• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Infuses Corporate Brand with the Power of ''Fusion''

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
AMD today launched a new corporate brand campaign under a new tagline, "The Future is Fusion." The campaign is intended to focus on how the unique AMD combination of technologies, coupled with close relationships with computer manufacturers and a deep understanding of customer needs, results in exciting next-generation capabilities and experiences at work, at home, and at play.


“Fusion is AMD’s way to express how we blend our customers’ needs, dreams and desires with our unique passion for enabling innovation,” said Nigel Dessau, AMD senior vice president and chief marketing officer. “While this unique approach has always been our practice, ‘Fusion’ is the most focused articulation yet of how AMD marries innovation with collaboration in ways that can yield benefits to the marketplace greater than the sum of its parts.”

Show full news post
 

adrianx

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
323 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Location
Bucharest ROMANIA
System Name Blue Monolith (working on name)
Processor AMD Phenom II 1090T... on H2O
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7
Cooling EK-Supreme with 2 radiators for the moment ~ 22 celsius
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x2GB DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 KHX1600C8D3K2
Video Card(s) hd 6870 Sapphire 1GB
Storage 8x 500GB Seagate Barracuda on LSI controller
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Case Aplus Black Pearl WCR with water cooling mounts :)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Gigabyte ODIN GT-800 (that with software)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores WORKING IN PROGRESS P10464 in VANTAGE(this is the old score)
#2
beta...

beta dont work on vista x64 with sp1
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#4
Okay so what this basically does with AMD processors is that it shuts down some processes, jacks up CPU priority to the game's process, and uses some "AMD Boost" (that red dot in the green circle for AOD) to increase CPU performance so games are playable run faster.

I didn't find more than 1~2% increase with Everest Ultimate CPU tests with the boost mode enabled (under AOD). Instead, my 42-ish °C Phenom scorched at 55 °C.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor Intel P4 531+ @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5LD2-VM/C
Memory Kingston 2x512MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NV8600GT 256MB
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) ViewSonic 22"
Case Codegen 403
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek 882
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...
#5
I thing boost mode only disables CnQ, so you don't hit the Phenom's CnQ culprit with single threaded games/apps.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#6
I thing boost mode only disables CnQ, so you don't hit the Phenom's CnQ culprit with single threaded games/apps.
No, boost doesn't play with CnQ. With CnQ disabled (in the BIOS), the CPU still idles at ~42 °C for me. The bus speeds/multipliers HT Link / CPU-NB voltage, all are the same. Including vCore (according to Everest Ultimate). It's still a mystery what this boost mode does that the CPU reaches 55 °C.
 

Baam

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
18
Location
Trucker..so all over
Processor AMD FX-8120@4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Thermalright Venomous X Black
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
Video Card(s) ATI 5850 crossfire
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply Antec TPQ-850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#7
Bah no Vista 64. Anyone tested this with a spider setup?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#8
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#9
Okay so what this basically does with AMD processors is that it shuts down some processes, jacks up CPU priority to the game's process, and uses some "AMD Boost" (that red dot in the green circle for AOD) to increase CPU performance so games are playable run faster.

I didn't find more than 1~2% increase with Everest Ultimate CPU tests with the boost mode enabled (under AOD). Instead, my 42-ish °C Phenom scorched at 55 °C.
What does it idle at? My friend says his phenom gets stuck if it goes over 32 °C.
Did you check the clock speed while running it?Check with Cpu-z rather than everest(though you don't need telling).
Does CnQ even work for you in XP?
I'll test with my x2 soon. 20 Mb will take some time.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#10
What does it idle at? My friend says his phenom gets stuck if it goes over 32 °C.
Did you check the clock speed while running it?Check with Cpu-z rather than everest(though you don't need telling).
Does CnQ even work for you in XP?
I'll test with my x2 soon. 20 Mb will take some time.


5 minutes of idling in boost mode (red box in the tray shows CPU pin-1, green shows NB).

Boost is the secret of my energy™ [consumption]
 

MadCow

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
544 (0.14/day)
Likes
33
Processor Athlon 64 X2 4400+ @2.6 GHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT CFX3200
Cooling 120mm Yate Loon fan intake, 82mm ex-PSU fan exhaust
Memory 2048 mb. of cheap DDR400 RAM w/cheap heatspreaders
Video Card(s) Sapphire+HIS X1950 PRO, Crossfired@635/709
Storage WD 250 GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung 216BW
Case No-name ATX case (modded to hell)
Audio Device(s) SB X-FI OEM
Power Supply Nikao Cool Power 500W (34a@12v)
Software Windows XP PRO SP2
#11
Wow, that program just completely locks up my system. Probably because my mobo is barely even half-working, but still.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#12
Fusion on my sytem
Wprime with basic mode no gain in performance+ temp jumps from 32 to 38(just jumps no intermediate) and goes higher
with expert it went through the shutdow process
Advanced- 2 sec advantage in wprime for a total of 15-18 temp increase.
and for the lol

Amd is kind enough to warn you that you will see the powerfull capabilities of their CPU :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#13
No, boost doesn't play with CnQ. With CnQ disabled (in the BIOS), the CPU still idles at ~42 °C for me. The bus speeds/multipliers HT Link / CPU-NB voltage, all are the same. Including vCore (according to Everest Ultimate). It's still a mystery what this boost mode does that the CPU reaches 55 °C.
Could it be doing something funky like disabling your fan? Could be something as simple as that -- no way to tell if it's actually consuming more power unless you've got a Kill-A-Watt measuring current draw.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#14
Could it be doing something funky like disabling your fan? Could be something as simple as that -- no way to tell if it's actually consuming more power unless you've got a Kill-A-Watt measuring current draw.
My fan always runs at 100% and no changes in voltages plus as Bta said there is not much gain.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#15
Now this is what I'm talking about. True, honest demonstration on how powerful the Ohenom really are when it comes to all cores. Screw the game benchmarks, if they enable all four cores the Core 2 series will be left in the dust.
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#16
lol I read the headline as "AMD Confuses Corporate Brand with the Power of "Fusion""

:eek:
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#17
Could it be doing something funky like disabling your fan? Could be something as simple as that -- no way to tell if it's actually consuming more power unless you've got a Kill-A-Watt measuring current draw.
I can see all my fans spinning. On a side note, yes, Windows XP does have all proper software for CnQ and C1E support enabled. Regarding power draw, the fact that the chip runs that much hotter, at the same CPU parameters (including vCore) shows something is fishy. It's logical to assume the power draw goes up (how else is the CPU heating up?).

 

Abu Assar

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Egypt
#18
check out this blog post about fusion :
http://blogs.amd.com/patmoorhead/archive/2008/09/17/fusion-for-gaming.aspx

Using some canned benchmarks, I saw the following:

* 3D Mark: 15% overall score improvement in 3DMark
* World In Conflict: Based on the setting, improvements in frame rates were 55% for the “average” setting, 157% for the “minimum” setting and 116% for the “maximum” setting
* Lost Planet: 5.8% “Snow” and 24% “Cave” scene frame rate improvement
it is very impressive if these numbers can be easily done .
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#19
man why does this come after i upgrade to vista 64 and it doesn't support vista 64. jesus amd why!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#20
I can see all my fans spinning. On a side note, yes, Windows XP does have all proper software for CnQ and C1E support enabled. Regarding power draw, the fact that the chip runs that much hotter, at the same CPU parameters (including vCore) shows something is fishy. It's logical to assume the power draw goes up (how else is the CPU heating up?).
Did you try the Basic,expert and advanced setting. The UI is pretty bad for this thing.
If you don't find the Basic,expert and advanced setting just minimize it to tray(You'll find a small arrow pointing downward along with a x button on the right top corner). Now right click the tray icon and hover the mouse on turn fusion on and it'll give you the options.

My processor is heating up more than what it did when I gave it a 200Mhz increase and just like then there was no gain in performance. Seriously something fishy. With the temps rising like that I'm definitely not going to be using it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#21
so i have only amd 6000x2 cpu with nforce mobo and nvidia card . did this program useful for me
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#22
Nope. Not at all.
AMD needs to get better coders.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#24
has anybody been able to figure out exactly why the processor seems to heat up, i mean i've got a nake 5000 be under an ultra120 extreme that is lapped super super smooth lol. my cpu went from 32 to 40 idle but the load doesn't seem to go any higher then i would without it installed. I did notice a significant increase in performance in games like WoW and a small performance in 3dmark and cod4. all and all a cool idea, saves me time not having to disable all of those services. the temp is a small issue, but i wish i had a better idea behind the curtains as to what is going on.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#25
if any one has an option to disable Oc'ing in bios it might help.