• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD memory support list

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,757 (0.52/day)
Likes
1,520
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 low profile rapidfire
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#1
There was another thread about issues with Corsair LPX memory and I decided to see what the official AMD memory support list looked like.
Colour me surprised when I found that the exact modules I have are on there and apparently fully supported, yet I can't make them work at their rated settings.
In fact, it's the first module in their list https://www.amd.com/system/files/2017-06/am4-motherboard-memory-support-list-en_0.pdf
So does this mean the AMD list is simply a list of modules that work, but not necessarily at the rated speeds, or should it just be ignored?
Admittedly Asus doesn't list the memory in their QVL and I guess at around 3000MHz I'm not terribly unlucky, but it just made me question the supported memory list from AMD, as it seems it's not reliable at all.

CMK16GX4M2B3200C16.jpg
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,856 (2.27/day)
Likes
1,966
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Corsair H100i GTX with 4x 120mm fans and 4x Corsair AF 140mm case fans
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga gtx 970 super clocked 4gb
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550
Mouse Utech (I know) Venus laser
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
The bottom edge of that dimm looks odd to me, like its not straight.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
196 (0.28/day)
Likes
82
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1900X
Motherboard As Rock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws V 3600 MHZ 16 GB (2x8) & Gskill Ripjaws 4 3000 MHZ 16GB (2x8)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
#3
The board's QVL list is far more important than AMD's
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
312 (0.08/day)
Likes
76
System Name Ryzen1600X
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B350
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
#4
but it just made me question the supported memory list from AMD, as it seems it's not reliable at all.
The problem is the version number of the kit. Ver5.39 means it is Hynix MFR which doesnt run out of the box at the rated speed. I think AMD got Ver4.xx during the creation of the list which is Samsung.

I have exactly same kit and it works at the rated speeds but it needed alot of tweaking:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/vengeance-lpx-and-ryzen.254310/post-4027418
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,757 (0.52/day)
Likes
1,520
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 low profile rapidfire
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#5
The bottom edge of that dimm looks odd to me, like its not straight.
Ha, photoshop, I tried to straighten the top, but I guess that messed up the bottom :p

The problem is the version number of the kit. Ver5.39 means it is Hynix MFR which doesnt run out of the box at the rated speed. I think AMD got Ver4.xx during the creation of the list which is Samsung.

I have exactly same kit and it works at the rated speeds but it needed alot of tweaking:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/vengeance-lpx-and-ryzen.254310/post-4027418
Yeah, I know it's Hynix, but what surprised me was that it was on the top of AMDs list, hence my post.
I'll give your settings a go though.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,958 (4.23/day)
Likes
4,134
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#6
The bottom edge of that dimm looks odd to me, like its not straight.
That's how they are meant to look.
Check out other Ram, they have stepped fingers too.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
425 (0.31/day)
Likes
741
System Name The Banshee
Processor R7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.375V
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1250/1900 1.163V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
#7
The bottom edge of that dimm looks odd to me, like its not straight.
It's not, DDR4 has a slight curve on the contact edge.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,856 (2.27/day)
Likes
1,966
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Corsair H100i GTX with 4x 120mm fans and 4x Corsair AF 140mm case fans
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga gtx 970 super clocked 4gb
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550
Mouse Utech (I know) Venus laser
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#8
Never even noticed this before, but here's why-
The pins in the slot are all spring-loaded so they press against the module. This means they have to be pushed aside as the module is inserted, which takes force. By having a curved connector the pins in the middle are pushed aside first and the pins at the edge are pushed aside later, rather than all at once - so the force at any one time is less. That makes it easier to insert the modules.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,757 (0.52/day)
Likes
1,520
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 low profile rapidfire
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#9
The problem is the version number of the kit. Ver5.39 means it is Hynix MFR which doesnt run out of the box at the rated speed. I think AMD got Ver4.xx during the creation of the list which is Samsung.

I have exactly same kit and it works at the rated speeds but it needed alot of tweaking:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/vengeance-lpx-and-ryzen.254310/post-4027418
Tried to follow your settings, which seemingly improved things, but I can't make my system boot at 3,200MHz, as it goes straight in to fail safe mode.
Still an improvement compared to what I had. I also can't figure out how to change some of settings you have, or they're called something else.

Edit: Unfortunately it wasn't stable. At this point, I think I'm going to chalk at least some of this up to my CPU and just wait for Ryzen 3xxx to arrive.

Edit2: On the upside, I cold tighten the timings quite a bit compared to DOCP, so it wasn't all in vain.

1555244275458.png
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,138 (4.22/day)
Likes
6,320
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.0-rc7 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
By having a curved connector the pins in the middle are pushed aside first and the pins at the edge are pushed aside later, rather than all at once - so the force at any one time is less. That makes it easier to insert the modules.
That is literally why they did it, less insertion force.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
312 (0.08/day)
Likes
76
System Name Ryzen1600X
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B350
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
#11
Tried to follow your settings, which seemingly improved things, but I can't make my system boot at 3,200MHz, as it goes straight in to fail safe mode.
Still an improvement compared to what I had.
Does your system boot at 3,200MHz without the CPU overclock? Did you flashed your motherboard with bios version 4207?

Try to apply the follow settings:
AddrCmdDrvStr 30Ω
tRFC 480
tRC 58
SOC Voltage 1.05v

I also can't figure out how to change some of settings you have, or they're called something else.
Some of them are indeed named a little different compared to the Ryzen Timing Checker
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,757 (0.52/day)
Likes
1,520
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 low profile rapidfire
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#12
Does your system boot at 3,200MHz without the CPU overclock? Did you flashed your motherboard with bios version 4207?

Try to apply the follow settings:
AddrCmdDrvStr 30Ω
tRFC 480
tRC 58
SOC Voltage 1.05v


Some of them are indeed named a little different compared to the Ryzen Timing Checker
Yeah, on 4207. It boots with 3,200MHz and Overclock, but goes straight into the Windows system error/recovery thing.

Not sure how to apply the first and last option, I don't have those settings, at least they're not called that. No options gives me settings in Ohm, I end up with some odd dividers instead.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
312 (0.08/day)
Likes
76
System Name Ryzen1600X
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B350
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
#13
Yeah, on 4207. It boots with 3,200MHz and Overclock, but goes straight into the Windows system error/recovery thing.

Not sure how to apply the first and last option, I don't have those settings, at least they're not called that. No options gives me settings in Ohm, I end up with some odd dividers instead.
Asus is displaying RZQ values. RZQ is 240. When you devide it by 8 you will get 30Ω (RZQ/8 = 240/8 = 30)

A too high SOC Voltage can have an opposite effect on stability of your memory. From the screenshot I see it is running at 1.100v.
I think it is wise to lower your VDDCR SOC Voltage to 1.050v.

Can you run memtest86 when you are running 3,200MHz again? I am currious if you are able to start the memtest and it is able to finish all passes without or almost none errors.
https://www.memtest86.com/downloads/memtest86-usb.zip

Can you make some screenshots of your current bios configuration?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,757 (0.52/day)
Likes
1,520
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 low profile rapidfire
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#14
I can't even get 3,133MHz stale in Windows, so running memtest at 3,200MHz didn't make sense. I'll see if I can tweak the settings.

Edit: Well, no luck at 3,200MHz with the changed settings. I get straight to the Windows system recovery menu, as always. It seems 3,133MHz might be possible with the new tweaks, but I need to do some more stress testing to see if it's really stable.
No need to waste any more time on this, as I really believe it's the CPU that's the limiting factor here. Thanks for the help though.

Edit 2: Nope, not stable. Oh well...
 
Last edited:
Top