• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD "Jaguar" Micro-architecture Takes the Fight to Atom with AVX, SSE4, Quad-Core

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,120 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#26
[George Takei] Oh Myyyyyy [/Takei]


this should shake up the low end market a decent amount. intel atom is just too damn slow. aint nobody got time for it.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#27
[George Takei] Oh Myyyyyy [/Takei]


this should shake up the low end market a decent amount. intel atom is just too damn slow. aint nobody got time for it.
AGREED :cool:

 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
359 (0.17/day)
Likes
61
#28
Wonder if it will go over 1.6 GHz, seeing how it's more efficient than the last generation, and uses 28nm process...
yes it will be clocked higher
According to AMD, it will be clocked up to 1.80 GHz.
no amd said it will be clocked 10% higher than what bobcat would've clocked at on 28nm node. that being said 1.8ghz is the worst case scenario, realistic scenario is probably about 20-30% higher due to the added stage in the pipleline in the design, and some due to the 28nm node, so 2ghz-2.2ghz is very likely, but seeing that they introduced a 25w tdp part on these i wont be surprise to see turbo clocks at over 2.4-2.8ghz(considering trinity 19w tdp parts do 2.0-2.8ghz)
I am SO glad to hear this.
yes but then bobcat/jaguar is half the bulldozer module, it has 2decoders and 128bit fpu vs bulldozers 4decoders and 256bit fpu ;)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#29
es but then bobcat/jaguar is half the bulldozer module, it has 2decoders and 128bit fpu vs bulldozers 4decoders and 256bit fpu
...and without any shared resources to run the additional thread like a module would. Most software can't utilize the 256-bit FPU yet anyways. So it's not like this is a gimped BD chip but rather it is a beefed up bobcat chip. There are a lot of CPU features and instructions that will be offered that is pretty neat.

Also you said something about the pipeline being larger. How do you figure? This CPU doesn't use modules or the module design so why would the pipeline be longer? Shouldn't it be similar to the PII pipeline?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
359 (0.17/day)
Likes
61
#30
...and without any shared resources to run the additional thread like a module would. Most software can't utilize the 256-bit FPU yet anyways. So it's not like this is a gimped BD chip but rather it is a beefed up bobcat chip. There are a lot of CPU features and instructions that will be offered that is pretty neat.

Also you said something about the pipeline being larger. How do you figure? This CPU doesn't use modules or the module design so why would the pipeline be longer? Shouldn't it be similar to the PII pipeline?
yes but the bulldozer core can max out a big portion of the module on a single thread while a bobcat/jaguar cant use up a second core for better single thread ;) the fundamental behind the bulldozer is excellent, but the implementation was horrible, they shared way too much at once, and now with steamroller unsharing some of the parts like the decoder is proof for that, they shouldve started like jaguar, share the L2 cache, then go from there to share prefetch, and then other parts if needed

but now back to jaguar which is what this thread is about!
when jaguar was announced in the amd presentation they mentioned adding a stage to the pipleline, it used to be 11 now its 12 i believe, or 10 became 11 cant remember

and im talking about the integer pipelines, every cpu has one. and no pII had 13 stages if im not mistaken so bobcat had a new redesigned one. bulldozer has 19-22 also redesigned from pII
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#31
when jaguar was announced in the amd presentation they mentioned adding a stage to the pipleline, it used to be 11 now its 12 i believe, or 10 became 11 cant remember
Right, where did you read that because I can't find anything to confirm it.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
359 (0.17/day)
Likes
61
#32
Right, where did you read that because I can't find anything to confirm it.
semiaccurate goes briefly over the added stage in the pipeline and has an amd slide about it also, but what o remember for sure is a YouTube video i saw were they presented trinity and then jaguar, i will send links later as now im using my phone to reply
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#33
you got me all excited for nothing i though AMD was teaming up with jaguar for something then :(

AMD XJS
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#34
An Atom style chip that doesn't suck. It's too bad that AMD didn't do this two years ago, and completely curb stomp Intel in the market.


As it stands, Intel is getting closer to making a viable Atom every revision. They suck on the graphics side, but have the weight to push Atom forward. AMD really caught the boat with an APU, but haven't done enough (as yet) to close the market to Intel offerings.


Here's to the hope that Intel will get thoroughly beaten by an excellent APU string. I'd get behind a quad core tablet running, ostensibly, 7xxx generation GCN graphics. It beats the tar out of the crap Intel has phoned in with Atom.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
359 (0.17/day)
Likes
61
#36
An Atom style chip that doesn't suck. It's too bad that AMD didn't do this two years ago, and completely curb stomp Intel in the market.


As it stands, Intel is getting closer to making a viable Atom every revision. They suck on the graphics side, but have the weight to push Atom forward. AMD really caught the boat with an APU, but haven't done enough (as yet) to close the market to Intel offerings.


Here's to the hope that Intel will get thoroughly beaten by an excellent APU string. I'd get behind a quad core tablet running, ostensibly, 7xxx generation GCN graphics. It beats the tar out of the crap Intel has phoned in with Atom.
what are you talking about? bobcat stomped atom on so many levels
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#38
the PS4 will have an 8-core version @ 1.84 ghz. Or will it just be two Jaguars? A mommy and a poppy. Hmm. Anyone seen the benchies for this puppy yet?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#39
the PS4 will have an 8-core version @ 1.84 ghz. Or will it just be two Jaguars? A mommy and a poppy. Hmm. Anyone seen the benchies for this puppy yet?
What we "know" so far about about Orbis's CPU (from the rumors/leaks) is this:

- Orbis contains eight Jaguar cores at 1.6 Ghz, arranged as two “clusters”
- Each cluster contains 4 cores and a shared 2MB L2 cache
- 256-bit SIMD operations, 128-bit SIMD ALU
- SSE up to SSE4, as well as Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX)
- One hardware thread per core
- Decodes, executes and retires at up to two intructions/cycle
- Out of order execution
- Per-core dedicated L1-I and L1-D cache (32Kb each)
- Two pipes per core yield 12,8 GFlops performance
- 102.4 GFlops for system

1.6Ghz might get a little boost before the release, since they also doubled the RAM from 4GB to 8GB already.

btw a little off-toppic: anyone has any idea, how the hell are they going to deal with the insane amount of latency of the GDDR5 as main memory, this is something which puzzles me since yesterday?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#40
What we "know" so far about about Orbis's CPU (from the rumors/leaks) is this:

- Orbis contains eight Jaguar cores at 1.6 Ghz, arranged as two “clusters”
- Each cluster contains 4 cores and a shared 2MB L2 cache
- 256-bit SIMD operations, 128-bit SIMD ALU
- SSE up to SSE4, as well as Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX)
- One hardware thread per core
- Decodes, executes and retires at up to two intructions/cycle
- Out of order execution
- Per-core dedicated L1-I and L1-D cache (32Kb each)
- Two pipes per core yield 12,8 GFlops performance
- 102.4 GFlops for system

1.6Ghz might get a little boost before the release, since they also doubled the RAM from 4GB to 8GB already.

btw a little off-toppic: anyone has any idea, how the hell are they going to deal with the insane amount of latency of the GDDR5 as main memory, this is something which puzzles me since yesterday?
What Latency?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#41
btw a little off-toppic: anyone has any idea, how the hell are they going to deal with the insane amount of latency of the GDDR5 as main memory, this is something which puzzles me since yesterday?
I don't think latency is going to be a problem. If they're using GDDR5 for main memory as well as video memory then I suspect that the CPU will directly access memory. It's not like a discrete GPU on a computer where you have to copy the data over the PCI-E bus where latency would be a very real issue, but I don't think that will be the case.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
359 (0.17/day)
Likes
61
#42
What we "know" so far about about Orbis's CPU (from the rumors/leaks) is this:

- Orbis contains eight Jaguar cores at 1.6 Ghz, arranged as two “clusters”
- Each cluster contains 4 cores and a shared 2MB L2 cache
- 256-bit SIMD operations, 128-bit SIMD ALU
- SSE up to SSE4, as well as Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX)
- One hardware thread per core
- Decodes, executes and retires at up to two intructions/cycle
- Out of order execution
- Per-core dedicated L1-I and L1-D cache (32Kb each)
- Two pipes per core yield 12,8 GFlops performance
- 102.4 GFlops for system

1.6Ghz might get a little boost before the release, since they also doubled the RAM from 4GB to 8GB already.

btw a little off-toppic: anyone has any idea, how the hell are they going to deal with the insane amount of latency of the GDDR5 as main memory, this is something which puzzles me since yesterday?
we also know it will have 18gcn clusters = 1152 gcn cores rated at 800mhz
and it was rated at 1.84gflops or something actually

as for the latency then i guess its up to the custom hsa memory controller, i would bet on that to handle things, after all the chip is an apu and its interesting to see what a buff apu can do, as the latency between cpu and gpu is much lower so gpgpu on an apu is much better than on a dedicated gpu with the same specs, and with gddr5 the high bandwidth will cover up the latency especialy that on consoles developers will optimize specifically for the hardware so it wont be too hard to tap into the flops available

and above all the good news out of this is that amd is smart to offer a multicore solution with with high latency to optimize because if anything this will only make their desktop solutions shine in future games since developers will start to work around it. this might explain why with steamroller amd paid no attention to most of the higher level cache subsystem (high latency on l3 and l2 cache)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#43
I wouldn't have named my product anything close to the Atari Jaguar.
LMAO, for some odd reason it was the 1st thing i thought when i read AMD Jaguar for what must been coursed by that terrible console.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,120 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#44
sounds like they're planning crossfired APU's. for media/2D use, drop back to single CPU + GPU, then for games that require it, ramp it up to 8 core/dual GPU.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#45
we also know it will have 18gcn clusters = 1152 gcn cores rated at 800mhz
and it was rated at 1.84gflops or something actually
yep, I forgot about those changes, thanks.

we also know it will have 18gcn clusters = 1152 gcn cores rated at 800mhz
and it was rated at 1.84gflops or something actually

as for the latency then i guess its up to the custom hsa memory controller, i would bet on that to handle things, after all the chip is an apu and its interesting to see what a buff apu can do, as the latency between cpu and gpu is much lower so gpgpu on an apu is much better than on a dedicated gpu with the same specs, and with gddr5 the high bandwidth will cover up the latency especialy that on consoles developers will optimize specifically for the hardware so it wont be too hard to tap into the flops available

and above all the good news out of this is that amd is smart to offer a multicore solution with with high latency to optimize because if anything this will only make their desktop solutions shine in future games since developers will start to work around it. this might explain why with steamroller amd paid no attention to most of the higher level cache subsystem (high latency on l3 and l2 cache)
Don't forget that it's not DDR5 but GDDR5! There is a significant difference. GDDR5 is basically a heavily tweaked DDR3 (well, not exactly, but let's just forgot the little details for the sake of the subject). They sacrifice the low latency of the DDR3 to boost the bandwidth. GPUs don't really need very low latencies since their parallel nature "comes to the rescue" when a thread/calculation stalls, and only internal speed what matters the most, to be able to move large amount of data chunks as fast as possible.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure Sony knows what they are doing and eight CPU cores is apparently makes it parallel enough to use GDDR5 as system memory, but I'm still very curious how they are doing it, because if it's better, I sure want something like that on our PC side as well:toast:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#46
this is good. way to go AMD. intel atom is seriously slow. even running windows 7 is a chore. aint nobody got time for that :laugh:
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#47
Don't forget that it's not DDR5 but GDDR5! There is a significant difference. GDDR5 is basically a heavily tweaked DDR3 (well, not exactly, but let's just forgot the little details for the sake of the subject). They sacrifice the low latency of the DDR3 to get boost the bandwidth. GPUs don't really need very low latencies since their parallel nature "comes to the rescue" when a thread/calculation stalls, and only internal speed what matters the most, to be able to move large amount of data chunks sas fast as possible.
How do you figure? The actual timings might be higher but keep in mind that GDDR5 gets run at nutty high clock speeds. I think any issue with latency will be mitigated with proper pre-fetching and a large (and fast) CPU cache.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#48
How do you figure? The actual timings might be higher but keep in mind that GDDR5 gets run at nutty high clock speeds. I think any issue with latency will be mitigated with proper pre-fetching and a large (and fast) CPU cache.
It's probably the new 4Gb Hynix or Samsung chips available from Q1 this year (they gonna use 16 piece in clamshell mode I assume), and both of those will have 32ns latency, fairly high for any kind of CPU.... hence my technical curiosity.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#49
It's probably the new 4Gb Hynix or Samsung chips available from Q1 this year (they gonna use 16 piece in clamshell mode I assume), and both of those will have 32ns latency, fairly high for any kind of CPU.... hence my technical curiosity.
What? You're joking right? The only CPUs out that are even capable of getting close to accessing memory in 32ns is an IVB chip. I couldn't even get close to that with my SB-E 3820. There are a lot of CPUs with more latency than that.

I think it will be fine. ;)

sbe_latency.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#50
What? You're joking right? The only CPUs out that are even capable of getting close to accessing memory in 32ns is an IVB chip. I couldn't even get close to that with my SB-E 3820. There are a lot of CPUs with more latency than that.

I think it will be fine. ;)

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=50174&stc=1&d=1361524743
No, and I don't really understand why would I joke about ram timings on my favorite enthusiast site. Do you understand that I was citing the actual latency of the chip itself, and not the latency the MC will have to deal with when accessing the memory?
For example, a typical DDR3@1600 module has about 12ns latency in a modern PC.
 

Attachments