• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Dual-GPU Radeon HD 7990 to Launch in Q1 2012, Packs 6 GB Memory

Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#51
Absolutely not, I got an 8-Core CPU running at 4.40GHz and a HD 6970 and I still cannot run games like Skyrim and Metro 2033 at MAX PQ.
Like somebody already said, the software needs to catch up to the hardware. Anybody claiming otherwise is gaming too much in their sleep.
Until consoles get a generation refresh the only way to increase performance is to buy overkill hardware, while I agree with you on optimization the need for faster hardware is still there, as I said previously.

3DMark 2011, although not being a game, is a fine example of how much a full DirectX11 game could be heavy on GPUs, if all developers would implement all DX11 libraries we'd need more than dual Tahiti to cope with the need for hardware.
Metro2033 itself is a GPU hog, sure some games are CPU bound and that's developing flaws.

And a Bulldozer is not an 8-core CPU, because it's like saying that mine is a 12-core CPU... doesn't work that way.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#52
And a Bulldozer is not an 8-core CPU, because it's like saying that mine is a 12-core CPU... doesn't work that way.
It's closer to being real cores than it is hyper-threading though ( I call them half cores :) )


As I have 8 physical threads ( 8 integer cores)

How ever 2 integer cores share the resources ( albeit bumped up ones) of what would normally be 1 core.

So bulldozer does 8 threads in parallel where as a 4core 8 thread intel cpu does 4 threads at a time but in a really efficient way . ( Think of it as a really well organised tightly packed queue)


Sorry for off original topic in regards to original post. Will take conversation to PM if if anyone wants to discuss it.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#53
I know the Bulldozer Modules architectures but thank you anyway for your kind explanation :)
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#54
This card makes me want to go take a vacation to New Zealand and chill at Mt Taranaki.

Anyone with me? Anybody? Yes? Maybe? Fine~
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#55
Just like the 6xxx and 5xxx series, the 7990 will most probably be 2x 7950's slapped together vs. 2x 7970's (for power and heat reasons). However, I would be very surprised if they just said screw it and made it 2x 7970's, just for the sake of being top dog. But IMO, they don't need to as they don't have any competition yet. We'll have to see what Kepler brings to the table, and I for one can't wait for that to happen. Hurry up Nvidia!!!
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#56
Where we get this bro :confused:
Here http://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1321575-rel-tesv-acceleration-layer/ :toast:

Just like the 6xxx and 5xxx series, the 7990 will most probably be 2x 7950's slapped together vs. 2x 7970's (for power and heat reasons). However, I would be very surprised if they just said screw it and made it 2x 7970's, just for the sake of being top dog. But IMO, they don't need to as they don't have any competition yet. We'll have to see what Kepler brings to the table, and I for one can't wait for that to happen. Hurry up Nvidia!!!
Isn't the 5970 an underclocked 5870? The HD 6990 is an underclocked 6970, not 6950, because all the shaders are enabled.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.63/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#57
Ha ha not whilst the shadows are run by the cpu! :laugh:
that wasnt my problem...CPU load was fine, but Skyrim did consume 99% of the Video Memory due to that setting;)
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#58
Isn't the 5970 an underclocked 5870? The HD 6990 is an underclocked 6970, not 6950, because all the shaders are enabled.
Oh dam. Thanks for clarifying that for me. I'm not as smart as I thought I was haha. I dont know why I always thought that it was 2x 50's and not 70's. :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
160 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
Indonesia
System Name No need for skylake, will wait for pascal.
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (B3)
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory Corsari Vengeance 16 Gb
Video Card(s) Digital Alliance GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Storage 3x 2 Tb WDC Green, 2x 1 Tb WDC Black
Display(s) Dell U2312HM
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200
Software Windows 10
#59
wogh.... can't wait to crossfire this to play bf3 in max resolution @ 1080p... time to ditch my [going to be] obsolete 6990.... :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,998 (0.64/day)
Likes
611
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#60
And a Bulldozer is not an 8-core CPU, because it's like saying that mine is a 12-core CPU... doesn't work that way.
Bulldozer's 8-Core is hardware where as Intel's Hyper Threading is software. People will agree to disagree in regards to this because not everybody agrees with AMD's concept of an 8-Core CPU. Personally I think it’s as much an 8-Core as a Phenom II x6 being a 6-Core, it’s just configured differently. Now if AMD would like to prove that this new Modular design is the way to go, then by all means, we are all waiting for updated performance figures and applications that should take advantage of this new design.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#61
While I agree that Intel's Hyperthreading is a fancy way to address 2 threads to a core and AMD's Bulldozer is a module that has 2 Integer and 1 FPU units I still don't recognize it as 2 cores per module, even though it is very close to it.
Let's say, 1,5 cores per module is more appropriate...
Still I'd love to see improvements with the upcoming patch and surely I'd want to see AMD to address the enormous latency on the cache but this is another cup of tea and I'm going off-topic :)

Remaining on thread I seriously hope that AMD will stick to single slot solution for the HD 7990 like the HD 6990
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,652 (2.63/day)
Likes
3,438
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#62
It's a bullshit money grab imo!!!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.21/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#63
It's a bullshit money grab!!!!

trust me i been testing this for some time under different cpu's and such.

7990 is going to be slower then my 6990 hahahahahah ....

Dumb fucks that's going to pay 989.99 are in for a dumb surprise..... SLOWER!!!! but cooler. Keep your 6 series gpu's
Troll:shadedshu
 

grndzro7

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#64
the power can be used even in single monitor set ups.

1080p + 8xSSAA & Edge detect + EQAA + Morplological filtering + Ambient lighting + Physics + Tesselation + 16x Quality/Trilinear filtering + massive negative LOD .

Ya the power can still be used on single monitor setups.

Besides, this card will stay quite relevant for single monitor setups for years. The very low idle power will save the fan from dust/wear.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,684 (2.69/day)
Likes
2,000
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#66
Just wondering something, why 6GB? I mean, it's nice but what right now would utilize it?
coz dual, it may assumed every single chip has 3 gig :confused:
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#67
I seriously hope that AMD will stick to single slot solution for the HD 7990 like the HD 6990
Really? HD 6990 is single slot, I thought I see Dual Slot air cooler. It would be nice to have single slot cooler so you can use your PCIe slots instead of having them taken up by the Dual slot coolers.
Morplological filtering
Everytime I enable this my games look like crap. Any idea why :confused:
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,410 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,096
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#68
You guys are exaggerating to much. I have a Core 2 Quad and a 5870 and I play ALL games on the market today with absolutely NO problems and glitches with MAX DETAILS settings (4xAA, 16xAF on a 1080p resolution). Stop being so geeky and OVER-pretentious!
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#69
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,654 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,903
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#70
You guys are exaggerating to much. I have a Core 2 Quad and a 5870 and I play ALL games on the market today with absolutely NO problems and glitches with MAX DETAILS settings (4xAA, 16xAF on a 1080p resolution). Stop being so geeky and OVER-pretentious!
Why are people typing such bullshit?

So you are playing at less fps than the GTX480 and this isn't even a graph for maxed out details. (and the below TPU graphs from W1zzard are 1050 res.


Again


It'd be nice if folk stopped lying about their system's capabilities. There is no way your C2Quad and a 5870 are maxing out all gfx details and playing the above games for example on decent fps. Unless you have a magical PC.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#71
I know the Bulldozer Modules architectures but thank you anyway for your kind explanation :)
And thank you for not having a for polite response :toast:

It's a bullshit money grab!!!!

trust me i been testing this for some time under different cpu's and such.

7990 is going to be slower then my 6990 hahahahahah ....

Dumb fucks that's going to pay 989.99 are in for a dumb surprise..... SLOWER!!!! but cooler. Keep your 6 series gpu's
... Wait, wut!?

You realise a single 7970 is already right up a 6990s arse right?

And you realise in games where crossfire works the 7970 has +90% scaling?

I complete wrecks two 580s in sli let alone 6990.

( wrecks Asus mars two as well)

Go read the crossfire reviews man :toast:

until Nvidia release their cards the 7000 series will be best on market.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#72
Really? HD 6990 is single slot, I thought I see Dual Slot air cooler. It would be nice to have single slot cooler so you can use your PCIe slots instead of having them taken up by the Dual slot coolers.

Everytime I enable this my games look like crap. Any idea why :confused:
I didn't explain it, the HD 6990 is single slot capable thanks to the location of the DVI and mini dp, once you put a waterblock on it becomes single slot :)

Morphological AA is a post processing, it is applied after the frame has been rendered.
It doesn't recognize text and so it smooths the text too making it blurry
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,410 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,096
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#73
Why are people typing such bullshit?

So you are playing at less fps than the GTX480 and this isn't even a graph for maxed out details. (and the below TPU graphs from W1zzard are 1050 res.
http://tpucdn.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7970/images/crysis_1680_1050.gif

Again
http://tpucdn.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7970/images/metro_2033_1680_1050.gif

It'd be nice if folk stopped lying about their system's capabilities. There is no way your C2Quad and a 5870 are maxing out all gfx details and playing the above games for example on decent fps. Unless you have a magical PC.
You obviously fail to understand that any game that outputs more than 30fps is more than playable. I played both Metro and Crysis and didn't have any problem with that fps. What is your point? Btw, I am not a geek gamer, so use your "bullshit" on someone else. :shadedshu
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,666 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,249
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#74
I'm waiting for the graphics tech that can gang two GPU's together on one card so that they can both use the whole memory buffer together and work as a single logical GPU. This will make the whole thing much more efficient:

- The whole memory buffer can be used, so wasting half of it on mirroring won't be necessary
- The two GPU's will work as one logical double-wide GPU
- Microstuttering should be eliminated
- The card will work exactly like a single GPU card, but with double the performance and its full performance will always be available without requiring any special profiles for specific games like we have now

Obviously, this kind of functionality won't be available with two physical cards, because the GPU's will be too far apart physically and on different boards.

This will be a true innovation and whichever company implements it first will wipe the floor with the other one. Well, here's hoping it comes to pass.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#75
I'm waiting for the graphics tech that can gang two GPU's together on one card so that they can both use the whole memory buffer together and work as a single logical GPU. This will make the whole thing much more efficient:

- The whole memory buffer can be used, so wasting half of it on mirroring won't be necessary
- The two GPU's will work as one logical double-wide GPU
- Microstuttering should be eliminated
- The card will work exactly like a single GPU card, but with double the performance and its full performance will always be available without requiring any special profiles for specific games like we have now

Obviously, this kind of functionality won't be available with two physical cards, because the GPU's will be too far apart physically and on different boards.

This will be a true innovation and whichever company implements it first will wipe the floor with the other one. Well, here's hoping it comes to pass.

Didn't the older graphics cards do this no problem?

When they didn't really even market them as x 2 etc.