• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
This is better than the Corsair H 100 series?

Yes. They estimate at load 4 degrees celcius cooler than H100. The tubing is an 1/8 inch greater diameter than Corsair but is more flexible. Please check out their website, but better yet the forum on overclocker,.com for Swiftech. They are going to give Corsair a run for their money. They have been in the water cooling business for years, but not AIO. They manufacture their own pumps and radiators to keep their quality standards high.Their fans are quieter than Corsair while offering good air flow. They will be marketing in Canada at that chain NC something or other . I never remember their initials.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
This is better than the Corsair H 100 series?
Yes! The Corsair liquid coolers are made from outsourced components. Their radiators are aluminum and are made by the same company that produces radiators for Thermaltake and the other schlock brands. An all copper radiator is a better disperser of heat than an aluminum radiator. Custom water loops use copper radiators. Also the pump on Corsair H100 is a pathetic 1.7 watts versus the 5 watt pump that Swiftech designs and manufactures themselves for the H220 and H320. They demoed their new product at the C,E,S. In Las Vegas a few weeks back. Will be sold at that large Canadian computer retailer that begins with an N. Sorry I forgot the name but NC something or other. Checkout Swiftech's forum on overclocker.com
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
Sold my rig.....Going to build a beast, but I'm gonna wait it out until the summer. I'm still going to be on TPU everyday though, it's an addiction :)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
m
Sold my rig.....Going to build a beast, but I'm gonna wait it out until the summer. I'm still going to be on TPU everyday though, it's an addiction :)
Hope your staying with AMD. By late summer they should have a updated release of Vishera CPUs
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
m

Hope your staying with AMD. By late summer they should have a updated release of Vishera CPUs
Good to know, thanks. Who knows what I will go with atm, Intel/Nvidia/AMD I'm no fan boy so I shall assess the best options when the time comes and take it from there. Either way, I'm going to do it the right way this time and have a system that meets my now hefty requirements (Which really is just max gaming with smooth framerates plus a bit of media encoding ability)

High quality components, no skimping and hopefully, relatively quiet. I'm excited and yes, it will test my patience to wait but that build up to the actual day of getting your goodies and then ensuring the setup is tidy is the best bit I reckon. Other than the benching, gaming and stuff once it's up and running of course :)
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
I've wacked my FX-6300 upto 4.1ghz seeing as that is what it will turbo boost to. I am on the stock cooler and the most ive seen it get upto is 51c. I do ofcourse want it to go higher, hopefully 4.4/4.5Ghz. What budget/good cooler can I get to do the job of keeping it below 60c?

Ideas on a postcard :)
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
I've wacked my FX-6300 upto 4.1ghz seeing as that is what it will turbo boost to. I am on the stock cooler and the most ive seen it get upto is 51c. I do ofcourse want it to go higher, hopefully 4.4/4.5Ghz. What budget/good cooler can I get to do the job of keeping it below 60c?

Ideas on a postcard :)
Any after market air cooler is better than the stock. You can also try the Corsair H70 or H60 i think, good value and great performance.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
I use a Xigmatek HDT-S1283 with one fan even at 1.5v vcore i don't see anything over 52*
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Do the FX chips have individual core temp thermometers? Mine are showing exact same temp which dont seem right.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
FX core temp sensors are fubar mine read lower then ambient temps yet the motherboard cpu temp reading is right.
Even that is wrong at idle I get sub 20* readings
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
tmpin 0 1 are motherboard tmpim 1 may be vrm but im not sure.
For safety sake i leave hardware thermal control on to prevent meltdown, i figure if anything the chip will know its too hot and throttle since nothing else can read it properly.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Good idea, here's a screenshot of mine atm. Possibly 1 and 2 could be chipset?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Good idea, here's a screenshot of mine atm. Possibly 1 and 2 could be chipset?
u have no vrm cooling on the DS3 right ? that would lead me to believe tmpin 1 is VRM, 0 is NB and 2 is CPU like mine

you should be careful with voltage with those vrm's they will burn up and 65* is pretty much the limit for temps on FX IIRC
Basicly dont push that any further without better CPU cooling and some heat sinks on the VRM
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
I've got a 80mm fan blowing in from the case onto the chipset area, the NB gets hot even at stock and idle, I might get my digital thermometer out and have a probe about. I have only bumped the voltage up 1 notch in the bios, I did that only because OCCT came back with a error after 10-20 secs or so at 4.1Ghz, it still comes back with the error with the slight voltage increase but the system runs ok. Prime95 doesn't seem to stress all the cores for some reason?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
I've got a 80mm fan blowing in from the case onto the chipset area, the NB gets hot even at stock and idle, I might get my digital thermometer out and have a probe about. I have only bumped the voltage up 1 notch in the bios, I did that only because OCCT came back with a error after 10-20 secs or so at 4.1Ghz, it still comes back with the error with the slight voltage increase but the system runs ok. Prime95 doesn't seem to stress all the cores for some reason?
correct AVX enabled Linpac works best on real multicore CPU i use occt as well because prime does jack squat i can run an hour of prime at 4.8ghz under 50* AVX linpac errors within minutes and hits near 60*.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
I will get some of those little aluminium heatsinks, should help to get some heat away from them. Cheers
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,976
Likes
1,547
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
I have managed the highest eco over clock ive ever got 4.743 with turbo off and all economy features on .I can force it full clock in Windows or have it idleing at 1.5ghz.
Seems to me it likes to manage its own power with me mearly allowing between 1and 1.5 vcore
Mine neads lapping its IHS is dished in a bit
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,911
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
So since I got my 8320, I've been stable at 4.7 for 24/7 use. Has anyone been able to get there 83xx stable at 5GHz using air or AIW cooler? I had my chance back in January (when Tucson was at its coldest) but I wasn't able to get 5GHz stable. Now that spring is coming, I can forget about 5GHz lol.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,976
Likes
1,547
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
So since I got my 8320, I've been stable at 4.7 for 24/7 use. Has anyone been able to get there 83xx stable at 5GHz using air or AIW cooler? I had my chance back in January (when Tucson was at its coldest) but I wasn't able to get 5GHz stable. Now that spring is coming, I can forget about 5GHz lol.
I've got to 5 stabley .but it needed lots of corev and then got too hot over time.
I lapped it at the weekend and it was dished in significantly to the point that the tim wasn't looking good on removal.
I took stepped photos and imho its oddly concave .not any more though :)

Im waiting a short time for the tim to set and the spare time to have another go at 5+
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
5ghz was needing too much cpu voltage, like upwards of 1.65. more than I wanted to do. Never got it completely stable, as thats as many volts as I was willing to push. Also quite a bit toastier than I want. I'm seriously considering water now, getting some parts picked out. I'll have a build thread whenever that happens
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,184
Likes
4,793
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
its interesting that voltage deltas are pretty much the same as the Athlon XP days
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
I've got my new cooler heading to me so I'm looking forward to getting my chip faster, I've got some heat sinks enroute for the fets. Happy days :)
Is it just a matter of upping the multi and giving some more juice? Will my ddr 1600 run any faster with any great performance boost?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
Ya, the way I do it is just raise the multi one click, boot up and check for stability with prime95 or IBT and then if it isn't stable raise the voltage one and try it again.

What cooler do you have coming?

As far as I know CPU clock doesn't have much effect on memory performance. NB tends to be what helps in that regard, along with memory speed and timings of course.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Cooler master T2. Got a fairly hefty surface area on the ali and a 12cm fan. I'm going to put the stock fan off the billy basic cooler above the gets as I think keeping them cool is going to be my biggest headache. But if I can get 4.4ghz ish I will be happy. Maybe I will up the nb and maybe get a higher clock out the gpu? Will have a play.