1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    not just me dude. pretty much most people have had horrible experiences with asus RMA here.
    but its just a local issue i guess.

    also mate. thats a 9370. i OC'd to 5GHz on a 8320 lol. you can push a lot more?
     
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I don't think I agree with asus motherboards being flakey dude , mine is a few years old and has had a hard life but is 100% working.
    I do agree their support sucks though.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  3. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    I did the same with my 8350 till I killed it. Ha ha
    One and only has some good points. They are solidboards through and through and most of the RMA issues I have seen have been with INTEL stuff with claims of bent pins which I have seen before pics and they weren't bent. Yes ASUS is dropping the ball or they have some poor tech staff possibly. Don't know through my 10 years all has been positive.
    One thing I do know is that the lower end boards typically won't perform when you really want to push a CPU. Sometimes bios options are just missing or the VRM can't quite handle it but thee's a reason they are cheaper.
     
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    here the issues are more severe they die withtin 6months and have a pretty much 50% mortality rate. a friend of mines sabertooth 990fx died 75days after purchase.
    and my previous board used to take a trip to the rma center very 6 months. no reason. just stopped working. and whenever i went there i would see a large rack about 10ft long filled with sabertooth motherboards only.
    something that is supposed to be "durable"


    Well that was it for me . after 2 years i just got this new setup.
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,498 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Can you put the machine in S3 state, leave it for sometime and wake it up, run some games, general browsing etc. May be do this for few times, if its still stable at 4.5 then its really really stable!! I have seen OCs run for ever if you just restart and leave that thing alone, but when you use sleep the mobo messes the voltage applied until the OS calms down!! that's when it crashes.

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,890 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    The Ph2 ran 1.5 no problem. Reminds me of the Axp days
     
  7. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    Sounds like you had some bad luck. In 10 years I've had 1 RMA and it went quite smooth. I have 6 Asus boards at home one is 8 or 9 years old even after a major water leak once it keeps on ticking. Also have 5 Asus DCII GFX cards not one issue with those either. Like I said earlier to each their own.
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    interesting but i tested the 4.5 with prime and cinebench its pretty stable. but the 5GHz wont stabilize even when i got it to run prime it gave a lower score. lol.
     
  9. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    So you had that 8320 running P95 @ 5.0 with a CM Hyper 212?
     
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    i see you cannot comprehend english. i said i tested 4.5 with prime and yes i did. it was only at 1.4V.

    and the CM hyper 212 EVO is on par with most cheap AIO water coolers.
     
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    You tend to need much more than a 212 to get a fx to stay at 5ghz dude, most aios are not going to cut it too unless you flat out the fan speeds.
    I've plenty of rad on mine and it uses it for 5ghz @ 1.568 core v stable less core volts = not stable. .... obv my fx is a pig but still.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,816 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    No need for the hostility, it's a simple misunderstanding:
    I noticed it too, but figured you meant Cinebench since you mentioned score being lower.
     
    Johan45 says thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    i dont think my mobo itself will support the TDP at 1.5V :D so didnt try.
     
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Well I've got a fair bit more than that out of it by accident once , I accidentally booted at 1.7.
    Well to be fair it applied a crazy offset to 1.5 which should not have happened but a bios reflash stopped that happening , and I have a ek block on my crosshair v which helps.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    yea plus my ambient is around 35C. that doesnt help. things get hot real quick.
     
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
  17. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,299 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,989
    Location:
    Mexico
    I got a good deal on a Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 8GB kit so I will use those instead. Should get them by wednesday.

    I have a Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3 collecting dust, I think I'll get a 6300/6350 and use the OCZ RAM there. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    Johan45 says thanks.
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,299 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,989
    Location:
    Mexico
    Stacked fans?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    they'd have to be some fans. 5ghz vishera would be over 225watts!
     
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    well i only needed 1.45V and had a pedestal fan blowing at it full throttle and it was raining so cool. it cant run prime .but it does validate lol.

    seriously impressed by this motherboard. i had a friend who benched a 8350 on a 990 evo but couldnt get more than 4.8 to post.
     
  22. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    Didnt realise we was talking about your chip DDD!

    Rock out AMD!
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  23. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    That's because a validation link looks like this http://valid.canardpc.com/2hwhtk not a facebook reference. That's fine I saw your post on the previous page, not doubt you managed to get to 5.0.

    That's a myth, stacked fans does nothing. The only way it has any benefit is if the second fan turns the opposite direction and then it's minimal.
     
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,094 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    i thought i had the 5ghz validation in my signature. i guess i reached the max no of urls.
    here it is
    [​IMG]

    http://valid.canardpc.com/rthd7h

    you seem to have something with believing what i say. But then you're new here.

    and yes its stable enough to do that on air as i have done so.

    just had a panaflow 100+ cfm fan directed with a pedestal fan.



    and yes stacked fans dont work because they only increase the static pressure but not the actual flow rate.
    but having fans in the same direction of airflow on either side of a heatsink or any obstructive path helps because that creates a uniform pressure head which helps with the airflow and even reduces turbulence.

    the latter happens because because of the negative head the air going in, air will follow the shortest path of least resistance possible to the negative head. and since a streamline is the shortest least resistant way, no turbulence.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  25. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    @de.das.dude It's not believing what you say and I do understand english quite well. This all started with a claim that the Asrock extreme 4 is the best. I just don't feel that way and thought that was quite a statement to make. My opinion is, it's probably a great budget board that'll handle the power of an 8 core FX CPU.
    I might be new here but this isn't my first trip around the block, I have spent a lot of time with AMD and FX CPUs. I do know that when the chips are down you need a good solid base to keep things from blowing up in our face. Here's a sample of what I was up to on the weekend. Done on an ASUS Crosshair III.

    1090T cine11 8.jpg
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)