1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD overclocking and memory advice...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Pheonix_789, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    Hi I have a Sempron system and I have a question about memory.. how does having expensive 1GB 4000 memory have better overclocking compared to having just ordinary Kingston 3200 value ram? now I was able to increase my CPU perfomance by 200mhz using value ram Iam currently runing a Sempron 3000+ @2.oghz and 900FSB. If I were to buy more expensive OCZ gold 4000 memory will I get a better over clock? Oh yes since Iam only using Sempron 3000+ (754) claw hammer I only have single channel DIMM.


    thank-you for any advice!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    Please any advice would be great!

    Oh yes I have an ASUS K8N4-E deluxe Motherboard! great Mobo except for the North bridge which I replaced!
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    The biggest difference that you will find is speed. Better ram will most likely be able to hit a higher FSB at a 1:1 ratio with your CPU. Becuase the ram you have now is cheep inorder to hit a high CPU FSB you will have to run your ram in a divider and even lossin timings thus ferther reducing the speed of your computer. Better ram will indeed further your overclock and may even better the stabablity of your computer. But remeber every CPU and stick of ram is different so its best to find the max overclock for each commponit. And as far as not being able to run dual channle thats not really going to make a difference it only makes the ram run faster.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    so wouldnt my computer run faster if it overclocked at a higher speed say @2.2ghz with lossened timing with the performance memory?! Iam still very confused!:confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    It depends some times a computer with a CPU Core clock of 2.0gHz with ram running tight timmings of 2-3-3-3 would run faster than a computer runing at 2.2gHz with ram timmings of 3-4-4-5.

    It also depends if your ram is runing at pc 2100, pc 2700, or pc 3200 for examble.

    If you still don;t get it i will go into more detale.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    then what about the DDR 4000 @ 500mhz 3-4-4-5 and the Sempron @ 2.2GHZ and 1000mhz FSB?:confused: doesnt it seem more logical that the computer would be running alot faster because I know DDR2 can be @ 667mhz and have horrible timings but overclockers claim that they get impressive overclocks and a end result of a faster computer?:confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    Speed: PC2-6400 (800MHz)
    Timing: 5-5-5-15-1 (CL-tRCD-tRP-tRD-CMD)
    Voltage: 1.95V

    wouldnt this be alot faster then running Value Ram with faster timings and especially if you are overclocking your system?!:confused: would you get higher overclocks using this ram then oppose to using Value Ram?:confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    I dont exaclty get what your saying...ummm let me think. People get way better overclocks with DDR2 becuase it has so much more head room. If i had DDR 4000 running timmings of 2-3-2-3 and a Sempron at 2.0gHz i bet it would beet it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    (try reading the page) :nutkick:
    I was asking how timings and the type of memory effect overclocking result and final speed of the computer system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Answer to your seconed post, Yes it would be faster becuase the the "mHz" is alot higher and becuase it is DDR2. The timmings is just basicly how fast your coputer can send the info from your CPU to your RAM(the amount of time it takes and how fast it will end the operation) The mHz is what programs use to grind through tuff aplications.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    If you have pc 3200 running timmings of 3-4-4-5 camapred to pc 3200 in a divider running at pc 2700 running timings of 2-3-2-3 then it would run faster.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta

    Thanks but I got the impression that you said it would be slower because othe timings!:laugh:

    But anyways thank-you!:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Yes pc 3200 with losse timmings can be slower than pc 2700 running really tight timmings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    well if your system is overclocked should that not really have any real affect? anyways Iam using Value Ram so the timing on this ram sux!:laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Overclocking the CPU will have an effect but not if you have to loower your ram speed "mHz" so much just to hit a higher CPU FSB. Thats why a computer with a stock core clock with really tight ram timmings would run faster than a computer thats cpu is overclocked but ram running lower FSB and looser timmings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    oh I understand lol hahaha I wonder really people who acheive an overclock of 5.0ghz are really getting the maxium performance from their PC! or if they are really just sacrificing memory timings and getting a slow boot up!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    [​IMG]


    I think I might purchess OCZ 1GB PC4000 Gold Edition Rev 2 memory though and see what kind of Overclock I can get from this Sempron!:rolleyes: lol

    - 500MHz DDR
    - CL 2.5-3-3
    - 1GB (2x512MB) Dual Channel Optimized Kits
    - Unbuffered
    - Gold Layered Copper Heatspreader
    - Lifetime Warranty
    - EVPĀ®*
    - HyperSpeedĀ® Technology**
    -Voltage: 2.8 Volts
    -Pins: 184 Pin DIMM
    -Heatspreader: Gold Layered Copper Heatspreade
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Exaclty... But the boot up does not really have that much to do with the speed of your computer its more to do with your harddrive..every one know that the hard drive is the biggest bottleneck in a computer. if you could install widows on ram or the die of a cpu then omg every thing would load so fast :eek: but the computer would have to be able to run the aplications of course.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    That looks like some nice ram.. alos look into G.Skill they make some killer stuff. Good luck and happy overclocking.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta
    yeah thanks do you think getting this Ram will increase my already overclocked CPU?lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,601 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    with an amd 64 cpu pure cpu speed is the thing u want.. if u have to drop from the 1 to 1 ratio or loosen your memory timimgs to get more cpu speed thats what u do..

    with an intel memory speeds and fsb speeds have greater effect.. different rules apply..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Ink

    Ink New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    maybe this will help you, take a read i firmly beleive in this for i have had 2 different types of memory and tell u the truth the only diff is the speed at which i run the mem, and it scores the same on benchmarks with either mem i have. good luck hope it helps it did for me. link to a overclock guide http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=40178
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Pheonix_789

    Pheonix_789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    178 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Edmonton Alberta

    right... anyways I overclocked this Sempron 3000+ 2050mhz, 920FSB I overclocked the memory (Kingston 3200 value memory) 2-5-3-3-2 and 2.65 voltage 250mhz (500mhz) and my PC boots up incredibly fast even for this slow sempron its only taken me less than a minute to fully boot up!:twitch:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,601 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    your boot up speed is entirely governed by your hardrive speed.. which is way slower than even the slowest memory on the planet.. files load from from slow hardrive into much faster memory while booting.. your memory speeds or timings will not alter boot-up speed in the slightest..

    soooo whatever u are seeing aint down to your faster memory speeds.. your imagination praps... its amazing what the power of suggestion does.. he he

    trog

    ps.. the myth about needing fast expensive memory with an amd 64 chip exists.. myths are hard to destroy once they get firmly rooted.. they even make some folks see things that aint there..????
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)