• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD / Intel CPU perforrmance

Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#26
^ lol. obviously your views are pretty rigid.

there is a thing called load line caliberation. that will increase/deccrease you volts.

also on my motherboard, which has a digital VRM, it continuously monitors the stability and voltage of my cpu at a couple of thousand times a second. It will increase the volts if it finds necessary, until and unless i turn LLC off.

same goes for the Digi VRM having asus mobos, the 970 evo etc.
infact for some reason (probably due to poor designing by asus), the VRM rated voltage was always .2V more ,during load testing, than what i applied.
Load line calibration depends on what voltage you have set. And being Digi VRM or conventional VRM, every VRM monitors CPU activity and sets voltage accordingly. My motherboard does that too. I set 1.375 LLC on and C&Q off. It will be 1.368 idle and 1.4V extreme load and 1.380 moderate load(Songs, files, browser and all). So you see it is near the one I set in BIOS.

But if you set 1.7V through the BIOS, even LLC will never allow 2.172V to be driven to the CPU. It is hardware limitation(VRM) and cannot be controlled by software(BIOS).
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Kolkata
System Name Constantly changing!
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling NH D14
Memory Corsair value select @ 1800MHZ CL7
Video Card(s) HD 7850
Storage some old and slow ones!
Case HAF-X
Power Supply AX 1200W
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/sumonpathak
#27
Even with the shittiest LLC on the world no board/chip will allow 1.7V on air on an FX.
The screenie you posted have been proved fake a long time ago :p
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#28
Even with the shittiest LLC on the world no board/chip will allow 1.7V on air on an FX.
The screenie you posted have been proved fake a long time ago :p
i may try that soon as im planning on upgrading anyway..... my board has a 4+1 phase design, not heat sinked, LLC doesn't work in the slightest and ive had 1.6 through it.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#29
Even with the shittiest LLC on the world no board/chip will allow 1.7V on air on an FX.
The screenie you posted have been proved fake a long time ago :p
well, i know that, but its still fun :p
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
1,106 (0.31/day)
Likes
178
Location
london
System Name Staggered
Processor Intel i5 6600k (XSPC Rasa)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming K3
Cooling RX360 (3*Scythe GT1850) + RX240 (2*Scythe GT1850) + Laing D5 Vario (with EK X-Top V2)
Memory 2*8gb Team Group Dark @3000Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.25v
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1070 HerculeZ
Storage 256gb Samsung 830 + 2*1tB Samsung F3 + 2*2tB Samsung F4EG
Display(s) Flatron W3000H 2560*1600
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840 + 1*120 GT1850 (exhaust) + 1*230 Spectre Pro + Lamptron FC2 (fan controller)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#30
-For the same price, Intel has better single-threaded performance, and AMD has better multi-threaded performance.
-For the same price, AMD usually has better MB features. Although Haswell seems to be evening the playing field.
-At 1080p, on most games (e.g not RTS games), as long as your CPU isn't older than 3 years and "teh suxorz", your GPU won't get CPU bottlenecked.
-For general usage, as long as your CPU isn't older than 3 years and "teh suxorz", you won't notice a difference.
-If your having slow start-up/load times and are using a mechanical drive for your OS, don't get a i7 3970x. That's stupid. Get an SSD instead.
-If you can't max out 1080p games on your Trinity APU, don't get an i7 3970x. That's stupid. Get a proper video card instead.

Basically, it all comes down to how much your willing to pay, and your other components.

This post is brought to you by boredom.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,244 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,823
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#31
Do not do both
Do this instead.
i7-3770K
Z77A-GD65
IF U WANT choose one in this two.
i5
Reason: AMD for gaming? GO I3 INSTEAD!
i3 isnt worth it, there was a comparison of the 5800 to the i3. i3, Pentium, Celeron- not worth it.

What?

You went from a modern AMD cores, to a 2+ generations older (SB, IB) system. You forego all the advanced instruction sets, better DDR3 handling, and other benefits. You do all of this, and then wonder why CPU based testing gives you better results on Intel but whole system testing gives you better results on AMD. I don't believe this was a well designed comparison.




Also, nobody's come out to say this. 8 AMD cores =/= 8 Intel cores in this generation. AMD shares some resources among core pairs, so they have a higher number of cores without having performance equal to that core count.

In the real world, AMD offers an 8 core chip for the price of a 4 core Intel. You lose some of the single threaded performance, but single threaded programming has its days numbered. Intel chips are more power efficient, but AMD is significantly better on the initial pricing.

I don't see appreciable differences between an APU and a 3930k in most usage scenarios. That said, I'm encoding video on my 3930 and surfing on my APU. Flawed initial assumptions generally make "testing" results flawed....
i3 are pathetic. so is hyper threading. good luck finding anything useful to do with an i3 other than running synthetic benchmarks. two cores in 2013. hahah
I didn´t get ueutyi´s message either - i3 is in my eyes not an option - maybe for a HTPC.....
he is an intel fanboi obviously :p
Yeah he is a blind fool honestly, and the HTPC Bit? An APU would do just fine for less.

Core i5 or greater recommended. Stars, Llano, Trinity, Vishera recommended.

(gotta love noobs)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#32
What?

You went from a modern AMD cores, to a 2+ generations older (SB, IB) system. You forego all the advanced instruction sets, better DDR3 handling, and other benefits. You do all of this, and then wonder why CPU based testing gives you better results on Intel but whole system testing gives you better results on AMD. I don't believe this was a well designed comparison.




Also, nobody's come out to say this. 8 AMD cores =/= 8 Intel cores in this generation. AMD shares some resources among core pairs, so they have a higher number of cores without having performance equal to that core count.

In the real world, AMD offers an 8 core chip for the price of a 4 core Intel. You lose some of the single threaded performance, but single threaded programming has its days numbered. Intel chips are more power efficient, but AMD is significantly better on the initial pricing.

I don't see appreciable differences between an APU and a 3930k in most usage scenarios. That said, I'm encoding video on my 3930 and surfing on my APU. Flawed initial assumptions generally make "testing" results flawed....
The one thing I didn't mention however... the intel rig is significantly faster in real world gaming :p

However, where my system lacks the most is disk performance, so I thrive on cache, hence moving back to X58 for 48GB of RAM :p

Not sure what you mean better DDR3 handling? X58 offers significantly more bandwidth and better latencies than the AM3+ platform, but yes, I have my uncore clocked hard to make it even better.

I have been recommending the 8350 to friends recently for their own builds who were looking to buy a 3770K otherwise (to fit an SSD into budget), and they've been more then happy with the performance.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#34
yea, fanboys are irritating, I agree.

Intel is always better for performance. More stable, runs cooler, etc. It is worth it, trust me.
Personally I got the 3770K.
This post was looking so promising until I read "More stable" >:
 

ueutyi

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
65 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Tenku Pailok
Processor Intel Core i7 3820
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H55 with 2 additional fans
Memory 8GB ADATA DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 7970 MSI
Storage A WD Caviar Green 1TB 5400rpm
Power Supply Corsair AX750+Coolermaster 700W
Benchmark Scores X3682 - 3DMark 11
#35
ACTUALLY the FX 8150's gaming performance is worth than i3 even some pentiums in most of the games, u can just get a 3570k or E3-1230V2(Xeon)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#36
In gaming, the FX 8150 catches well enough with the i7s in most games. And overall considering the budget to be constant, AMD FX 8series + a beasty GPU > Intel Core i7 + a decent GPU.
If the GPU is same too, differences are insignificant.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#37
you can get a fairly decent motherboard and 8150/8350 for the price or near of an i7. and I did notice intel boards cost a bit more in general, so the savings could get a beastttyyyy gpu.

I couldn't justify spending £270ish on a cpu :nutkick:
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#38
I would love the single core performance but I'm not prepared to pay the high price for the extra features that are standard on amd like vt-d, 6x sata III, overclocking and backwards compatability.

With intel your never really sure what your CPU has unless you test it. All amd chips have the same features top to bottom.
 
Last edited: