• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II 955 worth upgrading to?

Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#1
i got a Phenom 9850 BE, is the Phenom II 955 BE worth upgrading to?
i can get a 955 for around $340 here, i can get around $108 from my current 9850 BE but is the other $232 worth the upgrade?

my motherboard supports Phenom II 955

i mainly game but i also do some encoding of video/audio

or should i wait until the 955 drops in price?

UPDATE:
The Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 & 955 problem is now solved, grab beta BIOS here

But before you do that, check their website... Maybe they'll update it later to 'release' version.

Cheers,
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#2
Considering my Phenom II 720 @ 3.7Ghz slaughters my old 9950(highest I could get was 3.3Ghz) I would say yes in the perspective of overclocking. If your not goinng to overclock then I would have to say no.
 
D

DreamSeller

Guest
#3
Considering my Phenom II 720 @ 3.7Ghz slaughters my old 9950(highest I could get was 3.3Ghz) I would say yes in the perspective of overclocking. If your not goinng to overclock then I would have to say no.
+1
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#4
my 9580 BE dont overclock well, but i might overclock the 955, as many has reported it overclocks alot better than the old agena phenoms
do anyone know if someone with SB600 based board has overclocked their 955s?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#6
You should have no issues OC'ing with a SB600. Basically all a SB750 would give you is ACC(for the Phenom's, not Phenom II) and RAID 5. You should have some fun:rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#7
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#8
its just a bios update issue, should be sorted out by next bios or a beta bios from support
AMD sendt bios code to Gigabyte, and gigabyte fucked up :O
but i do know that II 940 works with this board, so that way it looks good
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#9
I'm surprised you got a Phenom I working on that board :laugh: I'd upgrade it honestly. Gigabyte's first wave of AMD 700 chipsets were god awfull. I think the 955 is worth upgrading too over the Phenom I's, they have a lot more cache and clock higher..
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#10
the GA-MA790FX-DS5 supported the 9850 BE before BIOS F6 thats why i suspect they removed the 9850 BE from their cpu support page

anything higher than F5 bios = reboot on 9850 BE after some encoding, gaming and harddrive usage
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#11
Again, Phenom 2 is a failed attempt when trying to knock out the i7. Decent gaming processor though now that it's instructions got enhanced and OC is FTW.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#12
what amd is baggin on is that people who want a decent machine but not the highest end aka i7 would go for a phenom II

this is to compete with intel core 2 and the new i5 in theory

EDIT: more cache and higher speeds even at stock speeds its a better design

even a x3 720Be would be much better
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#13
Again, Phenom 2 is a failed attempt when trying to knock out the i7. Decent gaming processor though now that it's instructions got enhanced and OC is FTW.
well given the fact that intel stole some design wins from amd in their i7, dont count amd out just yet, Phenom II is after all just a tweaked phenom with more cache and higher clock

btw: i7 is a high end workstation chip its not made to compete with Phenom II, and you also got the awful upgrading path with i7, intel has now 3 diffrent sockets(core2+i5+i7), amd got only 1 socket aka AM2 that also works with AM2+ and AM3 CPUs
 

Sejanus47

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
California
Processor Q6600 @ 3.4ghz 1.4v
Motherboard GA-P35-DS3R Rev 2.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 4gb Corsair Dominator @ 888 mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) eVGA Geforce 9800 GTX 512mb
Storage WD 160gb 16mb Cache x2
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium PCI-E x1
Power Supply Zalman 750W
Software Windows 7 RC 7100 64 Bit
#14
Also keep in mind that 775 is pretty much a dead socket now. AM3 will only get better with time hopefully.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#15
Again, Phenom 2 is a failed attempt when trying to knock out the i7. Decent gaming processor though now that it's instructions got enhanced and OC is FTW.
"again, Phenom 2..."

wrong.


"now that it's instructions got enhanced"

sigh. still wrong.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#16
Looking at 3dmark Vantage, I'm scoring double what a i7 965, 1000USD Triple Channel Ram(lets just say 50USD), with 1 HD4890 would produce. (200USD)

1250USD


My system is a 955/790FX=420USD have DDR3 set at 1333 which would be 30USD for 2GB of ram, and 2 HD4890 cards. Granted I am OCed like most machines around these parts lol

850USD



My systems score




Review I read with the score I'm talking about


http://www.legitreviews.com/article/944/14/
 

Bokteelo

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
479 (0.15/day)
Likes
37
#17
I don't get it... if you're an enthusiast and want to go AMD, you'll be paying 255 for the 955, and another 200 for the ASUS M4A79T Deluxe. Basically it totals to around 455, whereas for an i7, customers in the US can pick up an i7 for 245 at Microcenter tax included, and pay another 270-ish for a good X58 mobo. That totals to around 515.

PII 955 + ASUS M4A79T Deluxe = 455 (Estimate)
i7 920 + DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8 = 515 (Estimate)

Of course, you don't HAVE to get the M4A79T, there are cheaper boards out there, but I see that many people have bought the M4A79T so it's always been on my mind.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,628
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#18
Phenom II 955 will not work with your motherboard !
I know it should, but it won't. Not until they fix their BIOS.

See my post here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1370352#post1370352

Cheers,
this is the same issue i had with both of my Asus's on the pre 955 BIOS's the 955 would not run at the full 3.2ghz it has the pstates set incorrectly on it. the board is reading DID 0 as DID 4 and instead of getting 3.2ghz your getting 1/4th of that for 800mhz. all you need is a BIOS update to fix the problem.

made that post in your thread

Again, Phenom 2 is a failed attempt when trying to knock out the i7. Decent gaming processor though now that it's instructions got enhanced and OC is FTW.
ummm phenom II is not aimed at i7 at all its aimed at the old intel Core2Quads you know like the 9550 and such that it happens to be priced with.

I don't get it... if you're an enthusiast and want to go AMD, you'll be paying 255 for the 955, and another 200 for the ASUS M4A79T Deluxe. Basically it totals to around 455, whereas for an i7, customers in the US can pick up an i7 for 245 at Microcenter tax included, and pay another 270-ish for a good X58 mobo. That totals to around 515.

PII 955 + ASUS M4A79T Deluxe = 455 (Estimate)
i7 920 + DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8 = 515 (Estimate)

Of course, you don't HAVE to get the M4A79T, there are cheaper boards out there, but I see that many people have bought the M4A79T so it's always been on my mind.
its not that amazing of a board the M4A78T-E is a great board.

now to further your cost thing

lets say i have an MSI K9A2 platinum and Athlon X2 6000+ (a common system of old) and i want a newer system it will cost $230 for a new phenom II 955 and your done with your upgrade. now lets say you have a C2D E7200 and asus P5Q-PRO (again a common system) it will cost $515+$90 for DDR3 making it $605 to upgrade an intel C2D to an i7 while it will only cost $230 to upgrade to a phenom II from Athlon X2 which is actually older than the LGA775 rig
 

Sejanus47

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
California
Processor Q6600 @ 3.4ghz 1.4v
Motherboard GA-P35-DS3R Rev 2.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 4gb Corsair Dominator @ 888 mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) eVGA Geforce 9800 GTX 512mb
Storage WD 160gb 16mb Cache x2
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium PCI-E x1
Power Supply Zalman 750W
Software Windows 7 RC 7100 64 Bit
#19
As many have said earlier, PheII is not aimed at dethroning i7. It is aimed at the c2q/c2d platforms since thats what the majority of users are still running. Also keep in mind that majority of p.c. users don't upgrade year to year or when the next big thing comes out. Usually if they can get close to the performance of the top of the line for half the cost then thats what they will usually go for. That's what AMD offers.
Many reviews show the 955 beating q5550/q9650 clock for clock and o.c. If you need links I'm sure I can find a couple for you.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#20
i mainly game on a 1280x1024 19" LCD
so a II 955 should be a better upgrade dont you guys think?
am more cpu bound than gpu bound on this resolution
can someone with a 955 downclock theirs and then run 3dmark vantage at performance preset on 2.5ghz, 3.2ghz and 3.6ghz?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.20/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#21
Quite Frankly you're better off getting a Phenom II 940 and overclocking it as your motherboard only uses DDR2 memory, and the 940 actually can clock higher than the 955. Would save you some money, getting full performance out of the 955 would require an AM3 motherboard, and DDR3 memory.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#22

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#23
My AMD rig Crunches faster than Chicken Pattys i7 rig lol

That's what it's benchmarks say at least!

4Ghz vs 4Ghz.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#24
stop doing PII vs i7... PII was made for people not to upgrade their AMD to a core 2...i7 vs PII is just not fair... i7 kills them :) for a new system btw,

PII 955 + DFI DK AM3 + 4gb ddr3 dual channel = ~483$
i7 + DFI DK X58 + 3gb of same RAM triple channel = ~502$

Fair comparaison? IMO for new, i7 all the way... If you want to upgrade, PII... If you want lower budget, PII 720BE or PII 940
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,628
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#25
stop doing PII vs i7... PII was made for people not to upgrade their AMD to a core 2...i7 vs PII is just not fair... i7 kills them :) for a new system btw,

PII 955 + DFI DK AM3 + 4gb ddr3 dual channel = ~483$
i7 + DFI DK X58 + 3gb of same RAM triple channel = ~502$

Fair comparaison? IMO for new, i7 all the way... If you want to upgrade, PII... If you want lower budget, PII 720BE or PII 940
why do you keep posting this? noone cares it has nothing to do with any of the posts made nor does it have anything to do with the OP if you ahve nothing else to say that has anything to do with upgrading from a 9850 to a 955 stop posting in this thread.