• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Officially but Silently Downgrades Radeon RX 560 with an 896 SP Variant

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
44,370 (7.92/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name RBMK-1000
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Gammax L240 V2
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Sniper X
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) ASUS SupremeFX S1220A
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes E2
Software Windows 11 Pro
The phenomenon of Radeon RX 560 graphics cards with 896 stream processors is more widespread than earlier thought. It looks like RX 560 cards with 896 stream processors will be more widely available than the previously thought Greater China region; with AMD silently editing the specifications of the SKU to have either 896 or 1,024 stream processors, as opposed to the 1,024 it originally launched with. There are no clear labeling guidelines or SKU names to distinguish cards with 896 stream processors from those with 1,024.

The Radeon RX 560 and the previous-generation RX 460 are based on the 14 nm "Polaris 11" silicon, which physically features 16 GCN compute units (CUs), each packed with 64 stream processors. The RX 560 originally maxed this silicon out, with all 16 CUs being enabled, while the RX 460 has two CUs locked. The decision to change specs of the RX 560 effectively makes it a re-brand of the RX 460, which is slower, and provides fertile grounds for bait-and-switch lawsuits.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,539 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
They did have a separate name for the 896 shaders variant though and virtually none of the manufacturers used it. So the fault lies in both.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.06/day)
Didn't they also upgrade RX 560 into more shaders from RX 460? So, they are just downgrading it back to RX 460 shader count again?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
442 (0.15/day)
System Name Marmo / Kanon
Processor Intel Core i7 9700K / AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi / X570S Aorus Pro AX
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S x 2
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB 2666-C16 / 32GB 3200-C16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 Super Black / Asus TUF RX 6800XT OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ 1TB, 860 EVO 1TB / Samsung 970 Pro 1TB, 970 EVO+ 1TB
Display(s) Dell AW2521HFA / U2715H
Case Fractal Design Focus G / Pop Air RGB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Creative SB ZxR
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus GX 650W / PX 750W
Mouse Logitech MX310 / G1
Keyboard Logitech Navigator / G413
Software Win 10 Ent x 2
There were probably too many Polaris 11 dies which didn't pass the QA.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I think it was supposed to be a 560D?

But....for whatever reason, that never happenend. This feels like a more misleading move than the gtx 970 memory issue.. :(
 

Tatty_Two

Gone Fishing
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,564 (4.10/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c/12t @ 5ghz
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3060Ti Ventus OC Triple fan.
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Yeah, cant say the word 'Evo' does anything to discern that its actually an a lot slower card.

At least for oem's it was supposed to be called 560d.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
11,264 (3.99/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
They did have a separate name for the 896 shaders variant though and virtually none of the manufacturers used it. So the fault lies in both.

You're probably referring to 560D, which has never made an appearance on the official site. amd.com simply lists 560 as having "896/1024" shaders. And no 560D.
Though truth be told, whoever buys this low end isn't very likely to care about specs at all.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
You're probably referring to 560D, which has never made an appearance on the official site. amd.com simply lists 560 as having "896/1024" shaders. And no 560D.
Though truth be told, whoever buys this low end isn't very likely to care about specs at all.
The 560d was supposed to be a low cost variant in asia as well as for mining.

And while many users who buy these cards wont know specs (do many anyway, really?), they will surely believe 560 is better than 460 as, generally, this is how it works.

This is not good. We can blame the board partners, but it seems there is a lack of 'institutional control' in that 560D name not making it out. If amd doesnt discern between the cards in their website, i can understand why partners didnt change it either.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,983 (0.61/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
I can't see any good reason for AMD to do this. Do they want a lawsuit? Just name the 896SP variant "RX 550" FFS, problem solved.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,539 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Yet again AMD is blamed for the greed of AIBs and their piss poor marketing and naming schemes.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I mean, when its their fault...they dont even discern between the two on their website. How is this the board partners fault (only)? And why would we rely on them for being a moral compass??

Its like a damn loot crate!!! Never know what you'll get!
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,539 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
How is this the board partners fault (only)?

Because this happened before with the 470 and that went fine since they didn't really make their way outside Asia with the exception of those mining versions. You really think AMD has full control over to where these cards are sold ? You can just buy them bulk and sell them off Amazon/Ebay.

AIBs obviously knew this happens and they still didn't make a clear distinction between them.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
2,074 (0.55/day)
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1803
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
Yet again AMD is blamed for the greed of AIBs and their piss poor marketing and naming schemes.
Maybe because their own website product page is ambiguous about shader counts? Could THAT be the reason AMD is getting blame? If AMD themselves won't differentiate, why would the partners? This whole fiasco smells bad...
Screenshot (25).png
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
AIBs are at fault too, but, agaun, AMD didnt call it something else themselves. The OP shows the amd website. What about when buying reference cards not named different? Is that the AIBs fault too?

The source of this problem is AMD. Because their partners went along with it doesnt absolve AMD of creating the problem in the first place.

Again.. 560s are now loot crates. Scary.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
11,264 (3.99/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
The 560d was supposed to be a low cost variant in asia as well as for mining.

And while many users who buy these cards wont know specs (do many anyway, really?), they will surely believe 560 is better than 460 as, generally, this is how it works.

This is not good. We can blame the board partners, but it seems there is a lack of 'institutional control' in that 560D name not making it out. If amd doesnt discern between the cards in their website, i can understand why partners didnt change it either.
I don't think this is confusing at all. Isn't 580 a rebrand of 480?
Hell, looking back at AMD's history, I thik they may actually have more rebrands than new releases altogether.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,539 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
AMD didnt call it something else themselves.

Yes they are , just how there's a 470D they named this one 560D.

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/vga/introduction.php?S_ID=236

How could Biostar specify this a 470D but others can't do the same for the 560 ? It's AMD at fault ?

You know , it's funny I just remembered how there are 2 1060s on the market with the exact same name as well but somehow anything associated with Nvidia gets a pass while similar happenings turn AMD into a shady ass company . :)
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
11,264 (3.99/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Yes they are , just how there's a 470D they named this one 560D.

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/vga/introduction.php?S_ID=236

How could Biostar specify this a 470D but others can't do the same for the 560 ? It's AMD at fault ?

You know , it's funny I just remembered how there are 2 1060s on the market with the exact same name as well but somehow anything associated with Nvidia gets a pass while similar happenings turn AMD into a shady ass company . :)
Lol, you're arguing that AMD made a clear distinction with a link to Biostar's website? That's rich.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Yes they are , just how there's a 470D they named this one 560D.

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/vga/introduction.php?S_ID=236

How could Biostar specify this a 470D but others can't do the same for the 560 ? It's AMD at fault ?

You know , it's funny I just remembered how there are 2 1060s on the market with the exact same name as well but somehow anything associated with Nvidia gets a pass while similar happenings turn AMD into a shady ass company . :)
Sorry Vya, we are talking 560 here bud. Kudos to Biostar though on that last gen card. As well as AMD for actually putting out an explicit specification and name of the 470D, unlike this situation. That supports my point though... if AMD names it properly AIBs will follow... or at least Biostar. Not sure if anyone else put out a 470D.... ;)

I never heard of the 470D in the past, because, well, it wasn't released in the states. It IS a different card with a different name. In the case of the, 570D AMD didn't seem to specify (see the first post, see post 16), and consequently, neither did the AIBs. So we have a problem. These seem to be in more places than that now(?)...

As far as the 1060's, no idea on that outside of a 3GB and 6GB version. But let's stop using straw man tactics and stick to the point....NVIDIA and their shady practices are not the issue here.

The point:

AMD did not discern between these distinctly different models. Because of this, both AMD in their reference/oem cards and the AIBs with their cards, we have what I am coining as "loot crate" GPUs. EVERYONE could have been better in this situation, I certainly agree. However its more than clear where this started and it isn't with the AIBs.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,803 (3.21/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Shrinkflation. Just like at the supermarkets.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,864 (1.73/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Disturbing. They should have called the original the Radeon RX 560 Ti :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,539 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
AMD did not discern between these distinctly different models.

Yes they do , come on man you realize how non nonsensical that is ? You think they ship these chips in surprise kinder eggs ? And the AIBs just randomly throw them on cards ?

Even TPU's database makes a clear distinction , not only between the name but also the actual core variant : Polaris 21 XL and Polaris 21 XT.

You just don't want to accept the fact that this has been done before in the exact same fashion with the only exception being that, now, AIBs didn't do their job properly (intentionally or not).

NVIDIA and their shady practices are not the issue here.

It never is , I know. ;)

But let's stop using straw man tactics and stick to the point...

Right , let's not focus on the same thing Nvidia and it's board partners did and focus instead on AMD , because somehow that's more important and relevant. Gotcha , I'm not gonna mention it again. :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,355 (4.04/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Yes they do , come on man you realize how non nonsensical that is ? You think they ship these chips in surprise kinder eggs ? And the AIBs just randomly throw them on cards ?
They didn't do it on their website. TPUs database was likely based off the numerous articles posting about it way back in June/July timeframe. I mean, clearly it is NOT on the AMD website (as a 560D).

You just don't want to accept the fact that this has been done before in the exact same fashion with the only exception being that, now, AIBs didn't do their job properly (intentionally or not).
And you may have missed what I posted. AMD put up specifications for a 470D on the website... an AIB that made them, followed. This go around, there is NO DISTINCTION between a 560 and 560D. See the posts I referenced earlier which are directly from the AMD website.
It never is , I know. ;)
This isn't the place. This has NOTHING TO DO WITH NVIDIA.

Right , let's not focus on the same thing Nvidia and it's board partners did and focus instead on AMD
Right. This is about the 560 and has NOTHING to do with NVIDIA. Take your scarecrow out of the fields as it's not scaring anything away with bringing up a completely unrelated topic.

Understand, I am not the one who brought up the 470D which DOES IN FACT HAVE A CLEAR ENTRY ON AMD's website. So, the 470D isn't the issue here. They did that right. Here, they do NOT have an entry for the 560D. Its just a 560 with two different sets of specs. Because of this, the reference 560 and the AIBs apparent willingness to run with it, they are loot crate GPUs. Again, I am not absolving the AIBs part in this for propagating the issue, however, it is clear the source of the ambiguity is from AMD.
 
Last edited:
Top