1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX-670K CPU Shows Up in the Wild

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,175 (10.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,098
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Tipsters pointed us to a peculiar sounding new processor by AMD in the wild, and being distributed by certain OEMs, such as HP. Called AMD FX-670K, the chip is being sold by HP, pre-installed on its Pavilion 500-266ea desktops. Some digging around on specifications available point us to a chip that's essentially "Richland" APU with its integrated GPU disabled. So while it will run on socket FM2 motherboards, you'll have to use graphics cards. "Richland" integrates a dual-module / quad-core CPU component based on AMD's "Piledriver" micro-architecture. The FX-670K features CPU clock speeds of up to 3.70 GHz. So why did AMD choose the FX branding and not Athlon X4, like it usually does with iGPU-devoid APUs? Perhaps the "K" brand extension holds the answer. The FX-670K features an unlocked base-clock multiplier. The HP Pavilion 500-266ea features a socket FM2 motherboard based on the AMD A75 chipset, and discrete AMD Radeon R7 240 graphics. It's priced at CA $650.

    [​IMG]

    Source: HardwareCanucks Forums
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,175 (10.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,098
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to damric for the tip.
     
  3. thekaidis

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    "The FX-670K features an unlocked base-clock multiplier, a first for iGPU-disabled APUs"

    What about the Athlon X4 750K? 651K?
     
    btarunr says thanks.
  4. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    463 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    the fact that this is yet ANOTHER dual module cpu, with no triple or quad in sight, im convinced AMD has lost their marbles. At this point, they are just trying to hype the chip in hope that it sells, probably panicking at the announcement of an unlocked pentium from intel is on it's way.

    edit to remove reference that was incorrect
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,175 (10.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,098
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Oh right, my bad.
     
  6. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    AMD FX-670K APU with AMD Radeon HD 8670D Graphics (3.7 GHz, 4 MB cache, 4 cores)
    Processor family: AMD FX processor

    Its GPU isn't disabled.
     
  7. IvantheDugtrio

    IvantheDugtrio

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    40 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The name must be a typo. It sounds like an A10-6700 (in fact they have the same 3.7GHz clockspeed).

    Nothing to see here, move along...
     
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,561 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    and you forgot about the X4 760K... btw not all K chip have unlocked multi unless they have "Black Edition" in their name.

    as for the rest : damn i was waiting on a Kaveri IGP disabled Athlon/FX line to replace my X4 760K

    but in the end its a A10 6700K rename :D and judging by the technical spec of HP the IGP isn't disabled
    AMD FX-670K APU with AMD Radeon HD 8670D Graphics (3.7 GHz, 4 MB cache, 4 cores)
    Processor family: AMD FX processor
    that HP pc better has to be super cheap :roll: or at last cheaper than what i have for main rig atm.

    woops got beaten.. as for the renaming too ... drat!
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,204 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,111
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    hmmm, why put a processor with unlocked multiplier into a OEM factored board that don't support overclocking? o_O :fear:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. axis007

    axis007

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Could AMD have made that chip with some L3 cache to improve performance, rather then making it unlocked?
     
  11. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,517 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    924
    Because no one will buy this thing for gaming. It's more for office use.
     
  12. Zosma

    Zosma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    In screenshot , we can see multtiplier range (18-43) ,
    so according to def clock of 3700 , it must be (18-37) if it was`t unlocked multi!!

    also CPU-Z shows us specification as a "proccessor" and not an "APU".
    but in 6800K , we can see "APU with HD Radeon(tm) Graphics"

    spfezm.png

    so 670k is a fully unlocked multtiplier APU with disabled GPU!!

    HP must correct his technical spec :D
     
  13. john_

    john_

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    916 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I guess HP wanted an FX cpu on an FM2 socket so AMD gave them just that. A Richland with a name that will make HP happy.
     
  14. xorbe

    xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,273 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It has the extra cache??
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    AMD got extra cash!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Marty 1480

    Marty 1480

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Betelgeuse
    Apparently the Athlon versions of Kaveri are supposed to come out around summer / fall 2014. AMD needs to get stock up of failed iGPU units.
    Another strange thing is that AMD had on their website the 750k under the FX dept. I think they just can't place this processor. The 760K does not even show up.
     
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,561 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    yeah ... but afaik 750K is trinity and not richland like the X4 760K and only some of my etailer had the 760K BE in stock , and the 750K doesn't feature unlocked multi. (ok the 750K is also a Piledriver microarch i forgot that xD )
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare_CPUs/AMD_AD750KWOA44HJ,AMD_AD760KWOA44HL/
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/880/AMD_Athlon_X4_750K_vs_AMD_Athlon_X4_760K.html
    http://www.cpu-world.com/benchmarks/browse/1076_99,1052_99/

    the 651K (Llano) has a unlocked multi tho
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare_CPUs/AMD_AD651KWNZ43GX,AMD_AD750KWOA44HJ,AMD_AD760KWOA44HL/

    so in the end only the 651K is correct in that statement
     
  18. HisDivineOrder

    HisDivineOrder

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    152 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    This is the future of the FX series.

    FX will be unlocked APU's. Yay. From quadcores masquerading as octacores we "progress" to dualcores masquerading as quadcores.

    AMD's firing on all cylinders.
     
  19. Marty 1480

    Marty 1480

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Betelgeuse
    That has been pretty much developing. With the demise of AM3+, it seems AMD is focusing on FM2, FM2+. Maybe we will see some more powerful FX CPUs for FM2+. No wonder all the motherboard makers are moving to provide their top gaming and overclocking goodies on FM2+ boards.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)