• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD OverDrive Version 2.1.6 Released

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
AMD updated today its AMD OverDrive utility to version 2.1.6. This little program specially designed for AMD platforms, enables easy overclocking from Windows, can monitor the temps of your system, and finally can serve as torture test if you want to check your system for stability. Download it, if you need it.

DOWNLOAD: AMD OverDrive 2.1.6

Show full news post
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
I hope this fixes the temp/clock speed reading bug they have had with the Phenom IIs. I will try as soon as I get home. I always use the BIOS, but this utility wouldbe cool if they get the bugs worked out.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#4
I wonder if it'll work with Windows 7 without any trickery.

Kei
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#5
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#6
Fail, no W7 support. :(

Kei
Lame, that means I'm going to have problems making it work in Server2008. Does Orca help? It helped with 2.1.4, but not with 2.1.5. :(
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#7
Hopefully they are getting this over all more stable, I can't even get it to work on my comp, just locks up.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
#8
I have used an old old version, and works good for me, but my sytem is over a year old also lol
AND OMG, Last Remnant Demo, I must try this, but can it be as good or better than Chrono Trigger?? hmmmmmm
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#9
Anyone have a change list?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.15/day)
Likes
104
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro
#10
This was available for DL yesterday. I tried it and still not worth much in the OC'ing area.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#11
It would be nice if this works for a 770 chipset. 2.1.4 does, 2.1.5 won't launch. I know the progy isn't ment for a 770, but I get pretty much everything except auto clock with 2.1.4 and older.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#12
This was available for DL yesterday. I tried it and still not worth much in the OC'ing area.
Maybe because your board does not allow it.4+1 power phase plus the specs read it as a Home theater board not a high end board.:shadedshu

– AMD AM2+/AM2 Platform
– Support latest AMD Phenom ™ Quad-Core
Processor
– Dual-Channel DDR2 -1066/800/667
– Instant Internet Access with Express Gate Lite
– AMD Hybrid CrossFireX™ and DX10 Support
– User Friendly Q-Shield Desig
– 4+1 Phase Power Design
– Support 45nm Phenom™ II CPU

If your board supports Overdrive it will say so in the specs...that is for anyone that complains about AMD .
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
Doesnt appear to fix the "bug" in the AMD PHII 940 on a DFL LP DX790FXB. Vcore in AOD is 1.35v w/ temps at approx. 44c. ITE Smart & BIOS read actual 1.42V at approx. 34c. I sure wish they could get this figured out. I would like to try "ovreclocking on the fly". After all, I have the entire "Dragon Platform". LOL
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,563 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,464
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#14
Doesnt appear to fix the "bug" in the AMD PHII 940 on a DFL LP DX790FXB. Vcore in AOD is 1.35v w/ temps at approx. 44c. ITE Smart & BIOS read actual 1.42V at approx. 34c. I sure wish they could get this figured out. I would like to try "ovreclocking on the fly". After all, I have the entire "Dragon Platform". LOL
your mobo overvolts by cpu stock volts 1.35v in your case+whatever your overvolting it is not shown by any program but DFI's in windows that's DFI not AMD's fault.

BIOS has never reported temps right. thats just how it works the temp sensors are no were remotely close to the one on the chip.

all of the issues you have mentioned are DFI not AMD.
 

Clutch442

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Woodhaven, New York
System Name Carpeter442
Processor AMD 5000+ BE @3210
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2 GB OZC PC 6400
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 3870 OC Edition Sapphire HD 3870 "Toxic" Crossfire
Storage WD 320 GB / Hitachi 250 GB
Display(s) View Sonic 19" P95fx CRT
Case Antec SX 835
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500 + Thermaltake 450W Power Express
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 12342 (so far)
#15
Do you think it's worth the trouble of uninstalling the 2.1.5 and installing this version?
I just installed the 2.1.5 early this week. With my luck the new version came out like a day later.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
your mobo overvolts by cpu stock volts 1.35v in your case+whatever your overvolting it is not shown by any program but DFI's in windows that's DFI not AMD's fault.

BIOS has never reported temps right. thats just how it works the temp sensors are no were remotely close to the one on the chip.

all of the issues you have mentioned are DFI not AMD.
LOL. Wow I didn't realize that. It worked fine on my wifes Phenom 9600 BE on a Gigabyte board, and works fine on my buddys 9950 ona DFI board just like mine. I guess that is why I thought is was the 940.

Stock Vcore on the 940 is 1.32v not 1.35. Also, Sandra, Everest, CPU-Z and MB Monitor all ready the temps & voltage the same as the DFI and BIOS. I think those are the temps I will rely on, instead of the AOD utility, because it seems to be the odd man out. I frankly believe it is an AMD issue not a DFI issue, as others are experiencing the same problem on different boards.

Anyone else have AOD running well on a 940??
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#17
it dosnt work for my setup, i would like to play around with it though, BIOS ocing is just as fast if you alredy know your limets