1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Gaming Build for a friend

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Error 404, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I'm building a gaming rig for my friend, budget of AU$1600, and he's using it mostly for average gaming (nothing too heavy), and some photoshop artwork.
    Here's what I've got so far:

    Phenom II 945 $297
    Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P $206
    4 GB (2x2GB)DDR3-1333 G.Skill PI $92
    1 GB ASUS 4870 $239
    Seagate 1 TB $127
    SATA LG $39
    CoolerMaster CAC-T05 $117
    CoolerMaster Extreme Power 550 W $84
    22” 5ms DVI WS Philips 220BW9CB $219
    Vista x64 HP $156
    Coolermaster 120mm $10
    Gigabyte GK-K6150 $10
    Total: $1,596

    Not really planning on any overclocking, since he's not going to be doing benchmarks or anything too stressful, and there's always the option of an aftermarket cooler for later on. The board is Crossfire capable so a second 4870 could be dropped in.
    Prices from http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf

    Does everything check out?
     
  2. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Not bad everything looks good :D

    I actually recommend a westerndigital caviar black 1tb if possible :) unless it is a 7200.12 your getting
     
  3. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Not entirely sure what version of the HDD it is, since MSY's PDF sheet is a bit vague when it comes to details. The last WD I got from them was a Caviar, so I guess they might all be.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,866 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    build looks good, prices are right for Au atm.

    My only advice would be a smaller drive (320GB) for OS and games, with the 1TB for storage and backups. "putting all your eggs in one basket" and all that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Could do that, but the budget is stretched right to the limit. I've basically set the build up so that it can be easily and effectively upgraded; socket AM3, DDR3, Crossfire, all upgradeable.
    So everything is compatible? Probably building in just under a week from now. :D
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,866 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    just make sure you partition the drive then. I suggest 80GB or so for the OS side of things, and make sure he installs games on the other parition. That way if he has to format and reinstall, he doesnt lose 1TB of data.
     
    Error 404 and boomstik360 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    I agree with Mussels that is a very good idea to partition. +1 on that
     
  8. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I'll keep that in mind.
    Quick question, I've noticed the motherboard has an 8-pin power connector near the CPU; does that use the second 4-pin connector that is usually attached to the main power connector, or does the power supply have to support the 8-pin connection?
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    it must be supported i think.. i have such an 8pin on my psu additional to my 4pin and mainboard 20+4 pin...
     
  10. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    The power supply has its own 8pin for the CPU, it does not use the +4pin from the 20+4pin main connector.
     
  11. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    These are the connectors that Cooler Master lists on their website:
    M/B 20+4 Pin x 1
    CPU 4 Pin x 1
    PCI-E 6 Pin x 1
    4 Pin Peripheral x 6
    SATA x 3
    4 Pin Floppy x 2

    I don't see any 8-pin on that, only the usual 4-pin.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,866 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    20+4 is the main ATX connector, 4+4 is that CPU one. That PSU seems to have 24+4 and 4.

    While having all 8 pins for the CPU power is neccesary when OCing, i've never seen a PC fail to boot with just a 4 pin installed. You're just reducing the maximum power to the socket, which can limit OC's.
     
    Error 404 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Ok, thats alright since I doubt he'll be overclocking with this rig. Although I'll make sure he upgrades the PSU if he eventually decides to. I might see what other PSUs are available with an 8-pin...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)