• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Not sure but with that mobo you may be able to unlock extra cores from 6 to 8. My Crosshair V hasd that bios option. :D
Bulldozer uses a modular design so it's likely that there are no extra cores to unlock.

Now this isn't bulldozer but chips come out in big wafers like this one


Because of the way bulldozer is designed in theory they can just choose the best clusters for their 8 cores.

What ever is left is made into 6 and 4 core chips ( which is why the 6 and 4 core chips seem to require more voltage from what I've seen so far)
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
432 (0.10/day)
Likes
30
Location
NJ
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III Formula
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H70 Push/Pull
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB 8-8-8-21 1.65v
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290-DC2OC-4GD5
Storage Transend TS256GSSD320 / WD 1TB Black 64MB Cache
Display(s) Westinghouse 37" LCD 1920x1080P
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mesh
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI Fatality Pro/Supreme XFI
Power Supply Antec True Power Quattro 1000W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Ok core enabler does nothing, kindof knew it would not unlock any cores... I am at a simple 4GHZ stable and the only thing I have done is raise the multi to 20 and bumped the volts up by .8 and bam... Prob the easiest overclock I have ever done and I seriously mean that...:) The Asus Sabertooth has so many options in the bios but sadly I do not know enough of what does what... I just like raising CPU vcore or NB vcore, lol...

I love this 6100 everything snaps open and I honestly see no difference gaming BF3 then my intel rig. No bottleneck here... This is what kindof bugs me about synthetic benchmarks... Who knows call me ignorant but I just do not feel the desire to purchase intel, I much rather go with AMD... :roll:
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Thanks for the info dude :toast: However, seems to be doing very low PPD. Seems like on average about 28,000 WCG. My 1090T does on average about 25-2600 at 3.8 GHz with two less cores. Not sure why those CPU's are not getting higher PPD.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
anyone suspect a stepping revision of BD besides the Piledriver due to the miscount of the transistors inside?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
I've got a 8150 on the way. Disappointing or not, i'm looking forward to playing with the new chip.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Thanks for the info dude :toast: However, seems to be doing very low PPD. Seems like on average about 28,000 WCG. My 1090T does on average about 25-2600 at 3.8 GHz with two less cores. Not sure why those CPU's are not getting higher PPD.
Slow cores vs. faster cores.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Slow cores vs. faster cores.
Thing is BD is only supposed to be 10% slower IPC so one at 4.4ghz should be the same speed as a 4ghz Phenom with the same amount of cores.


So I reckon there's a problem somewhere :laugh:
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,261 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
anyone suspect a stepping revision of BD besides the Piledriver due to the miscount of the transistors inside?
There is no reason to suspect. They blunt stated their would be a stepping revision before Piledriver's debut. And is was not a miscount of transistors. It was a typo in the documents sent to reviewers. It was just another example of the PR department failing at their old job.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So your saying that the FX has the proper amt of transistors just that PR didnt QA their own writing
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
So your saying that the FX has the proper amt of transistors just that PR didnt QA their own writing
That's the gist of it. AMD has been poorly managed and this is another indicator of that. Hopefully things are turning around now with new management.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I hope so too, but who knows the Piledriver arch might be more than we expected, possibly what BD was truly supposed to be, I mean BD landed on Opterons first and this first gen desktop model probably isnt even changed from the Opterons at all other than the socket used.

I Just know my next board will be an AsRock,

Either the 990FX Extreme 4 or the Fatality.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,261 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
So your saying that the FX has the proper amt of transistors just that PR didnt QA their own writing
I know it. I received those PR kits and the 4 revisions to the documents after the initial release. I think when I started the review I had FX-8150 Overview version 1.7, Bulldozer PR version 1.4, and another document that was on version 1.2 (started with 1 and incremental changes for each 0.1).

So do I think something got lost in the shuffle or there were still typos, yes I do. I know cause I had to correct some of them. Those document still list the GPU speed of the APU's as 443 MHz even though they all run at 444 MHz. I could be wrong, but I believe I was the first to correctly list the APU's specs related to GPU speed and only now see other sites with the correct info.

I didn't think releasing all those people was a good move by AMD, but I shed no tears for the PR department. They needed to be fired long ago and I think AMD just wanted till there was going to be downtime for their PR to rebuild the dept.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
So just been playing with various configurations whilst running cine-bench.

At 4.46ghz ( highest I can get without temperatures going over 62)

I get 7.33 consistently.

With Turbo on @5ghz I get the same, so I confirm their are no negative effects to using turbo during multi-threaded work loads. ( even though frequency read outs would make you think scores would be lower)

With cores 0/2/4/6 Disabled I get 4.35, with turbo on I get 4.39.

Turbo just doesn't seem to work correctly ( it ramps up cores all over the place, only getting to 5ghz for the shortest of bursts and typically only on one or two cores)

I'll try again tomorrow but I'll disable cores in the bios rather than through task manager.
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.30/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.30/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
Turbo just doesn't seem to work correctly ( it ramps up cores all over the place, only getting to 5ghz for the shortest of bursts and typically only on one or two cores)
i ve seen in AOD a setting to choose the amount of TurboCores 2/4/6
i disabled turbocore , i dont see any benefit of that feature yet
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
1,647 (0.58/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Alberta,Canada
Processor just a few i7's all AMD's gone to friends
Motherboard Mother F%#@& am I board
Cooling It's called Alberta Canada.
Memory Don't remember.
Video Card(s) Hope for blckjack
Storage hurt my toe's when droped
Display(s) never big enough
Case I think they call it a lost case
Audio Device(s) What speek up I'm old.
Power Supply Good old coffee
Software when you get this old everything is soft
Benchmark Scores Always on the bench never on the field.
any one know why it says I have a 8130P?

 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.30/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
1,647 (0.58/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Alberta,Canada
Processor just a few i7's all AMD's gone to friends
Motherboard Mother F%#@& am I board
Cooling It's called Alberta Canada.
Memory Don't remember.
Video Card(s) Hope for blckjack
Storage hurt my toe's when droped
Display(s) never big enough
Case I think they call it a lost case
Audio Device(s) What speek up I'm old.
Power Supply Good old coffee
Software when you get this old everything is soft
Benchmark Scores Always on the bench never on the field.
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.30/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
So just been playing with various configurations whilst running cine-bench.

At 4.46ghz ( highest I can get without temperatures going over 62)

I get 7.33 consistently.

With Turbo on @5ghz I get the same, so I confirm their are no negative effects to using turbo during multi-threaded work loads. ( even though frequency read outs would make you think scores would be lower)

With cores 0/2/4/6 Disabled I get 4.35, with turbo on I get 4.39.

Turbo just doesn't seem to work correctly ( it ramps up cores all over the place, only getting to 5ghz for the shortest of bursts and typically only on one or two cores)

I'll try again tomorrow but I'll disable cores in the bios rather than through task manager.
I get 7.38 to 7.42 at 4.2 (depending on whats running in the background) with a 1090T
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,261 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
So just been playing with various configurations whilst running cine-bench.

At 4.46ghz ( highest I can get without temperatures going over 62)

I get 7.33 consistently.

With Turbo on @5ghz I get the same, so I confirm their are no negative effects to using turbo during multi-threaded work loads. ( even though frequency read outs would make you think scores would be lower)

With cores 0/2/4/6 Disabled I get 4.35, with turbo on I get 4.39.

Turbo just doesn't seem to work correctly ( it ramps up cores all over the place, only getting to 5ghz for the shortest of bursts and typically only on one or two cores)

I'll try again tomorrow but I'll disable cores in the bios rather than through task manager.
At that temp, the CPU is going over the safety margin so Turbo can't work well or for very long. Remember +300 MHz for all cores, +600 MHz for half the cores if and on if the CPU is below the TDP limit for Turbo.