• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
I usually stop the test if it goes much higher than 60. At 4.5 it gets around 55-58 under load. Any higher clock its up above 60. Wasnt paying attention and got to 69 once. Might be moving to water soon, I dont like it so hot
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Guys, my 8120 keeps throttling back and forth between 3.0 GHz and 3.3 GHz. It's not running hot or anything. I don't think I've missed any settings I need to turn off in the BIOS. Anybody wanna run them by me again, maybe I'm forgetting something...
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
im still waiting on a water pump so have not oc'd my fx yet however I thought id mention ,you two may be hitting Amds new TDP / temp limits which I think would cause a Bsd, What I mean is they will only work within a certain TDP and temp envelope so your oc is going to have to be well thought out and cooled to remain stable..
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
Guys, my 8120 keeps throttling back and forth between 3.0 GHz and 3.3 GHz. It's not running hot or anything. I don't think I've missed any settings I need to turn off in the BIOS. Anybody wanna run them by me again, maybe I'm forgetting something...
Captn, I would disable Turbo, CnQ, all energy saving features in BIOS and let 8120 run at 3,6 GHz minimum.
Do you use it for crunching, right?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
Guys, my 8120 keeps throttling back and forth between 3.0 GHz and 3.3 GHz. It's not running hot or anything. I don't think I've missed any settings I need to turn off in the BIOS. Anybody wanna run them by me again, maybe I'm forgetting something...
Ckn, easy fix. Look for APM in the BIOS and disable it. That should be all you need to toggle off to keep it from throttling if you're not pushing the volts.

Here's why the APM features causes throttling:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4481/details-on-amd-bulldozer-opterons-to-feature-configurable-tdp/3
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Captn, I would disable Turbo, CnQ, all energy saving features in BIOS and let 8120 run at 3,6 GHz minimum.
Do you use it for crunching, right?
Yes, just crunching.

Ckn, easy fix. Look for APM in the BIOS and disable it. That should be all you need to toggle off to keep it from throttling if you're not pushing the volts.

Here's why the APM features causes throttling:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4481/details-on-amd-bulldozer-opterons-to-feature-configurable-tdp/3
Thanks buddy :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
Hopefully AMD keeps pumping out chips for us enthusiasts :)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
Hopefully AMD keeps pumping out chips for us enthusiasts :)
Damn skipy :) ,anyone know anything about fx8350 serials mine says
fd8350frw8khk
fa 1242pgt
9k 13362j20287

And has a T bottom corner of interposer

is this sounding like a good one?.

Also serves to store the serial a bit as im going to lapp it in a minute. Nah saved lapping for another day . It lives :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
Damn skipy :) ,anyone know anything about fx8350 serials mine says
fd8350frw8khk
fa 1242pgt
9k 13362j20287

And has a T bottom corner of interposer

is this sounding like a good one?.

Also serves to store the serial a bit as im going to lapp it in a minute. Nah saved lapping for another day . It lives :)
I never looked at the serial on mine before I installed it. Now I dont wanna take it out just to check that
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
I cantget my 8350 stable at 5ghz on my board either. It will boot just fine but any load at all its not stable. Even with like 1.65v is as high as Ive gone still not stable.
Asrock issued a new Fatality board with 12x2 phase control on your VRMS. You might want to upgrade. Should help on voltage and temps quite a bit.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,232 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,816
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Asrock issued a new Fatality board with 12x2 phase control on your VRMS. You might want to upgrade. Should help on voltage and temps quite a bit.
its the Extreme 9
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
on the subject of voltage, im ocing my fx4100 been stable at 4.2ghz for all today on prime, multiple applications open, temps 55ish!

but in bios I have set vcore at 1.309, when I check vcore in bios its 1.332, in OS its 1.368 and full load jumps between 1.320 and 1.404???
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
on the subject of voltage, im ocing my fx4100 been stable at 4.2ghz for all today on prime, multiple applications open, temps 55ish!

but in bios I have set vcore at 1.309, when I check vcore in bios its 1.332, in OS its 1.368 and full load jumps between 1.320 and 1.404???
Without a mulitmeter those readings are probably wrong anyway.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
yea I was told I cant rely on software for voltage...I do have like three or four monitoring tools which all say the same. also been told asus m5 boards use a digi vrm which adds more voltage.

how do you guys tell what volts to set etc? my temps are fine, no crashes, if I set vcore any lower the prime wont initiate. would you say im about there?

and thanks
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
Hopefully AMD keeps pumping out chips for us enthusiasts :)

Good to see you posting again. We have ran out of issues so. The activity is low here. I have been spending a good deal of time on overclockers.com official AMD Fish era FX-8350/8320 forum. Lots of info and a very knowledgeable, but arrogant moderator there called Kyad. Had to tell him off a couple of times when he called me a liar and such when I made an honest error.No big deal.
Did you hear that Swiftech has the H220 water cooler coming out next month for US $139.99? It is upgradeable and has a 240 mm all copper radiator very powerful pump superior tubing and water block. It comes as a typical AOC water loop, but you can add another radiator and block for GPU relatively easily. High
Quality and far better than anything Corsair has out or in the works. The pump itself is 6 watts as opposed to the 1.6 watt pump on the H100 of Corsair. Will give you non-stressed 4-5 degree better temps than H 100 and under full load far better than that. I'm waiting for their H320 to be released in a few months, it is basically the same as H320 Swiftech but has 360 mm radiator copper and a third 120mm fan. These units are far quieter than the Corsair , even under load.
Also available in Canada late February at NC something or other.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
yea I was told I cant rely on software for voltage...I do have like three or four monitoring tools which all say the same. also been told asus m5 boards use a digi vrm which adds more voltage.

how do you guys tell what volts to set etc? my temps are fine, no crashes, if I set vcore any lower the prime wont initiate. would you say im about there?

and thanks
Well after setting the vcore in BIOS, i just stick LLC on ultra and all you can do is assume it's what i set it to with a touch more on top of that. I run stability tests at every 0.01v difference until stability tests run.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
Without a mulitmeter those readings are probably wrong anyway.
Probably not wrong. Due to vdroop on a cheap motherboard that doesn't have proper LLC options. (line load calibration). Those AMD 970 and even some 990X boards have inadequate VRMs and inadequate LLC control to regulate voltages and compensate for vdroop. So you would have to add the difference between the voltage in bios and voltage in the os to your bios setting.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
yea I was told I cant rely on software for voltage...I do have like three or four monitoring tools which all say the same. also been told asus m5 boards use a digi vrm which adds more voltage.

how do you guys tell what volts to set etc? my temps are fine, no crashes, if I set vcore any lower the prime wont initiate. would you say im about there?

and thanks

See my earlier post your motherboard probably lacks proper LLC control unless you are not taking advantage of it in your bios setting. What motherboard you using?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
asus M5a78Lmusb3

my LLC options are auto, 0% - 100%! also my vcore settings are a bit strange and when I type in a number itll change to their settings and their increments are 1.3000 1.30175 etc

this is what I mean by my voltage scale. bios its set at 1.309

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
asus M5a78Lmusb3

my LLC options are auto, 0% - 100%! also my vcore settings are a bit strange and when I type in a number itll change to their settings and their increments are 1.3000 1.30175 etc

this is what I mean by my voltage scale. bios its set at 1.309

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/989/21069198.png
That motherboard will not cut it for overclocking purposes. Inadequate phase control and LLC options are not adequate. But as I said you need to compensate for vdroop bu adding the difference between vcore voltage in bios and in the operating system after boot. Add the difference to your bios setting. That will help with stability for the short run. You really need to upgrade to a better motherboard. This cpu as you knwo produces a good amount of heat and your VRMs need to have better phase control and better heat sinks that you'll find on better AM3+ motherboards. examples Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 2.0 or Crosshairs V Z. Gigabyte 990FX UD5 or UD 7, and Asrock Fatality Extreme 9.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
Did some testing this weekend with the stock voltage. First off, the stock voltage on my 8320 is 1.360v (when loaded). Highest I can go with 1.360v is 4.3 and its completely stable. 4.4 requires a 0.025v bump, and 4.5 requires a 0.050v bump. Actual load for 4.5GHz is actually 1.376v-1.400v. Anything after that, and it needs more juice than 0.025-0.050v. 4.715GHz (205x23) needs 1.475v (load) to be stable, idle is 1.504v, and temps are still well under 60C. Temps sit around 53-54c during IBT. The issue with the board I have though, isn't that the 8320 can't take more volts and higher multipliers. It has no issue booting a 5-5.2GHz. The problem is the vrm's get too hot. Anything after 4.71GHz and the vrm's start hitting 70C+, with causes em to down some phases to lower temps. Which of course ultimately, makes things unstable (referring to stress testing).

So, anyone who is looking at boards in the $100-130 range with 6-8 power phase designs, don't expect to reach above 4.7GHz with 100% stability. To be safe, I'd say 4.6-4.7 is about as high as you're going to go on a $100-$140 board, and thats only if you get a decent chip that doesn't want gobs of vcore after 4.4Ghz (like some people were plagued with). You'll need to dip into the higher end 990FX's to get a REALLY good overclocking board. CHF, Sabertooth, UD7, etc.

Either or though, my $99 rev 1.2 (non-uefi bios) Gigabyte 970A UD3 is doing pretty damn good. I have no complaints. For my 24/7 setup, I'm sitting at 4.5Ghz / 1.4v in BIOS, 1.376v load. Barely hits 42C full load. :rockout:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
Your observations are quite accurate. Even with my original Crosshair V not a Z model, the 8x2 power phase could be improved upon. though they are better than most. My chips is not the greatest I can't get stable above 4.7 GHZ. And 4.7 requires about 1.5 core voltage. Not good. So I run it at 4.6 GHZ at 1.42 core voltage in bios. It would be nice if I had one of those"golden" chips. No such luck. Getting a replacement for my Corsair h100 in a couple of months. Corsair sucks with their aluminum radiator narrow diameter tubing and inferior pump etc. I am going to get either a Swiftech H220 with 240mm copper radiator , powerful 6watt pump as opposed to Corsairs 1.7 volt pump, and 5/8" tubing, and all copper water block. Better quality and lower temps than Corsair. I am waiting for the H320 which is the same as H220 except with 360mm copper radiator and a third 120mm fan. The fans run quieter and more efficiently than the Corsair fans. Should be available by April on Newegg a etc. The unit is expandable, you can add another radiator and water block for a gpu etc. The H220 will be available the end of February. they come pre-filled as closed loop. But as I said they can be expanded.

Did some testing this weekend with the stock voltage. First off, the stock voltage on my 8320 is 1.360v (when loaded). Highest I can go with 1.360v is 4.3 and its completely stable. 4.4 requires a 0.025v bump, and 4.5 requires a 0.050v bump. Actual load for 4.5GHz is actually 1.376v-1.400v. Anything after that, and it needs more juice than 0.025-0.050v. 4.715GHz (205x23) needs 1.475v (load) to be stable, idle is 1.504v, and temps are still well under 60C. Temps sit around 53-54c during IBT. The issue with the board I have though, isn't that the 8320 can't take more volts and higher multipliers. It has no issue booting a 5-5.2GHz. The problem is the vrm's get too hot. Anything after 4.71GHz and the vrm's start hitting 70C+, with causes em to down some phases to lower temps. Which of course ultimately, makes things unstable (referring to stress testing).

So, anyone who is looking at boards in the $100-130 range with 6-8 power phase designs, don't expect to reach above 4.7GHz with 100% stability. To be safe, I'd say 4.6-4.7 is about as high as you're going to go on a $100-$140 board, and thats only if you get a decent chip that doesn't want gobs of vcore after 4.4Ghz (like some people were plagued with). You'll need to dip into the higher end 990FX's to get a REALLY good overclocking board. CHF, Sabertooth, UD7, etc.

Either or though, my $99 rev 1.2 (non-uefi bios) Gigabyte 970A UD3 is doing pretty damn good. I have no complaints. For my 24/7 setup, I'm sitting at 4.5Ghz / 1.4v in BIOS, 1.376v load. Barely hits 42C full load. :rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
yea I noticed that the board has some difficulty in keeping vcore stable. im on a budget so will probably upgrade the board and buy another same vgcard for sli! any recommendations??

also when I reset the bios to default, the vcore is even worse with their settings. shall I just set it all minimal and stock, till new board?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
Your observations are quite accurate. Even with my original Crosshair V not a Z model, the 8x2 power phase could be improved upon. though they are better than most. My chips is not the greatest I can't get stable above 4.7 GHZ. And 4.7 requires about 1.5 core voltage. Not good. So I run it at 4.6 GHZ at 1.42 core voltage in bios. It would be nice if I had one of those"golden" chips. No such luck. Getting a replacement for my Corsair h100 in a couple of months. Corsair sucks with their aluminum radiator narrow diameter tubing and inferior pump etc. I am going to get either a Swiftech H220 with 240mm copper radiator , powerful 6watt pump as opposed to Corsairs 1.7 volt pump, and 5/8" tubing, and all copper water block. Better quality and lower temps than Corsair. I am waiting for the H320 which is the same as H220 except with 360mm copper radiator and a third 120mm fan. The fans run quieter and more efficiently than the Corsair fans. Should be available by April on Newegg a etc. The unit is expandable, you can add another radiator and water block for a gpu etc. The H220 will be available the end of February. they come pre-filled as closed loop. But as I said they can be expanded.
Don't forget about the XSPC kits. FrozenCPU is great with shipping btw, I've bought from them a few times.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...ew_Rev_4_Pump_Included_w_Free_Dead-Water.html