=675 MC= 6897
In corecycler I'm with original config only change time in each core but I see in some posts related to corecycler the creator attend to test it first with small fft to give more boost in light thread to the cores and it gives errors more frequently. In original config it uses huge fft, what the best way to to some tests with small or huge ffts?
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,621 (1.53/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard ROG X570 Impact (3601)
Cooling Foundation AM4 block - Brizo FE block - 280mm XT45 push/pull - Iceman res - DDC4.2
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL15 1.42V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE
Case Cerberus X
In corecycler I'm with original config only change time in each core but I see in some posts related to corecycler the creator attend to test it first with small fft to give more boost in light thread to the cores and it gives errors more frequently. In original config it uses huge fft, what the best way to to some tests with small or huge ffts?

Small FFT should reduce clocks - in P95 the bigger the FFT size the more it goes into memory/memory controller and you'll often see lower temps and higher clocks. But in reality, testing between Small FFT, Large FFT and Huge FFT, there's not much of a difference in clocks...................as long as you don't enable AVX. So stay on SSE like default.

If you have the time (it's easier for you because you only have 8 cores), you could just test All FFTs like I do. But that takes much longer and you have to extend the time period significantly to cover all FFT sizes in that range - I run just over an hour.

More importantly is that you let it run for at least 3 iterations on every core (I let it cycle overnight through at least 5 iterations). Once you're on the edge, often an unstable core will pass one or two iterations, seemingly stable, only to fail on the next one - so if you only let it run for one or two cycles, you might assume that it was "stable" when it actually wasn't.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
757 (0.89/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
In corecycler I'm with original config only change time in each core but I see in some posts related to corecycler the creator attend to test it first with small fft to give more boost in light thread to the cores and it gives errors more frequently. In original config it uses huge fft, what the best way to to some tests with small or huge ffts?
I run it at default setting and used event viewer to find the last slghtly unstable core. I would start with - 30 on all and +200 pbo, if negative is way of you get error quick, if it's slightly iff it fails after a few minutes or in test 2.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
62 (0.86/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Msi b450 tomahawk max II
Cooling Artic liquid freezer II 240mm
Memory 2x8gb Tforce delta r 3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Rtx 2060 oc
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb + 1tb ssd
Case Corsair 275r airflow
Audio Device(s) Hyperx
Power Supply Seasonic core gc 650w 80 plus gold
Mouse Zowie ec2-a
Keyboard Trust
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20: SC=631 MC=6146 Cinebench r23: SC=1628 MC=15672 CPU-Z: SC=675 MC= 6897
When pc reboots when doing corecycle I need to lower the value on the core that reboot my pc? Like to 21 to 19?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
757 (0.89/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
When pc reboots when doing corecycle I need to lower the value on the core that reboot my pc? Like to 21 to 19?
Yes, try that. Do you see ehich core it worked on when reboot occured? Only lower that one.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
62 (0.86/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Msi b450 tomahawk max II
Cooling Artic liquid freezer II 240mm
Memory 2x8gb Tforce delta r 3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Rtx 2060 oc
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb + 1tb ssd
Case Corsair 275r airflow
Audio Device(s) Hyperx
Power Supply Seasonic core gc 650w 80 plus gold
Mouse Zowie ec2-a
Keyboard Trust
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20: SC=631 MC=6146 Cinebench r23: SC=1628 MC=15672 CPU-Z: SC=675 MC= 6897
Yes, try that. Do you see ehich core it worked on when reboot occured? Only lower that one.
I check in event viewer and on log created in corecycle, it's the same core on event viewer and corecycler last core tested so I assumed that core need more voltage

I have my cpu llc on auto in my msi b450 tomahawk max II, it's better to put it in mode 4 like 1usmus advice in CTR 2.1or leave it on auto?
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,621 (1.53/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard ROG X570 Impact (3601)
Cooling Foundation AM4 block - Brizo FE block - 280mm XT45 push/pull - Iceman res - DDC4.2
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL15 1.42V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE
Case Cerberus X
I check in event viewer and on log created in corecycle, it's the same core on event viewer and corecycler last core tested so I assumed that core need more voltage

I have my cpu llc on auto in my msi b450 tomahawk max II, it's better to put it in mode 4 like 1usmus advice in CTR 2.1or leave it on auto?

The recommendation in CTR is because CTR either wants you to use a static all-core OC according to its recommendation, or use its own hybrid OC mechanism (half of which is still basically static all-core).

Messing around in CO is still under PBO, which is still just stock boost. When on PB stock boost, leave it on auto, because iirc droopy and loose LLC is actually what the boost algorithm wants. Aggressive LLC can make static OC easier, but for stock boost aggressive LLC doesn't help/doesn't change anything/hurts boost.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,630 (1.39/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 11 insider
The recommendation in CTR is because CTR either wants you to use a static all-core OC according to its recommendation, or use its own hybrid OC mechanism (half of which is still basically static all-core).

Messing around in CO is still under PBO, which is still just stock boost. When on PB stock boost, leave it on auto, because iirc droopy and loose LLC is actually what the boost algorithm wants. Aggressive LLC can make static OC easier, but for stock boost aggressive LLC doesn't help/doesn't change anything/hurts boost.

I was supporting CRT on the Patreon. Well it turned out ugly. CTR is an ugly mess, I will not ever recommend it to anyone, not mentioning the fact the coder is a whining bitch, his emails for supporters were like from a demanding ex and he didn't realize that his bug driven tool is really so much full of shit it is barely usable to ask money for it and blaming anyone having problems with it, it ain't the tool, but you. Very unprofessional.

Well it all depends on your sample and motherboard... it very wild setting wise as far I experienced. The LLC does react different in between vendors, it is normal as VRMS differ a lot and their speed and performance.

In the end it is just experiment. Example for my 5950X.

1. Make your RAM solid stable.
2. Do not touch anything CPU voltage wise, adjust the RAM domain and VSOC, CCD, IOD voltages depending on your RAM amount(like how many sticks) gen and speed. It is very crucial not to overdo there, but leaving it stock is not an also an option often. Depends on the board. AUTO often gives worst results.
3. PBO. I do it the old fashioned way, in a notebook(I mean the one having paper). I wrote down my core statistics. I have two CCD's, each two best core pairs, then second then third. So I gradate them. Best for may CCX0 have -2m then second best pair has -6. Then other -16. For Second CCX I have the same except the best have -4 then next pair -10 and then -16 for other.
4. Then do Power limit play depending if you wish more multicore or single core performance. Yes, that's decided there.

Any suggestions for my maybe flawed reasoning?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
252 (0.25/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R9 5900x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling I forgot to get a aio I r stupidity
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) xfx rx5600xt
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 40" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair RM850 modular
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
when looking for the correct core to adjust go to event viewer log for the processor APIC ID:#. this tells you what core crashed. Go back into CPUZ and look at tool and save report as text. you can save this to desktop if you want to.
some times core numbering can start as core-0 or core-1. CPU-Z helps making sure you are adjusting the correct core.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
62 (0.86/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Msi b450 tomahawk max II
Cooling Artic liquid freezer II 240mm
Memory 2x8gb Tforce delta r 3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Rtx 2060 oc
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb + 1tb ssd
Case Corsair 275r airflow
Audio Device(s) Hyperx
Power Supply Seasonic core gc 650w 80 plus gold
Mouse Zowie ec2-a
Keyboard Trust
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20: SC=631 MC=6146 Cinebench r23: SC=1628 MC=15672 CPU-Z: SC=675 MC= 6897
I was supporting CRT on the Patreon. Well it turned out ugly. CTR is an ugly mess, I will not ever recommend it to anyone, not mentioning the fact the coder is a whining bitch, his emails for supporters were like from a demanding ex and he didn't realize that his bug driven tool is really so much full of shit it is barely usable to ask money for it and blaming anyone having problems with it, it ain't the tool, but you. Very unprofessional.

Well it all depends on your sample and motherboard... it very wild setting wise as far I experienced. The LLC does react different in between vendors, it is normal as VRMS differ a lot and their speed and performance.

In the end it is just experiment. Example for my 5950X.

1. Make your RAM solid stable.
2. Do not touch anything CPU voltage wise, adjust the RAM domain and VSOC, CCD, IOD voltages depending on your RAM amount(like how many sticks) gen and speed. It is very crucial not to overdo there, but leaving it stock is not an also an option often. Depends on the board. AUTO often gives worst results.
3. PBO. I do it the old fashioned way, in a notebook(I mean the one having paper). I wrote down my core statistics. I have two CCD's, each two best core pairs, then second then third. So I gradate them. Best for may CCX0 have -2m then second best pair has -6. Then other -16. For Second CCX I have the same except the best have -4 then next pair -10 and then -16 for other.
4. Then do Power limit play depending if you wish more multicore or single core performance. Yes, that's decided there.

Any suggestions for my maybe flawed reasoning?
I don't touch in my ram for now only load xmp. My advise is too run corecycler it's a really useful tool to do the work for CO. I never experienced an error in corecycler only reboots but I think my best cores was a bit high negative (-18,-14) if you don't got errors or reboots try again but edit config file and add more time per core and try to do it at least 3 iteration. For example I pass 3 iterations of 6min per core yesterday and today try 15min per core and it reboots. So always give a second try to corecycler with more time per core.

when looking for the correct core to adjust go to event viewer log for the processor APIC ID:#. this tells you what core crashed. Go back into CPUZ and look at tool and save report as text. you can save this to desktop if you want to.
some times core numbering can start as core-0 or core-1. CPU-Z helps making sure you are adjusting the correct core.
Yes in event viewer appears APIC ID and i think after its the thread number dont know this way to know the numbering via cpu z. Thanks for that tip I use corecycler log to see what core corresponding to APIC ID error
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,630 (1.39/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 11 insider
I don't touch in my ram for now only load xmp. My advise is too run corecycler it's a really useful tool to do the work for CO. I never experienced an error in corecycler only reboots but I think my best cores was a bit high negative (-18,-14) if you don't got errors or reboots try again but edit config file and add more time per core and try to do it at least 3 iteration. For example I pass 3 iterations of 6min per core yesterday and today try 15min per core and it reboots. So always give a second try to corecycler with more time per core.


Yes in event viewer appears APIC ID and i think after its the thread number dont know this way to know the numbering via cpu z. Thanks for that tip I use corecycler log to see what core corresponding to APIC ID error

XMP is not a thing you can trust on. It is often made for intel platforms, it does not work on AMD the same.

Corecyler is for those random reboots on standby. The real prime test or any relatives is for all core stability. For gaming test I use some Final Fantasy benches, I have them found good triggering random BSODS on CPU instability as those are not very GPU dependent.

3 iterations is not enough... I leave usually each test of my config overnight.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
41 (0.52/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-PLUS
Cooling Underfloor cooling
Memory Team Group 2x8GB DDR4@4000MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 512GB
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus 850W Gold
Mouse Bloody Sniper ZL50
I don't like anymore corecycler because it's overvolting cores.
Now I prefer OCCT with the following settings:

1633731880161.png
1633731923402.png


Just run this core by core and lower or upper the Curve optimizer on the core that gets an error.
But be careful because sometimes too much or too lower voltage on one core can affect the other core next to it.
Normally you can get an error in 20-30 seconds.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
62 (0.86/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Msi b450 tomahawk max II
Cooling Artic liquid freezer II 240mm
Memory 2x8gb Tforce delta r 3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Rtx 2060 oc
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb + 1tb ssd
Case Corsair 275r airflow
Audio Device(s) Hyperx
Power Supply Seasonic core gc 650w 80 plus gold
Mouse Zowie ec2-a
Keyboard Trust
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20: SC=631 MC=6146 Cinebench r23: SC=1628 MC=15672 CPU-Z: SC=675 MC= 6897
I don't like anymore corecycler because it's overvolting cores.
Now I prefer OCCT with the following settings:

View attachment 220056 View attachment 220057

Just run this core by core and lower or upper the Curve optimizer on the core that gets an error.
But be careful because sometimes too much or too lower voltage on one core can affect the other core next to it.
Normally you can get an error in 20-30 seconds.
From my experience in the last days I think you are right when you say sometimes voltage on one core affect other core next to it. I will give a try with occt and your settings too since it gives errors more faster than corecycler in your words.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
857 (0.23/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ 3 x mo-ra3 420 +Dual D5 pump and dual ddc pump
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW3 ULTRA RTX 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
Anyone know why I can do linpack extreme but fail to run geekbench 5. What is the cause?
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,925 (8.28/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Anyone know why I can do linpack extreme but fail to run geekbench 5. What is the cause?
They load the hardware different.

Just means linpack isn't exposing your instability.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
41 (0.52/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-PLUS
Cooling Underfloor cooling
Memory Team Group 2x8GB DDR4@4000MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 512GB
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus 850W Gold
Mouse Bloody Sniper ZL50
Anyone know why I can do linpack extreme but fail to run geekbench 5. What is the cause?
Because your CPU goes to a higher clock where the voltage is not enough for one or a few cores, probably the fastest cores.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
715 (0.22/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4x8GB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 6900XT/R7
Storage Seagate 530 4TB, WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB, Corsair MP600 1TB / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
New AMD chipset driver out
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,102 (2.63/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Do people install those? What do they actually do that the windows drivers don’t?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
715 (0.22/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4x8GB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 6900XT/R7
Storage Seagate 530 4TB, WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB, Corsair MP600 1TB / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
592 (1.33/day)
System Name WinTenDoh
Processor 5950x
Motherboard B550 Unify
Cooling NH-15D
Memory 32GB (2x16) 3600 CL14
Video Card(s) 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate
Display(s) 32" 1440p 165Hz
Case Phanteks P600s
Audio Device(s) Schiit Sennheiser HiFiMan Beyerdynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-1000
Mouse EVGA x17
Keyboard EVGA z15
Do people install those? What do they actually do that the windows drivers don’t?

The latest one does this:

1634838948718.png


Strangely, it's only listed when you choose the X570 chipset on the driver page, but the release notes say it's for B550 as well.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
252 (0.25/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R9 5900x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling I forgot to get a aio I r stupidity
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) xfx rx5600xt
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 40" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair RM850 modular
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
dl for my b550 and installed . No problems. Will test
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,925 (8.28/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
L3 Cache results went from ~625 to ~655
Driver good.
1634856816784.png
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
6,137 (1.61/day)
Processor Ryzen 5950x
Motherboard Asus Tuf Gaming x570-plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with Noctua push pull fans
Memory Gskill 4x16gb 3600mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage 2x Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Power Supply Cougar 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Do people install those? What do they actually do that the windows drivers don’t?
They actually have a very strong impact on performance. It made a huge difference back when ryzen 3000 first came out. This driver will probably be really important for windows 11.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,925 (8.28/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Do people install those? What do they actually do that the windows drivers don’t?
For zen 1/2, they add a ryzen power plan that helps performance out.

For Zen 3, they add these sort of performance fixes. They also include chipset, USB drivers, sata, etc etc - minor fixes and such that you dont really notice.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
719 (0.19/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
linpack isn't exposing your instability.
That is common, if there's bus instability. (Usually CPU-to-bus communication issues, most likely CPU-bus termination issues)

I had that with a poopy Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 at only 367 Mhz FSB, I had to crank the FSB termination voltage for Prime95 in blend mode to not fail with "STOP: 0x00000124" BSOD with "Bus/Interconnect Error" being the reason. That error reason is possibly the most common on 65nm Core 2 Quads.
 
Top