• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

amd mainboard naming convention

Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
762 (0.18/day)
Likes
138
Location
Australia
#1
So, Recently my amd based machine ceased to function.
after testing all components with other machines/mainboards the culprit was found.
One Broken JW-785GMT-Extreme..
I figure "Not a worry, I`ll just replace the mainboard with a shiny new one"
I require an AM3 board with four dimm slots.. ATX or M-ATX form factor
what I have found whilst sourcing a replacement is that amd boards with the 760g northbridge and 710 I/o hub dependent on manufacturer can be called anything from 760, 780 to 960 in the model name.
do any of the amd people around here know why this is? we all get frustrated when NVidia rehash old GPU`s with new model designations, how is it you can call a 760g/sb710 based mainboard whatever the hell you want?

PS. Somebody sell me a nice mainboard for my tri-core AthlonII
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.75/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
#3
Because AMD gives their freedom in this.

How can AMD give this freedom? By not adding new features to the chipset and rebranding them to a "new generation".
760G has always been called 760G (RS780L by code) by AMD. It's the board makers that make it confusing.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
762 (0.18/day)
Likes
138
Location
Australia
#4
Thankfully the MSI 760 based board I looked at was called a 760g-p something. but the gigabyte boards with 760g chipsets are all 78-something and ecs call one of their 760 boards 960 something
I think I want a 970 based ATX board...that should get me a board with new features, correct?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#5
I think I want a 970 based ATX board...that should get me a board with new features, correct?
That nets you SATA III (6Gbps). versus 7xx/8xx boards.
Most of the time you'll also get USB 3.0 in that range though through third party chips.

760G has always been called 760G (RS780L by code) by AMD. It's the board makers that make it confusing.
I was referring only to the southbridge renaming.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#6
most manufacturers do use the chipset name correctly in their board names. only a handful companies dont do that with some of their low end boards
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
762 (0.18/day)
Likes
138
Location
Australia
#7
and gigabyte with their new high end intel board with 77 in its name that uses the server chipset.
I just got confused with the AMD boards with "960" in the name that used the 760g chipset.. to me the amd 9 series chipset
signified not only am3+ but usb3, sata3 and uefi... my mistake.
Fortunately I do not make a habit of buying low-end components.
 
Last edited: