• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Navi Radeon Display Engine and Multimedia Engine Detailed

Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
435 (0.08/day)
AMD had 8K60 decode support back in 2013 with the Tonga architecture. These were the R9 285 and R9 380 cards.

Why don't we have 8K60 decode support now?
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,580 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
AMD had 8K60 decode support back in 2013 with the Tonga architecture. These were the R9 285 and R9 380 cards.

Why don't we have 8K60 decode support now?
Wikipedia disagrees with you, saying the R9 285 supported 4k60. Also, if they had, what codec would that be back in 2014? H.264? H.264 in 8k would be uselessly large. Not to mention that those cards supported DP1.3 output at best. Definitely not getting 8k over that.

@eidairaman1 care to elaborate on that reaction to my post? Can't say I can quite figure out what you mean :p
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,440 (6.32/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Why don't we have 8K60 decode support now?
Because adding support for that when displays barely exist for it...is pointless? The fact it can do 8K24 via VP9 and HEVC is impressive, especially for a midrange card.
 
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
54 (0.03/day)
Processor AMD 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 Revision 3.0
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 24GB
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290X
Storage C:\ 1TB SSD, D:\ RAID-1 1TB SSD, 2x4TB-RAID-1
Display(s) Samsung U32E850R
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1300G2
Mouse Logitech M-U0007
Keyboard Logitech G110
Yeah, but what else will utilize HDMI 2.1, if not the PC video cards?
Your post suggests that the PS5 is coming out this summer along with the new Radeon line. None of your posts make sense and you're making a lot of armchair commander comments; I'd recommend reading and learning more before sharing such sharp opinions.
 

Arvint

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I would also like to see hdmi 2.1 support soon with the AMD Radeon cards. For sure it will come next year, hopefully before. New 8k TVs this year from LG, Sony and Samsung support hdmi 2.1. I would like to run a simulation (own software) project on 8k on big screen, for now it seams impossible. None of the 10 or so big 8k TVs on the market yet support DIsplayPort 1.4, and no graphics card yet support hdmi 2.1. The Dell 32” 8k Monitor with do 1.4 seams only option, but screen is too small (for showing simulation to a group of people). I don’t need video decoding, and I will be ok with 8k @ 30fps on a big TV (minimum 65”). The new Radeon RX 5700 XT (or Radeon VII) would be great if they could be connected to any screen >= 65” with 8k@30fps. Currently using Macs.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,440 (6.32/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Wait for Acturus and Ampere. They should have HDMI 2.1. Well, maybe not Ampere, but I'd be shocked if Acturus doesn't.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
@Zoolook

How much do those cost?

I imagine if they are included on a monitor PCB or as part of the main monitor chipset, they will be cheaper than buying separately.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,580 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
@Zoolook

How much do those cost?

I imagine if they are included on a monitor PCB or as part of the main monitor chipset, they will be cheaper than buying separately.
Why would a monitor have an onboard DP to HDMI adapter? Nobody would ever know it's there, as it would look like a bog-standard DP input unless you read the spec sheet thoroughly. And does HDMI 2.1 do anything DP 1.4 doesn't? On an output device makes a lot more sense, but I doubt that will happen for a while - for cost reasons. Of course most iGPU HDMI outputs are already based off on-board DP-to-HDMI adapters, but most iGPUs don't support DP 1.4.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
I mean the monitor having an HDMI 2.1 input.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
83 (0.04/day)
System Name Ryzen shine, Mr Freeman
Processor 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi Ultimate
Cooling NH-D15S
Memory Ballistix LT 2x16GB white 3200
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070FE
Storage 500GB-970EVOplus, 256GB-850Pro, 1TB-860EVO
Display(s) LG OLED 55B8
Case Fractal Meshify C White TG
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STU, Mackie MR5+MR10S, HD598
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
Mouse GPW
Keyboard Fnatic Streak
This discussion is pointless, as there are NO dp1.4 to hdmi 2.1 converters.
That realtek stuff is just in the development... who knows when a product is available, and at what cost.
Fact is, HDMI 2.1 can not be fed as of yet, even if the TV supports it.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,580 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
I mean the monitor having an HDMI 2.1 input.
Well, then it would have an HDMI port and not a DP port, so an onboard DP-to-HDMI converter would be rather useless. Unless you're suggesting they make an HDMI port that also supports DP 1.4 input signalling, which again would be a feature that nobody would know about, that breaks any and all standards, and would in a worst-case scenario even require bespoke cables. Doesn't sound like a good idea.

This discussion is pointless, as there are NO dp1.4 to hdmi 2.1 converters.
That realtek stuff is just in the development... who knows when a product is available, and at what cost.
Fact is, HDMI 2.1 can not be fed as of yet, even if the TV supports it.
I guess we'll see HDMI arrive on source devices once there are source devices that can realistically need it. In a year or two would be my guess (it's more or less announced that next-gen consoles will support it, but for other products - we'll see).
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
Sorry, I got a bit confused there.
 
Top