• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,932 (8.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
O
mooooooar results erocker!
I would like to request that someone disables four cores to see if you can achieve a higher clock with less power consumption, please.
Thanks erocker. Just also wanted to check what are your ambient and also are you using the additional 4 pin CPU power plug on the board?

Oh and one more thing, how are you checking power consumption?
*Blah. It's going on the test bench now. Bad Windows install... I don't know.

I've been having RAID issues. Instability can cause a RAID to go haywire and it did. First time surprisingly so I've been lucky. It took me a while to realize it was the RAID that was causing my issues, so that's what I've been doing all night. Hopefully, no more blue screens.

Ambient is 23c. I'm not currently using the extra 4 pin connector, though I probably will try it eventually once I go for higher clocks. I might disable cores eventually and try OC'ing as well. I'm measuring power with the LED display on my UPS.
 
Last edited:

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.63/day)
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
Only 43 GFlops @ 5GHz??? That sounds terrible, am I missing something?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.49/day)
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
Shit that memory b/w is huge Dumo!!

On another note, has anybody got a 8120? I got one coming from the states (thanks TIG :)) There were no 8150's in stock.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,086 (3.62/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.

martthefart

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
147 (0.04/day)
System Name martthefart lol
Processor amd 1090t 6 core 3.2
Motherboard gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling all stock
Memory 6 gig ram ddr3
Video Card(s) gaimward gtx 460 756mb se
Storage samsung 320gig
Display(s) viewsonic va2213w
erocker is the bd chip as bad as all the reviews say?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,929 (0.95/day)
Location
West Chester, OH
One thing I'm seeing that is pretty common across the board is the voltages needed to hit certain frequencies. Looks to be similar to what dumo and erocker are reporting, compared to reviews and posts on xtremesystems.
 

martthefart

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
147 (0.04/day)
System Name martthefart lol
Processor amd 1090t 6 core 3.2
Motherboard gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling all stock
Memory 6 gig ram ddr3
Video Card(s) gaimward gtx 460 756mb se
Storage samsung 320gig
Display(s) viewsonic va2213w
think i will get 1 ,will there be much better than my 1090t ?????
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,537 (1.89/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2304
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3466cas16 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
With the other hardware in my system specs minus the 2500k and AsRock board.

5ghz under load at 1.475v 500w

4.7ghz under load at 1.375v 400w - idling at 220w
dosnt seem that bad to me with 2x 6950 in plus drives and fans etc id wager my ol rig uses way more, have you overclocked your memory alongside that lovely cpu oc Erocker? im interested in the effect all over ocin has on performance ,its nice to see ya pushing the bus not just the multis:) that works v well on ol core 2 quads



I've been having RAID issues. Instability can cause a RAID to go haywire and it did. First time surprisingly so I've been lucky. It took me a while to realize it was the RAID that was causing my issues, so that's what I've been doing all night. Hopefully, no more blue screens.

must be that time of year im just putting stuff back on after a raid crash that didnt look like one(my pc got dissassembled a few times as it didnt look like raid issue) and how useless is ms's backup and recovery grrrr
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,214 (0.40/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k @ 4GHz Undervolted
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage LSI 9266-8i|3xHitachi SAS 15K600 450GB RAID5|6x WD RE Enterprise 4TB in RAID 10|HP Ultrium 1760 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber/Sony CDP-XA20ES/Pioneer CT-656>Sony TA-F630ESD>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,537 (1.89/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2304
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3466cas16 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
from them charts id say if you dont expect to be buying any new soft then stick with ph2 but if you expect to buy software wrote this year you could poss net upto 40% better performance old shit runs about the same new soft works better on it
 

martthefart

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
147 (0.04/day)
System Name martthefart lol
Processor amd 1090t 6 core 3.2
Motherboard gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling all stock
Memory 6 gig ram ddr3
Video Card(s) gaimward gtx 460 756mb se
Storage samsung 320gig
Display(s) viewsonic va2213w
ok cheers will wait afew months see what happens martyn
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,929 (0.95/day)
Location
West Chester, OH
think i will get 1 ,will there be much better than my 1090t ?????
I honestly don't think it will make you step back and go 'wow, this blows away my 1090t'.
I had that feeling when I went to sandy bridge from my x58 setup and compared to my 1090t setup at 4.5 my sandy bridge setup at 4.5 or beyond makes that seem... well.... out of the same league.

Bulldozer obviously isn't the performance jump that sandy bridge was from nehalem, we all know that. But if you want an '8' core that overclocks easy and may have a performance increase up its sleeve under windows 8, jump on it. But I guarantee in about a month or two we will see some price drops so if you can wait I would. I plan on waiting before buying, but I may end up getting a 2700k and skipping bulldozer altogether. My current 2500k is multiplier walled at 49 whereas my first one happily went over 50 as long as you kept it voltage happy. I want to love bulldozer, but everytime I see results from fellow enthusiasts, the bulldozer sparkle in my eye slowly dwindles. :[
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.78/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Well in and of themselves these clocks are noice to say the least. Certainly will keep an eye on this thread.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,366 (1.43/day)
Location
Carrollton, GA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 3200 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gigabyte Aorus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Storage WD Blue M.2 1TB SSD :: 10 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
Unless your CPU is a few generations old or your are running at least 2 GPUs, its just not worth switching to a Zambezi chip. Those of us on 1 GPU with a Phenom II X4 970+ or X6, it will be a lateral move with the exception of a few things. If you are running 2 or more GPUs, then the memory bandwidth should breath some life into your AMD rig if the CPU was choking them. I say if because some duff will be Crossfiring two 6770 which are not being choked, they just suck....respectively. If you got two 6950s and running a Thuban, you should see a lot of improvement there.

P.S. I call BS on those 7-Zip results.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,095 (3.50/day)
So, any specific tips to get past a wall you've found when clocking?

Good to hear BD mem speeds hel Crossfire, validates what I've been saying for months.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,234 (2.45/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Biggest Investment | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN(sold for funds :( )
Processor FX 8320
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB |
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 | 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | WD 500GB Green
Display(s) Dell 2240L
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333
Power Supply Corsair GS600
Mouse Logitech G400, F310, F710
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
I would like to request that someone disables four cores to see if you can achieve a higher clock with less power consumption, please.
like i got 4ghz on stock cooling on my x4 :p ?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,366 (1.43/day)
Location
Carrollton, GA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 3200 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gigabyte Aorus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Storage WD Blue M.2 1TB SSD :: 10 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
So, any specific tips to get past a wall you've found when clocking?

Good to hear BD mem speeds hel Crossfire, validates what I've been saying for months.
I am still trying to sort out what is the issue. I know it is not heat. The temperature readings seem to be accurate. Northbridge and HyperTransport voltage bumps help once you get to around 4.5 GHz. Around 4.7 GHz it becomes more about finesse as voltage bumps start to either not help or make things worse.

There seems to be some kinda of voltage load fail safe. I got it up and testing at 4.9 GHz, but when I ran a OCCT it didn't crash. It instead started running at only about 58% load and the OC started reading 4.2 GHz.

After I switch to water I am going to play with the bus since the multiplier is not giving me anything else.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
715 (0.14/day)
Location
NYC
I asked a friend that tested early BD sample and he said that....

"BD has a massive trip point if the current raised too high. When the VDD is bumped to 1.51V the power consumption increases to 310W. In normal conditions this is not possible, but because the trip point for leakage current has been reached the power consumption simply gets out of hand. To get the leakage current back down the temperature must be lowered".
 
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
1,430 (0.47/day)
Location
A frozen turdberg.
System Name Runs Smooth
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard Crosshair V Formula Z
Cooling Corsair H110 with AeroCool Shark 140mm fans
Memory 16GB G-skill Trident X 1866 Cl. 8
Video Card(s) HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHZ Edition
Storage OCZ Vector 256GB SSD & 1Tb piece of crap
Display(s) acer H243H
Case NZXT Phantom 820 matte black
Audio Device(s) Nada
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 V2 850 watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Lesbians are hot!!!
like i got 4ghz on stock cooling on my x4 :p ?
Exactly. And they are supposed to perform better as a quad, so higher clocks, more performance and less power draw is a win.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,366 (1.43/day)
Location
Carrollton, GA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 3200 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gigabyte Aorus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Storage WD Blue M.2 1TB SSD :: 10 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
I asked a friend that tested early BD sample and he said that....

"BD has a massive trip point if the current raised too high. When the VDD is bumped to 1.51V the power consumption increases to 310W. In normal conditions this is not possible, but because the trip point for leakage current has been reached the power consumption simply gets out of hand. To get the leakage current back down the temperature must be lowered".
Or you can back the voltage down.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.25/day)
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Can somebody switch off one core per module (1 Module = 1 Core on and 1 Core off) to make the 8150 a 4 core CPU then benchmark it.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,366 (1.43/day)
Location
Carrollton, GA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 3200 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gigabyte Aorus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Storage WD Blue M.2 1TB SSD :: 10 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
Can somebody switch off one core per module (1 Module = 1 Core on and 1 Core off) to make the 8150 a 4 core CPU then benchmark it.
There is suppose to be a BIOS update for the ASUS Crosshair V that can do that. To me it sounds like AMD is using ASUS are trying to avoid sending new chips for 6 and 4 core to reviewers. So it is possible with that board, but I don't think that will be a universal thing.
 
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
1,430 (0.47/day)
Location
A frozen turdberg.
System Name Runs Smooth
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard Crosshair V Formula Z
Cooling Corsair H110 with AeroCool Shark 140mm fans
Memory 16GB G-skill Trident X 1866 Cl. 8
Video Card(s) HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHZ Edition
Storage OCZ Vector 256GB SSD & 1Tb piece of crap
Display(s) acer H243H
Case NZXT Phantom 820 matte black
Audio Device(s) Nada
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 V2 850 watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Lesbians are hot!!!
Can somebody switch off one core per module (1 Module = 1 Core on and 1 Core off) to make the 8150 a 4 core CPU then benchmark it.
This isn't a benchmark thread. It is for overclocking only. I think there should be an official benchmark thread too though.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,932 (8.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
This isn't a benchmark thread. It is for overclocking only. I think there should be an official benchmark thread too though.
No it's for benching too. The last thing anyone needs is another damn Bulldozer thread.

So, my FX is on the test bench now. Getting blue screens at stock and right now I don't know what the problem is. Possibly my SSD. Anyways no time until Sunday to work this crap out.

erocker is the bd chip as bad as all the reviews say?
All the reviewers are liars. This is the best chip evar!!!11!1
 
Last edited:
Top