• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Overclockers Club

What Benchmark To Add


  • Total voters
    13
  • Poll closed .

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
i cant get my sciencemark over 1072 i dont know why i have tried everything i can think of,and we are going to h ave new rules for the club regarding who is able to join they are as follows:must be member of tpu for 30 days and have a minimum of 50 posts,an regarding the running cpus at same speed i dont understand what the deals is there?maybe if you enlighten me on the issue we can discuss implementimng something there?
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
1,065 (0.25/day)
Likes
480
Location
Charlotte NC
System Name Rigel / Dorothy / Vega
Processor Ryzen 1700 / 4690k / Pentium G3220 (stock)
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming+ / Asus Z97-E / ASRock H97M-ITX
Cooling H110i / Kraken X61 / Stock
Memory 16gb ddr4-3200 gskill TridentZ / 16GB ddr3-2400 gskill Sniper / 8gb ddr3-1600 gskill ripjaws
Video Card(s) GTX1070 / GTX970 / GTX770
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 250gb / 840 Evo 120gb / Mushkin ECO2 120gb
Display(s) 3x Dell P2211H / Acer G235
Case Thermaltake V51 / NZXT S340 / CoolerMaster Elite 130
Audio Device(s) onboard / onboard / onboard
Power Supply eVGA 650BQ / Corsair CX750M / eVGA 600B
Mouse Logitech G500s / Anker Gaming Optical / Logitech K400
Keyboard Azio MGK1 / Tesoro Lobera Spectrum / Logitech K400
Software Windows 10 Pro
I think your score is low because of the 1gb of RAM. Isn't sciencemark supposed to be a complete system test, rather than just CPU, and I guess a limiting factor is your 1gb of RAM.

I guess, idk lol :)
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
well im going to add another gig of hyperx and see what happens
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
1,065 (0.25/day)
Likes
480
Location
Charlotte NC
System Name Rigel / Dorothy / Vega
Processor Ryzen 1700 / 4690k / Pentium G3220 (stock)
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming+ / Asus Z97-E / ASRock H97M-ITX
Cooling H110i / Kraken X61 / Stock
Memory 16gb ddr4-3200 gskill TridentZ / 16GB ddr3-2400 gskill Sniper / 8gb ddr3-1600 gskill ripjaws
Video Card(s) GTX1070 / GTX970 / GTX770
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 250gb / 840 Evo 120gb / Mushkin ECO2 120gb
Display(s) 3x Dell P2211H / Acer G235
Case Thermaltake V51 / NZXT S340 / CoolerMaster Elite 130
Audio Device(s) onboard / onboard / onboard
Power Supply eVGA 650BQ / Corsair CX750M / eVGA 600B
Mouse Logitech G500s / Anker Gaming Optical / Logitech K400
Keyboard Azio MGK1 / Tesoro Lobera Spectrum / Logitech K400
Software Windows 10 Pro
Should bump you up to at least 1300. Looking through the site, I noticed that all of the higher scores were running with 2gb of RAM. The lower ones were sitting with 1gb.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
added another gig and only got 1068,lol not sure what the problem is
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
1,065 (0.25/day)
Likes
480
Location
Charlotte NC
System Name Rigel / Dorothy / Vega
Processor Ryzen 1700 / 4690k / Pentium G3220 (stock)
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming+ / Asus Z97-E / ASRock H97M-ITX
Cooling H110i / Kraken X61 / Stock
Memory 16gb ddr4-3200 gskill TridentZ / 16GB ddr3-2400 gskill Sniper / 8gb ddr3-1600 gskill ripjaws
Video Card(s) GTX1070 / GTX970 / GTX770
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 250gb / 840 Evo 120gb / Mushkin ECO2 120gb
Display(s) 3x Dell P2211H / Acer G235
Case Thermaltake V51 / NZXT S340 / CoolerMaster Elite 130
Audio Device(s) onboard / onboard / onboard
Power Supply eVGA 650BQ / Corsair CX750M / eVGA 600B
Mouse Logitech G500s / Anker Gaming Optical / Logitech K400
Keyboard Azio MGK1 / Tesoro Lobera Spectrum / Logitech K400
Software Windows 10 Pro
uh :wtf:

That's so wierd....
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
ok i overclocked to 2.5ghz and got 1370,maybe that extra gig helped a bit? thats the first time sciencemark recognized my overclock also,weird...........
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
1,065 (0.25/day)
Likes
480
Location
Charlotte NC
System Name Rigel / Dorothy / Vega
Processor Ryzen 1700 / 4690k / Pentium G3220 (stock)
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming+ / Asus Z97-E / ASRock H97M-ITX
Cooling H110i / Kraken X61 / Stock
Memory 16gb ddr4-3200 gskill TridentZ / 16GB ddr3-2400 gskill Sniper / 8gb ddr3-1600 gskill ripjaws
Video Card(s) GTX1070 / GTX970 / GTX770
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 250gb / 840 Evo 120gb / Mushkin ECO2 120gb
Display(s) 3x Dell P2211H / Acer G235
Case Thermaltake V51 / NZXT S340 / CoolerMaster Elite 130
Audio Device(s) onboard / onboard / onboard
Power Supply eVGA 650BQ / Corsair CX750M / eVGA 600B
Mouse Logitech G500s / Anker Gaming Optical / Logitech K400
Keyboard Azio MGK1 / Tesoro Lobera Spectrum / Logitech K400
Software Windows 10 Pro
300 points, that's good. More tweaking, and you should be in the 1500 range.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Athlon, what ever happened to my sig pic? I have been away and this thread has exploded over the last few days.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
ok i overclocked to 2.5ghz and got 1370,maybe that extra gig helped a bit? thats the first time sciencemark recognized my overclock also,weird...........
I noticed that you have a GeForce 6200 turbo cache, isn't that one of the vid cards that shares with your system memory? If so, that might be an issue. And are you shutting down ant extra processes in task manager and services.msc?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Oh and as a point of reference, @ 2.5 mine scores 1335 with 1GB ram @ 833MHz 4-4-4-12. So your score isn't actually lookin bad.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
I think your score is low because of the 1gb of RAM. Isn't sciencemark supposed to be a complete system test, rather than just CPU, and I guess a limiting factor is your 1gb of RAM.

I guess, idk lol :)
No the 1GB ram makes no difference.....if you look at the Sceincemark 2 tables Alec Starr is running 512MB ram for the test and is in the 1400's.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
ok i overclocked to 2.5ghz and got 1370,maybe that extra gig helped a bit? thats the first time sciencemark recognized my overclock also,weird...........
It IS mainly 2 things for Sceincemark.....CPU speed and Ram speed, RAM timings are a little less important, it's all about Bandwidth and Bandwidth does not rely on Ram quantity, run SisSandra memory bench and check your bandwidth, if you are near to 7000 then its fine, 6000 and below and there are some tweaks there that need doin.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
Pepsi, IM me you current settings, multiplier/FSB/ram speed/CPU and chipset Volts etc etc and I'll get another 100Mhz out of her with ya!!
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Oh and as a point of reference, @ 2.5 mine scores 1335 with 1GB ram @ 833MHz 4-4-4-12. So your score isn't actually lookin bad.
I goofed. My above mentioned test was at 2.4 and 800. At 2.5 and ram at 833 4-4-4-12 my score is 1385. I'm gonna try to run a test at 2.5 and 1000, just to see the difference. Well, if my ram will hold up to that anyway. lol
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
bah

so im at 2.55v at 1.45 and things are running very smooth. my ram timings are at 3-3-3-8. from 2.5-3-3-6. im running 255x10. i want to push it further! ive got tons of power and i think my ram can handle it. i saw some of you guys loosed to 3-3-3-12. im gonna try this later today and see if it allows me to go beyond 2.55ghz. i can still crank out some more power to the ddr so...wish me luck! :rockout:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I goofed. My above mentioned test was at 2.4 and 800. At 2.5 and ram at 833 4-4-4-12 my score is 1385. I'm gonna try to run a test at 2.5 and 1000, just to see the difference. Well, if my ram will hold up to that anyway. lol
Well, I got into Windows at 2.5GHz and 1000MHz, but Sciencemark failed. So, in the interest of science, I ran it at 2.5GHz and 500MHz 4-3-3-8 1T. Scores a 1297. 88 point difference with the only change being ram divider and latencies. I expected it to go down, but not by that much.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
jc we are all using the same sig pic,you just copy mine and personalize it how you wish
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
jc we are all using the same sig pic,you just copy mine and personalize it how you wish

damn you ever sleep?! where you live anyway? btw, you get my message about the recent cpuz pic ????
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
so im at 2.55v at 1.45 and things are running very smooth. my ram timings are at 3-3-3-8. from 2.5-3-3-6. im running 255x10. i want to push it further! ive got tons of power and i think my ram can handle it. i saw some of you guys loosed to 3-3-3-12. im gonna try this later today and see if it allows me to go beyond 2.55ghz. i can still crank out some more power to the ddr so...wish me luck! :rockout:
Try upping the volts, she will be good to 1.55V, she should be good for 2.7 Gig on that and it's perfectly safe, I had a 4200 x2 and got 2.9Gig on 1.55V but of course stock was that bit higher. Just watch the temps as the volts really do pile on the heat, my rule of thumb is that if you can keep her below 40C at idel then you will not hit anywhere neer the 60C max threashold.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
Try upping the volts, she will be good to 1.55V, she should be good for 2.7 Gig on that and it's perfectly safe, I had a 4200 x2 and got 2.9Gig on 1.55V but of course stock was that bit higher. Just watch the temps as the volts really do pile on the heat, my rule of thumb is that if you can keep her below 40C at idel then you will not hit anywhere neer the 60C max threashold.
youve got that hyperx memory! i need that. i think it will allow me to overclock a lot further.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
not bad for 2770 ghz :) ..still cant get it to 3 ghz windows wont boot :ohwell:


 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
youve got that hyperx memory! i need that. i think it will allow me to overclock a lot further.
I answered your question in your other thread!! Look, forget about the memory at the moment, that should be your last concern when overclocking your CPU, just set the memory divider low so memory speed will not be an issue so you can clock away to your hearts content, once you hit your CPU max then you play with the memory divider to see what the best memory speed is coupled with your CPU, if you find then with the mem divider you are only getting say 190 (380) and to up the memory divider makes your memory run too fast and she will not boot, thats the time to buy faster memory and up the divider but until you have acheived your highest CPU overclock by using various CPU multipliers/FSB speeds you wont know that answer so DONT BE HASTY! :D
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
I need to start an AMD overclocking workshop! Judas (and anyone else who is struggling to acheive what they think is their overclock objective), let me know by IM the following:

Max CPU multiplier
Current CPU multiplier setting
current overclock (therefore FSB)
current chipset voltage
current CPU voltage
current memory divider
memory divider options (1066, 800, 533, 400, 380, 333, 266, 133 yawn:rolleyes: )
current HTT divider
Cooling
current CPU idle temp

I will then look at ways I think you may be able to make some gains, of course my responses will be somewhat generic as I do not know all your motherboard BIOS parameters but what I can say is that rarely have I not helped members to make at least some gains!

PS: I can boot to windows at 3.4Gig on air but not Prime stable so I do not include it in my specs, I can only run stably All tests at a max of 3.25Gig but that will do!
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I answered your question in your other thread!! Look, forget about the memory at the moment, that should be your last concern when overclocking your CPU, just set the memory divider low so memory speed will not be an issue so you can clock away to your hearts content, once you hit your CPU max then you play with the memory divider to see what the best memory speed is coupled with your CPU, if you find then with the mem divider you are only getting say 190 (380) and to up the memory divider makes your memory run too fast and she will not boot, thats the time to buy faster memory and up the divider but until you have acheived your highest CPU overclock by using various CPU multipliers/FSB speeds you wont know that answer so DONT BE HASTY! :D
I agree with Tatty_One here Rhino. To achieve my 2.84GHz overclock, I raised the memory divider from the stock of 5(800MHz in bios), to 8(533 in bios) and loosened all of my latencies as loose as I could get them(just to be on the safe side). At that setting, my ram was running at 710MHz, well below the rated 800MHz. Once I found my max stable overclock on the processor, I started to fiddle with the ram dividers and latencies. Got it from 710MHz 5-6-6-18 to 947MHz 5-5-5-15, but it was a struggle getting it there. My board has serious hot and cold boot issues above 250MHz bus speed.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that I had to set HT multiplier to 3x