1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition release date?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JFITZ, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. JFITZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just sold my 9500 so that I could purchase the 9600 black edition, does anyone know when they will go on sale like on newegg or something? If anyone catchs it on sale lemme know!
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Im waiting for the 9500 Black Edition if it ever comes out =/ I think they come out in mid January tho
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,150
    Good luck getting it to work in your AM2 motherboard...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,324 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Your the guy in the Black (in your avatar) kicking him the guy in the whites, hope's and Idea's lol.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well when I get one im getting a cheap 700 chipset or somthing :rockout: with a Centurion 5
     
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    That "guy" in the black is none other then the "Feared" Black Night of Antiock vs King Arthur....Man am I old.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,324 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yes we all know Monty Python, don't feel to bad...

    "NOw go away or I shall taunt you a second time..."
     
  9. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Please! This is supposed to be a happy occasion. Let's not bicker and argue over who killed who.
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. magnus28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the new quad core AMDs are highly overated.

    the new 9500 phenom is quad core but only at 2.2 GHZ and the core is 4x 512k cache.

    better off getting the 6400 x2 which runs at 3.2 GHZ and has 2x 1024MB cache.

    same cache but 1 GHZ slower???

    do the math.

    your games won't notice the difference between the two caches, and neither will you.

    it's just hype dude.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    When someone buys a cpu they are gonna want to OC... why the hell would you get a quad and NOT OC it?? Im pretty sure a 3ghz Phenom beats a 3ghz athlon
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    "Come back and I'll bite your legs off you yellow bastard!"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. magnus28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i'm sure it would.. but the new 9500 phenom quad core only operates at 2.2 ghz

    so why would you want something that slow?

    if you understand how quadcores and true quadcores operate, you know that games aren't utilizing the full potential of the core.

    to break it down for you it's like this.

    if you had a stack of books and asked 2 kids to move them to the other side of the room, if each kid took 2 books each, and say it takes them 5 minutes to complete the task. It would equal the same time if you asked 4 kids to take 1 book each.

    quad cores currently are running each quater at 512k. 4x 512k = 2048 for L2 cache.
    dual cores run each half at 1024mb 2 x 1024 = 2048 L2 cache.

    Dual cores actually work your cpu, because before the dual core, single core processors had to simulate real time by dividing the workload of each task in nanoseconds. Like if you were running a virus scan, copying a folder, listening to music, and playing solitare at the same time, the single core would have to work at one task, stop, work at the next task, stop...next task.. and try to simulate real time. Dual cores could split the workload in half by dedicating some of the bus speed to each task at hand. spliting the core into 4 is not improving performance UNLESS you increase the cache size. Much like having a 1000 MHZ FSB is not optimal if your RAM is running at 400mhz.

    Thus, Quadcores may be better, faster in the future, however i'm not going to waste money on a quadcore that only runs a 2.2.GHZ - In which the 9500 Phenom operates at.
     
  14. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    522 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Do you have any clue what you're talking about?
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ok, couple of problems here. First, you are leaving out the L3 cache that Phenoms possess. That's another 2MB of cache. Second, you are leaving out the fact that Phenoms possess twice the L1 cache of the X2. Third, games aren't the only applications. Encode some video, do some heavy photoshopping, some rendering, CAD work, or just really heavy multi-tasking, and you'll quickly change your mind about the benefits of a quad core.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    -_-.....the big difference is there are more cores which can do more work. Second, amd chips use HTT so they only benifit from so much cache. Third, there are architectural differences that make k10 faster clock per clock (even in a single thread) than k8.

    Oh and you can't just look at cache to see the difference between cpus. It's also architecture, speed, interface, and other aspects including cache but not limited to cache.
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Speed in Mhz changes with new designs.

    A pIII at 3.0ghz would not be the same as a core duo 2 at 3.0 Ghz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)