• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
This is because the core temperature reported by the on-chip sensor isnt really accurate up till a certain point.
Amd's temperature sensor only becomes accurate from 45C and up, so if your temperatures are below 45C, chances are the socket sensor will report something like 40, while the core temps will be still hoovering somewhere close to 30-35.
That explains alot, thanks.

What are peoples thoughts on upping the NB? Is it best to find the highest stable clock on the CPU then start upping the NB speed? Does it need to be in any kind of ratio to the RAM etc? Bit of a noob on clocking the NB tbh.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
That explains alot, thanks.

What are peoples thoughts on upping the NB? Is it best to find the highest stable clock on the CPU then start upping the NB speed? Does it need to be in any kind of ratio to the RAM etc? Bit of a noob on clocking the NB tbh.
A link providing some insights in what part of the CPU leads to different kinds of performance benefits:)

In short, Higher is usually better, even when it comes to the FSB. Personally, I could go up to about 2560MHz on the NB before things started getting a bit unstable(weird quircks, not benchmark unstable perse), but ofc this may differ per CPU.

I'm not aware of any ratio between the NB and ram. It'll be fine for as long as the NB is clocked higher than the ram(iirc).
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
A link providing some insights in what part of the CPU leads to different kinds of performance benefits:)

In short, Higher is usually better, even when it comes to the FSB. Personally, I could go up to about 2560MHz on the NB before things started getting a bit unstable(weird quircks, not benchmark unstable perse), but ofc this may differ per CPU.

I'm not aware of any ratio between the NB and ram. It'll be fine for as long as the NB is clocked higher than the ram(iirc).
Another good bit of info, appreciate it muchly :rockout:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Just OC'd my new chip


 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,916 (0.65/day)
Likes
660
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
My CineBench 11.5 Scores

 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
if that's stable under prime would you be willing to test it with OCCT AVX linpac for an hour im really curious to see if prime is missing things or linpac is throwing false errors.
yea its stable its been running for awhile with no errors. And sure i could do that
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Nice OC. I thought prime95 was gash for testing FX chips? I am probably going to settle on 4.3Ghz as it's getting towards 60c after a good while stressing, anything higher needs more volts (1.30v @ 4.3) so this is probs my limit for long term safety's sake. I have tinkered with my HT link speed and upped that 200Mhz, don't know if it will make any difference, will have to find a decent enough free benching software, I only have passmark and furmark installed atm.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Grats dude:) temperatures look great! Looks like you might be able to sqeeze out another 100MHz!
Board won't let me go any higher than 4.4GHz. When i tried 4.5 system wouldn't boot
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
if that's stable under prime would you be willing to test it with OCCT AVX linpac for an hour im really curious to see if prime is missing things or linpac is throwing false errors.
Maxed out at 56c and didn't go any higher
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,916 (0.65/day)
Likes
660
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Maxed out at 56c and didn't go any higher
did it error tho that's what im really concerned about, whether OCCT AVX linpack is faulty or prime is not finding errors.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
398 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
Board won't let me go any higher than 4.4GHz. When i tried 4.5 system wouldn't boot
Yes you would definitely need to upgrade your board to a Sabertooth if you want to overclocking to 4.6 GHZ or so. 4+2 phase control is very limitying for overclocks . Can't properly handle voltage and heat issues.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Yes you would definitely need to upgrade your board to a Sabertooth if you want to overclocking to 4.6 GHZ or so. 4+2 phase control is very limitying for overclocks . Can't properly handle voltage and heat issues.
According to This database, the VRM's should be good enough to handle some more load, with a 6+2 phase system.

Perhaps he could try to OC a bit with the FSB, to see if he can get over 4.5GHz?

Edit: also, you might want to play with the other voltages a bit, sometimes this can also help with reaching higher clocks.
Furthermore, tuning the VRMs a bit by for an instance allowing more CPU current to run through the CPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
398 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
According to This database, the VRM's should be good enough to handle some more load, with a 6+2 phase system.

Perhaps he could try to OC a bit with the FSB, to see if he can get over 4.5GHz?

Edit: also, you might want to play with the other voltages a bit, sometimes this can also help with reaching higher clocks.
Furthermore, tuning the VRMs a bit by for an instance allowing more CPU current to run through the CPU.
Does that board have full LLC settings?? If not it makes it a lot more painful. I would still put a fan on the VRMS if nothing else to help with the temps. I have seen a bunch of boards mentioned here and on overclock.net that are 6+2 phase design that still give people problems. Perhaps the capacitors are not high enough quality???
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Does that board have full LLC settings?? If not it makes it a lot more painful. I would still put a fan on the VRMS if nothing else to help with the temps. I have seen a bunch of boards mentioned here and on overclock.net that are 6+2 phase design that still give people problems. Perhaps the capacitors are not high enough quality???
Indeed, putting some cooling on the VRM's is always a good idea. However, I suspect that there is something else the matter here, probably it is either current-limited, some voltage other than Core voltage needs to be upped, or the VRM's need to be tuned in another way.

According to the asus site, the board is quite feature rich when it comes to overclocking.

Therefore, I suggest that you set the:
CPU and NB current capability to 130% and 120%,
Load line calibration to high, or ultra high,
and if possible, turn on all the power phases at all times(if the board has this option)

Furthermore, if you want to get over 4,4GHz I would stay by my advice of trying the FSB aswell as the multiplier.

Good luck!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
did it error tho that's what im really concerned about, whether OCCT AVX linpack is faulty or prime is not finding errors.
No errors
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Yes you would definitely need to upgrade your board to a Sabertooth if you want to overclocking to 4.6 GHZ or so. 4+2 phase control is very limitying for overclocks . Can't properly handle voltage and heat issues.
Its 6+2 power phase not 4+2
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Does that board have full LLC settings?? If not it makes it a lot more painful. I would still put a fan on the VRMS if nothing else to help with the temps. I have seen a bunch of boards mentioned here and on overclock.net that are 6+2 phase design that still give people problems. Perhaps the capacitors are not high enough quality???
Yes it has full LLC settings
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,759 (0.76/day)
Likes
481
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
Nice OC. I thought prime95 was gash for testing FX chips? I am probably going to settle on 4.3Ghz as it's getting towards 60c after a good while stressing, anything higher needs more volts (1.30v @ 4.3) so this is probs my limit for long term safety's sake. I have tinkered with my HT link speed and upped that 200Mhz, don't know if it will make any difference, will have to find a decent enough free benching software, I only have passmark and furmark installed atm.
Your volts are really good. Isn't that a bit undervolted? Helps keep it cooler. I think you could probly go another 100mhz maybe without worrying too much.


@durvelle: just a friendly tip, its usually best to edit one post multiple times than to double or triple posts. ;) nice score in cinebench btw, I think thats better than mine at that speed
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Your volts are really good. Isn't that a bit undervolted? Helps keep it cooler. I think you could probly go another 100mhz maybe without worrying too much.


@durvelle: just a friendly tip, its usually best to edit one post multiple times than to double or triple posts. ;) nice score in cinebench btw, I think thats better than mine at that speed
It shows up in aida64 as about 1.33v under full load. I thought 60 was the most these chips could take? I don't want to kill it way before its time. It handles everything well barring FSX with loads of thick clouds, clearish weather is a doodle though. I've thought about clocking with the FSB abit but can't really be bothered tbh lol
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
398 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
It shows up in aida64 as about 1.33v under full load. I thought 60 was the most these chips could take? I don't want to kill it way before its time. It handles everything well barring FSX with loads of thick clouds, clearish weather is a doodle though. I've thought about clocking with the FSB abit but can't really be bothered tbh lol
Actually the recommended maximum sustained temperature is 62 Celsius.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,759 (0.76/day)
Likes
481
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
Yeah I think thats about the temp limit I would want to keep it at. But you said it only gets that hot during lengthy stress tests? Does it ever get that hot in FSX? I don't really know much about how much FSX can load your CPU.

Idk, to each their own on temps. With mine if I test it with IBT on extreme or whatever the highest setting is, I accidently got up almost to 70c. But during gaming it never gets that hot of course, highest I saw was close to 50. Still WAY warmer than I want. Thats why I'm looking into water cooling.

I'm wondering if its maybe this As5. I really don't like it that much; with noctuas NT-H1 stuff that came with my cooler, I got 40c max on my 1090t @4.2, and with As5 it would get to like 53c I think. It seems like a huge difference, I don't think I was applying too much or anything.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Yeah I think thats about the temp limit I would want to keep it at. But you said it only gets that hot during lengthy stress tests? Does it ever get that hot in FSX? I don't really know much about how much FSX can load your CPU.

Idk, to each their own on temps. With mine if I test it with IBT on extreme or whatever the highest setting is, I accidently got up almost to 70c. But during gaming it never gets that hot of course, highest I saw was close to 50. Still WAY warmer than I want. Thats why I'm looking into water cooling.

I'm wondering if its maybe this As5. I really don't like it that much; with noctuas NT-H1 stuff that came with my cooler, I got 40c max on my 1090t @4.2, and with As5 it would get to like 53c I think. It seems like a huge difference, I don't think I was applying too much or anything.
In FSX only 3 cores are running at full tilt, the others which I assume will be the modules are running at varying speeds depending on terrain etc, so it never gets too toasty, I think 4.3 is a sweet spot that it will happily chug along at, a 800mhz bump in speed is nothing to be sniffed at and as I say it handles every game I throw at it. So i'm happy enough. I may possibly wack the stock HSF in the case to cool the chipset abit as I have seen that get fairly hot, I think 65c is abit toasty for long periods. I still can't work out how the cores are cooler than the cpu itself?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
Yesterday I suffered some weird jam up's after I was playing intensive app's that stressed the system hard for a while, it happened when it was just idling along, it just froze and I had to kill power and start up. Not sure why it has just decided to start doing this. It is not jamming when being stress tested? I have had a fiddle on with the bios and have also updated it to the most recent bios (F6) I have also given it some more juice 1.35v. All seems stable now (touch wood)

Temps on the CPU are fine but I have noticed the chipset temps go up a little, hwmonitor has seen it spike to 67c but usually ticks along at 62/63c. Is this an ok temp? I have also directed a fan to blow over it which hopefully is helping.