1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Demos First Six-core Opteron Processors Codenamed Istanbul

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,422 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD today gave the first working demonstration of its six-core Opteron processor codenamed "Istanbul." The 45nm Istanbul server chips will succeed current "Shanghai" Opterons. Istanbul processors will use 6MB of L2 cache, and support HyperTransport and two channels of DDR2 memory per socket. The chips will fit into Socket F server motherboards. First live demonstration of Istanbul was performed on two server systems, one running four processors (24 cores total), and the second running with two processors (12 cores). AMD plans to release a full lineup of six-core Opterons based on Istanbul, including low-power HE versions and high-performance SE models, sometime in the second-half of 2009. Read the full story here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: The Tech Report
     
    Valdez says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Wow six cores :eek: that CPU must cost an arm and a leg. Thanks for the info I like to hear good news on new products.
     
  3. jagass New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Thanks for the info man...
     
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    So uh... did they utterly fail 8 core, and have a 6 core, or did they actually make a 6 core on purpose.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Anyone know if these are gonna go to the desktop market? I might grab a black edition when I get my summer job :toast:
     
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19,872 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,137
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It's a hexa-core intentionally. They developed this to compete with Intel's recent hexa-core (Dunnington) processors. Intel is supposed to have octo-core server processors out soon based on Nehalem (16 threads).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    These are socket F... you will be able to buy them... but they will be insanely expensive. Socket F mobo's are very expensive.

    thanks for the info though. glad to see they made it to Istanbul testing so fast!
     
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    Too little too late I guess. It will probably be nice against Dunnington, it'll hae far less of a FSB/memory bottleneck. Specially considering it can work on dual socket boards as well.
    Though likeyou say, he Nehalem based chips won't have these bottlenecks either so will fly straight past them. And to be fair, in this market nobody cares about paying $1000 more.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,253 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,557
    Location:
    Houston
    these still wont beat the intel's unless the intel's get stuck on a dualie server for a while cause 4 chips and 6 cores will still beat 2 chips with 8 cores and HT
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Imsochobo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    566 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Socket F mobo's are Incredible cheap! i bought one at 1/3rd of the price of an am2+ 790 chipset series mobo.
    Cpu's on other hand is expensive! dual socket boards are cheap, however cpu's are expensive.
     
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    It's not as black and white as you suggest. Core2 based servers are severely bottlenecked by memory. In memory intensive applications the Opterons could probably win. Raw processing power, sure Intel wins.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    323 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    fan boys and girls (yammy)

    amd do the 6 core simple because the architecture is designed for multi core

    the hypertranport interface can connect from cpu and chipset, or one cpu core with many cpu core, also can be used to adder device. so the simple ideea is not why the amd make a 6-8 core now, but the real ideea is were the 6-8 core will arrive on market (soon as the market require :) )

    like a paralel any of you can read this

    frist the cell procesor

    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1727&page=1


    http://www.engadget.com/2007/02/11/intel-demonstrates-80-core-processor/
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,354 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,303
    hrm...i think in this economy i would just pay less for a four core machine OR pay more for an 8 core that would last me an extra year or two.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,253 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,557
    Location:
    Houston
    i'm still thinking that a dualie i7 board would loose to a quad socket F with 6 core chips
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    what's next???? a dodeca-core intel??
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    19,872 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,137
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Sure it isn't latency caused by the FB-DIMMs and not bandwidth? FB-DIMMs are high bandwidth but because the Advanced Memory Buffer has to grab the memory requests, there is a delay. This obviously hurts in applications where memory requests are made rapidly; however, it also has its advantages (helluva lot of memory).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    I'm not so sure, with the economy the way it is, $1000 maybe something someone might care about.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Intel can only fit up to 8 (maybe 10 if they drop some cache..) cores per die. AMD can fit up to 12 cores per die. This is using 45nm techno.

    Intel's CPUs are HUGE when compared to AMDs. So you won't see anything bigger than 8 core from Intel until they drops to 32nm.

    32nm will be AMDs sweetspot for cores... Up to 20 cores. (16 more than likely as it will mean they can make a 20 core CPU, but have a certain amount of cores ready as "repair cores" and later down the road with the stocked "good" 20 core CPUs release them as a high end model..)
     
  19. fenurch

    fenurch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    700 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    I truly don't understand why make a new core with a new socket. I would understand if like, P4 had different socket from C2D but i7 has a completely different one, it's probably because it's some 1337 tech or something but it's actually quite a bit of expensive non-sense
     
  20. Mr.President New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    85 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    gg info mate, thanx for sharing
     
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it is most sexy picture when i see 24 cores run in windows
     
  22. Sara New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Istanbul Demo Video and Blog

    Check out two videos of Istanbul's demos. The first video indicates the consistency of AMD's architecture and upgrade from the Quad-Core AMD Opteron Processors to Six-Core AMD Opteron Processors (Istanbul). The second video shows Istanbul running on a 2P virtualization platform, highlighting Istanbul's virtualization capabilities.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLbGQ8oraKg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D11uY5dOE2c

    Also see Istanbul images here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/amd_unprocessed/

    Plus view a blog post written by John Fruehe, Director of Business Development for Server/Workstation products at AMD here: http://blogs.amd.com/work/archive/2009/02/24/istanbul-not-constantinople.aspx
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)