• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD HD 6000 Northern Islands Feature Slides Leaked

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,762 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,026
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#26
^^ You mainly play Doom 3? or 800x600 res with no AA.:roll:
memory useage is overrated, GT4 is one of a very few exceptions, BFBC 2 is considered a fairly demanding game, take a look at the attached graph showing performance figures at 19XX in high detail, you will see in most cases that the differences between 1GB cards and 1GB cards is obviously down to Higher spec GPU's, take a look at how well the cards with less than 1GB perform in comparision with similar speed GPU's with more memory, take the GTX275 for example.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#27
Memory requirements really only increase a lot with AA levels and texture size, both of which have not changed much in the last years. Going from 512 MB to 1 GB was mostly needed when 1920x1200 4xAA became the standard, following the introduction of HD. In game textures already became 2048x2048 some years ago, again coinciding with the mainstream move to 1GB, and there's no point moving to higher textures really. Even on CG movies 2048 is the most used, with some textures being 1024 and some being 4096.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#28
This might sound like just another conspiracy theory, but after looking at the head to head chart with AMD and Nvidia i get a disgusting feeling the two corporations are teamed up to take advantage of consumers.
They already did that once my friend. The U.S. feds busted ATI and Nvidia both for price fixing. I doubt they will do it again.......anytime soon.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#29
I agree that the Caymans should definitely have 2GB on the standard boards; they're going to suffer in AA'd Eyefinity.:shadedshu
...assuming this is all true of course...
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#30
They already did that once my friend. The U.S. feds busted ATI and Nvidia both for price fixing. I doubt they will do it again.......anytime soon.
I don't know if you follow the Formula 1, most probably not, but that's like saying there's no team orders in F1 anymore.

I do think that there's some kind of cold war between AMD and Nvidia going on right now, where none of them want to release the atom bomb, because they know that both could retaliate in one way or another. They are both better without the price war that occured during the G92/RV670 and GT200/RV770 era.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#31
They already did that once my friend. The U.S. feds busted ATI and Nvidia both for price fixing. I doubt they will do it again.......anytime soon.
They learned not to do it by exchanging words, but they still do it. Rather than start a price war the 5000/400 series slotted in between each other perfectly. Normally we'd have seen the 5xxx series driven back down to it's lunch price, but the prices didn't budge until many months later, and then not by much. Just in time for it's replacement, the 5850 is finally back at it's launch price.
 

NeSeNVi

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
#32
Nice to see 3D stereoscopic support on reds, but does it need still 3rd party programs or it will be implemented in games like for NVidia cards?

Power consumption is soo high... only one GPU uses 200% what whole ps3 need to show the same thing on screen, ehh.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,762 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,026
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#33
Nice to see 3D stereoscopic support on reds, but does it need still 3rd party programs or it will be implemented in games like for NVidia cards?

Power consumption is soo high... only one GPU uses 200% what whole ps3 need to show the same thing on screen, ehh.
Ahhhh your right but can your PS3 render 3D images in CAD and various other applications and such like..... or save lives by Crunching in F&H? :D
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
860 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#34
AMD's cards look very good, ill wait for w1zz to bench before i choose to sell my 5870 for a cayman or not.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#35
They already did that once my friend. The U.S. feds busted ATI and Nvidia both for price fixing. I doubt they will do it again.......anytime soon.
Or rather you doubt that they will do it any time soon in a manner that can be detected by the feds. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#36
Power consumption is soo high... only one GPU uses 200% what whole ps3 need to show the same thing on screen, ehh.
Except that is not the same thing. This one would be showing the "same thing" (i.e. 720p without AA :laugh:):



Actually performance wise the PS3 would be something in between the 16w HD 4550 and the 36w GT430. :roll:
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#37
I don't know if you follow the Formula 1, most probably not, but that's like saying there's no team orders in F1 anymore
How dare you suggest Formula 1 is corrupt! It's completely fair and..... no wait, hold on, yeah, it's a shambles. What was it the Ferrari team radio said to Massa again? Something like, "Alonso is faster, do you understand?" lol.
 

NeSeNVi

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
#38
Except that is not the same thing. This one would be showing the "same thing" (i.e. 720p without AA :laugh:):

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GT_430/images/power_average.gif

Actually performance wise the PS3 would be something in between the 16w HD 4550 and the 36w GT430. :roll:
Try to run James Cameron's Avatar: The Game in stereoscopic 3D on HD4550/GT430 and good luck:roll: (less than 100W TDP). Don't want to start any console vs pc war:)

---update---
but let's not get started...
These were my words^^
 
Last edited:

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#39
Radeon HD 6900 series is purely for the entusiast, competitive with the higher-end models of the GeForce GTX 400 series, such as GTX 470 and GTX 480.
That's pretty crappy considering i own a 470, so if i want a significant performance increase i have to go with their most top end products with will inevitable be the most expensive..:(
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#40
How dare you suggest Formula 1 is corrupt! It's completely fair and..... no wait, hold on, yeah, it's a shambles. What was it the Ferrari team radio said to Massa again? Something like, "Alonso is faster, do you understand?" lol.
But the problem is not the worst thing. At least they did it openly lol. It's Ferrari's fault they did it so blatantly, but at the same time they are the only ones that were honest enough that they do not had codes put in place for such practices. I mean how is it that every single time that Hamilton and Button are close and fighting with each other, one of them, the one in the back (what are the chances?) suddenly has low fuel reserves? :rolleyes:

Or similarly how is that when Vettel and Webber are in the same situation, one of them suddenly has to conserve tyres because they are soooo deteriorated, yet 20 laps later with the same tyres, it does 5 consecutive fastest lap records? :rolleyes:

I saw those things long before Ferrari did what they did and oh man was so obvious. So I think I have more praise than blame for Ferrari, because they were caught because they were naive and unlike the others they didn't have secret codes put in place... :shadedshu

Try to run James Cameron's Avatar: The Game in stereoscopic 3D on HD4550/GT430 and good luck:roll: (less than 100W TDP). Don't want to start any console vs pc war:)
Stereo 3D in the PS3 is not actual Stereo 3D, so again it's not the same and Avatar game is a Crappy console port, but let's not get started...
 

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#41
That's pretty crappy considering i own a 470, so if i want a significant performance increase i have to go with their most top end products with will inevitable be the most expensive..:(
hmm its always have been like that, and you can still go for cayman pro, just like you chose GTX 470 the second most expensive from NVDIA

i think this was the mark that AMD will make super GPU again
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#42
Nice to see 3D stereoscopic support on reds, but does it need still 3rd party programs or it will be implemented in games like for NVidia cards?

Power consumption is soo high... only one GPU uses 200% what whole ps3 need to show the same thing on screen, ehh.

Ha ha same thing, the gpu in a ps3 is 5 years old nearly, so we're at about 3 times the power right now.

The ps3 gpu simply can't do the same effects as more modern gpus.

Hell the ps3 can't even render things that the 360 gpu can render.

For example

360


ps3


Ps3 apparently hate's grass or something.

You may not notice it whilst your playing a game, but the consoles drop FUCK tons of things out of the games to speed them selfs up.

Things like reflections are rendered at a lower resolution the ps3 compensates for this by blurring the crap out of it but it still looks awful.

Comparison between pc/xbox/ps3 also mafia II



Same thing my boots XD
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#43
If the cayman chips are good enough i will definatly be holding out untill the 2gb cards are out as if i go with AMD i will proberley be going for a 5760x1200 eyefinity setup.
yay for eyefinity! Would it be better to get one 2gb card or to xfire 2 1gb cards for that res?
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#44
hmm its always have been like that, and you can still go for cayman pro, just like you chose GTX 470 the second most expensive from NVDIA

i think this was the mark that AMD will make super GPU again
But would it be a substantial difference over my current 470?, we don't have any performance benchmarks and that's what im waiting for. But from what im seeing i doubt it's gonna be a huge difference performance wise, more of a side grade for me if anything.
 
Last edited:

NeSeNVi

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
#45
Ha ha same thing, the gpu in a ps3 is 5 years old nearly, so we're at about 3 times the power right now.

The ps3 gpu simply can't do the same effects as more modern gpus.

You may not notice it whilst your playing a game, but the consoles drop FUCK tons of things out of the games to speed them selfs up.

Things like reflections are rendered at a lower resolution the ps3 compensates for this by blurring the crap out of it but it still looks awful.

Comparison between pc/xbox/ps3 also mafia II

http://www.abload.de/img/pooebi6.gif

Same thing my boots XD
I see you didn't get it. Maybe I weren't clear. Let me repeat:
only one GPU uses 200% (of power consumption) what whole ps3 need to show the same thing on screen, ehh.
I wanted to say: you can't have the same quality on ps3 and PC with the same power consumption, about 80W with the same game. Your CPU needs almost that, not even mention about GPU and rest of components... Simple as that. I know PC shows more details, but it needs more power, no doubt.

Back to thread please.
I'm looking forward to see techPowerUp review on Barts:>
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#46
Actually, I've seen a few micro rigs reach around 100w with much better quality than the consoles.

Can be done, just requires under-volting and the right combination of parts : ]

You are right though, did miss it first time round.

Sorry! : ]
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#47
Why are people arguing over PS3's performance?, that's totally unrelated to the thread and totally obvious that the PS3's hardware is based off of hardware from '05 and can't hold a candle to PC related hardware. Then again, the PS3 is a GAMING console, why does it matter what's inside of it?, and even with that said, the PS3 has some very nice looking games that are most importantly, fun.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.82/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#48
Great antilles only in december, gives me time to save up
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#49
Why are people arguing over PS3's performance?, that's totally unrelated to the thread and totally obvious that the PS3's hardware is based off of hardware from '05 and can't hold a candle to PC related hardware. Then again, the PS3 is a GAMING console, why does it matter what's inside of it?, and even with that said, the PS3 has some very nice looking games that are most importantly, fun.

Why are you commenting on an argument that didn't exist in the first place?
:laugh:


Just as silly dude :toast:
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#50
Why are you commenting on an argument that didn't exist in the first place?
:laugh:


Just as silly dude :toast:
This coming from the guy that made a huge post based on the rendering power of systems that are totally unrelated to the topic at hand.:laugh:

Obvious stuff is obvious and doesn't need to be discussed before an argument does occur. If you can't comprehend rendering power and power consumption between a PC and Console, make a thread about it elsewhere or put google to go use.

I'm just saying..