• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.80 GHz

inmytaxi

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#26
Actually, no. There have been several reviews that show you don't take a realistic performance drop a card until you hit 4x on the PCIe lane. The difference between 8x and 16x for SLI/Crossfire is non-existant unless you have 2 $400 plus cards.
I see. I have a difficult time finding benchmarks on line that show my card, usually older cards or better cards. I guess my conclusion that the difference was > i5 750 vs. 1055t was mostly inference.

For gaming, i5 750, P II 955, i7 860 are all about the same in performance and your GPU's power is the primary deciding factor. I would not go with the P II 550. While it can hold its own, it will limit the Crossfire/SLI setup. If you are on a budget, get the Athlon X4 620 and OC it a bit or Phenom II X3 720. If you can spend a little more, the Phenom II 955 and i5 750 are the best bang for your buck offers for gaming hands down.
Two reasons for the $80 550 ... a. it can possibly turn into a B50 x4 and b. for the $100 + savings I could get my second 4890 right away.

Do you think 2x 4890 + 550 dual core < 1x 4890 + 965 quad core in terms of fps?

Of course if I get the 635 I could probably get both as it's close in price to the 550 ...

Thanks.

Funny thing is, when I'm actually playing the game, I'm less worried about high resolution etc. and more into the action...I could just turn down the resolution and increase the fps that way ....
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.55/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#27
Not bad on air, Im guessing you could get close to 5Ghz on liquid??
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.21/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#28
I think you'll see only a few FPS boost from a quad core. Some of that will be with in the margin or error, and then I figure the other part is that you will take any background (OS) load and pass it to the unused core/s.

A game that uses up to 8 cores would be GRID and DiRT 2, in case anyone is curious.

Another thing that sucks is the X3s fail to be fully utilized in the majority of multithreaded programs and games due to a thing called "Power of 2". Which also makes me wonder if the X6 (AMD or Intel) will be fully utilized in programs since it isn't a Power of 2... 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc are however, and SMP systems (Istanbul would be excluded) or the "X8" Magny-Cours would be used fully, provided an app or game is coded for that many threads. Now that isn't to say an X3 won't benefit over an X2, since like I said before it could alleviate some of the background load. I'm also open to being proven wrong if someone has a few reviews of the X3 vs X2 and X4, since I haven't really read many recently. I had been planning on an X2 from the start since I wouldn't have the money and the only time I considered the 720 was when it was on sale for $99, which I missed out on.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,419 (3.10/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#29
Two reasons for the $80 550 ... a. it can possibly turn into a B50 x4 and b. for the $100 + savings I could get my second 4890 right away.

Do you think 2x 4890 + 550 dual core < 1x 4890 + 965 quad core in terms of fps?

Of course if I get the 635 I could probably get both as it's close in price to the 550 ...
Could and will are 2 different things. I had a perfect batch of a 720BE and that never unlocked. The 550 is a great proc, but I would just go for the sure thing and either get a 720BE or a 635. Those are both gonna be close in price and you will for sure get the extra core or 2.

Another thing that sucks is the X3s fail to be fully utilized in the majority of multithreaded programs and games due to a thing called "Power of 2". Which also makes me wonder if the X6 (AMD or Intel) will be fully utilized in programs since it isn't a Power of 2... 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc are however, and SMP systems (Istanbul would be excluded) or the "X8" Magny-Cours would be used fully, provided an app or game is coded for that many threads. Now that isn't to say an X3 won't benefit over an X2, since like I said before it could alleviate some of the background load. I'm also open to being proven wrong if someone has a few reviews of the X3 vs X2 and X4, since I haven't really read many recently. I had been planning on an X2 from the start since I wouldn't have the money and the only time I considered the 720 was when it was on sale for $99, which I missed out on.
Your missing the complete point of 3 cores with your first sentence. Yes most games only use 2 cores, but when you start a game you also have a lot of background processes running. With a dual core it has to manage those and the game, with a tri-core it can drop the game on 2 cores and the background processes on another. I know you do mention that, but it definitely helps and is worth the small price increase, because background processes can start to get taxing.

Also even if a game isn't meant to run on we'll say 6 cores, it still will usually stress them to around 20%, so there is a gain, nothing huge, but it really doesn't matter, having 4 extra cores to do whatever is nice, and it's nice beyond gaming, I'm not sure I would pay for a more expensive 6 core, but for the $150 I got mine for, it's just flat out awesome, 3.9ghz on the out of box heatsink and crushes games, even if they only use 2 cores, 2 cores from it is plenty enough.
 

inmytaxi

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#30
What about the benefit of the extra 2 cores with a game like GTA IV that uses 4 cores? In the real world I'll have raid which is processed I believe by the cpu, anti virus in the background, and a million other processses that you probably shut down during a benchmark.

I'd be interested to see if the 1055t suffers less of a fps hit in 4 core games from this "noise" than the 860/930/750/965 from the off loading space you mentioned in the 720 ... and while I'm at it, does crossfire have a cpu hit too?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#31
While most games only need 2 cores or so, when you do run across a game that uses more than one like Bad Company 2, Dirt 2, Far Cry 2, a dual core setup will suffer. Since you want an article about it, here is a resent one that fits right into what you are looking to do.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-processor-core-i3-athlon-ii,2666.html

So remember that this Phenom II X6 is a Phenom and has full use of its L3 cache. Even when it only needs a few cores to handle business so to speak, Turbo mode will kick in, up the clock of 3 cores, giving you the power of an OCed Phenom II X3 720. And when it needs more cores, it has 6 of them to throw at it. This is great for most things, it is just overkill for gaming. 4 cores has proven to be more than enough to handle the truly multithreaded games and your computers background tasks without breaking a sweat.

Simple truth. My roommate, most here know him as killer rubber ducky has a P II 550. At stock with a 5850, his system performed like crap. Aftermarket cooler and a 800 Mhz OC, it now plays as smooth as butter. To make sure his card was defective, we tested it in my system with my P II 955. At stock I could run BFBC2 at max everything in DX10 and nearly max in DX11. With the recent driver update, I probably can get DX11 maxed. So his 2 cores at 3.1 vs. my 4 cores at 3.2 proved to be a major difference for that game.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,303 (0.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#32
TheLaughingMan,

Thanks for that website. It gives some good info. I wished they used a PII 550/555 to see what effect a big cache has with 2 cores vs the rest in the bunch. Right now I'm debating on selling my PII550 or my triple-core 425.
 

inmytaxi

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#33
Thanks for your reply. I've already ordered the new 4890, found one used on ebay for 125 inclusive. Maybe I'll buy the 1055t and do the review I want myself. I assume you can disable the cores in it? I could do a 555 vs. 955 vs. 1055t with xfire vs. one 4890 in my polluted, non fresh Windows 7.

Is there anyway to limit the lanes in a 890 FX to simulate a GX xfire situation?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#34
TheLaughingMan,

Thanks for that website. It gives some good info. I wished they used a PII 550/555 to see what effect a big cache has with 2 cores vs the rest in the bunch. Right now I'm debating on selling my PII550 or my triple-core 425.
There is an article on that very thing, but it was done some time ago. I think it was in reaction the release of the Athlon 620 and how it stood up against the P II 550 and 720.

Try searching their site for "cores vs. cache" or something like that. I will look myself and post the article if I can find it.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.21/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#35
Thanks for your reply. I've already ordered the new 4890, found one used on ebay for 125 inclusive. Maybe I'll buy the 1055t and do the review I want myself. I assume you can disable the cores in it? I could do a 555 vs. 955 vs. 1055t with xfire vs. one 4890 in my polluted, non fresh Windows 7.

Is there anyway to limit the lanes in a 890 FX to simulate a GX xfire situation?
Put it in the third PCIe slot I would say. Or if you have 2 older generation cards you can plug in the first 2 slots to run in CF, that would ensure the third and fourth are running x8. I think that the third and fourth are always x8 though, since most (but not all) GXs are that way.



As for that Tom's link, I was actually very surprised at the game performance boost from L3!
 

ragejg

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
#36
Nice review. :)

It's nice to see the x3 chips still getting some love.

It is amazing, however, how large the selection is right now for three or more core AM2+/AM3 chips, and how well pretty much ALL of them can game. I'm not talking chart-topping performance, I'm talking bang-for-the-buck-d@mn-I-got-my-money's-worth performance. :D

Right now an Athlon II x3 3ghz can be had for as low as $60. This reminds me of when TBredB Athlon XP 1700s hit this price, as well as the A64 939 3000+s... good times to be a hardware enthusiast indeed.

I have two 720BEs right now, one's in my 720p media PC (my main gaming rig) with an HD 5830... it's an AMD 770 setup so it can't unlock, but I have it at 3.5ghz. The other 720 is in my desk gaming rig, running @ x4, 3.1ghz with a GTX 465. It seems that the x3 @ 3.5 rig might be a bit quicker in some games for some reason that's not just the video cards. The clockspeed plus the fact that all of that cache is allocated to fewer cores (more cache per core) may be helping make up for the lack of a core... I can't be completely certain though.

I wrote NV News' GTX 465 vs HD 5830 review using the x3 @ 3.5 rig, and have one more upcoming review using this setup as well. After that's over with, though, I'm going x6 so I can remain within the realm of common real-world gaming performance while going a little bit bleeding edge at the same time. :D

Also FWIW I just scored an old Phenom x3 8600B for a friend's rig (I'll probably OC it to 2.5 or so), and it'll be trying out Bad Company 2 (@ 1280x720, DX9 using XP and an OCed HD 4830) in the coming months. I'm interested to see what this older chip can do in that game, especially since it has L3 cache and three cores. I think as games + OS start to utilize more than what they used to around 2008, those old x3 chips might climb up a few pegs on the benchmark results charts.
 
Last edited:

inmytaxi

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#37
The 2nd 4890 was purchased for 125 inclusive of shipping and fees, I'm thrilled. For $125 I get to upgrade my old 4890 I paid $150 for into something that outperforms a $400 5870, 295, and beats 5830s ($440 on sale) in crossfire.

The six core 1055T is in house/chosen for it's abililty to morph into dual/tri and quad configurations. I'll use my 890FX to mimic 8x8 GX by using the 1st and 3 lanes, the latter borrows its only eight lanes from the 16 of the lane one, so it'll give us a way to compare performance between the first and second 16x lanes. I don't expect to see much difference, but I want to shame myself for wasting money on a the FX board and this will do it certainly.

I just suck.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#38
The 2nd 4890 was purchased for 125 inclusive of shipping and fees, I'm thrilled. For $125 I get to upgrade my old 4890 I paid $150 for into something that outperforms a $400 5870, 295, and beats 5830s ($440 on sale) in crossfire.
I would have got a second HD4870 used for about 120$ in order to crossfire but it would lack DX11 and it's so much more power hungry than a HD5770 so that's why I'm not doing it but yea it would be as good as a HD5850 for much cheaper.

I just installed my 1055T yesterday to replace my E8400 4.32Ghz. I tryed BC2 in 1920x1080, all on maximum HBAO off 0xAA 16xAF just like before.. and wow I couldn't believe it that even at stock speed of 2.8Ghz, the game got suddently 5x smoother than before. No more lag at all even thought I'm still using 1 HD4870 512Mb card. I would never have expected such a performance boost.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,446 (5.73/day)
Likes
8,966
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#39
While most games only need 2 cores or so, when you do run across a game that uses more than one like Bad Company 2, Dirt 2, Far Cry 2, a dual core setup will suffer. Since you want an article about it, here is a resent one that fits right into what you are looking to do.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-processor-core-i3-athlon-ii,2666.html

So remember that this Phenom II X6 is a Phenom and has full use of its L3 cache. Even when it only needs a few cores to handle business so to speak, Turbo mode will kick in, up the clock of 3 cores, giving you the power of an OCed Phenom II X3 720. And when it needs more cores, it has 6 of them to throw at it. This is great for most things, it is just overkill for gaming. 4 cores has proven to be more than enough to handle the truly multithreaded games and your computers background tasks without breaking a sweat.

Simple truth. My roommate, most here know him as killer rubber ducky has a P II 550. At stock with a 5850, his system performed like crap. Aftermarket cooler and a 800 Mhz OC, it now plays as smooth as butter. To make sure his card was defective, we tested it in my system with my P II 955. At stock I could run BFBC2 at max everything in DX10 and nearly max in DX11. With the recent driver update, I probably can get DX11 maxed. So his 2 cores at 3.1 vs. my 4 cores at 3.2 proved to be a major difference for that game.
You should try 6 cores at 3.9 ;)

While I agree 6 cores are useless for gaming I will say when I went from a 955 to a 1090T my load times were reduced dramatically in BC2.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.21/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#41
Waiting for the Brown Man ... waiting waiting waiting ...
*cough* I'll uh... assume you are referring to the UPS guy and not your daily BM :laugh:


BTW everyone, I saw the Phenom II 1035T is available in China! They had listing placeholders for the (remored to be canceled) X4 960T, and also the 1075T :) The only ones with a price and that showed stock was the 1035T, 1055T and 1090T.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.21/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#43
Might the 960T be the Quad with turbo mode? :D
That would be the one. Sozma or some such core, which is X6 with 2 cores disabled heh
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#44
Best mate and i have just finished 24/7 stable overclock on his 1055t with S1283-red scorpion cpu cooler, X-fired (2x) HIS iceq 5670 1gb's, gigabite 880 mobo, ripjaw ram and 680w psu, idle temp is 19*c 100% load occt test after 2hrs was 44*c CnQ enabled and its winter here





For giggles top stable has been 4.15Ghz runs fine at 4.2ghz but occt test bsod after 15 mins, One Very Good cpu.

http://www.ts3krew.com/index.php?topic=104.0
 
Last edited:

inmytaxi

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#45
1055t oc only to 3.4

oh well. that's what i get fer being fancy.

it could be the gigabyte mb rearranges my memory timings and that's what's causing problems. won't even boot higher.

and at that speed i get system freezes during gaming.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#46
it could be the gigabyte mb rearranges my memory timings and that's what's causing problems. won't even boot higher. and at that speed i get system freezes during gaming.
Yes I don't know wtf is wrong with the memory settings from Gigabyte motherboards... I got their mobo with the 890GX chipset and my ram is rated at DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24 1,35v. The bios sets the voltage to 1.50 which I don't mind however the SPD column isn't even the optimised one it's the terrible Jedec which gives like 9-9-9.

Anyway so I don't think I had the "can't boot issue" at stock speed but at about 275x14=3850Mhz even if the ram is underclock, if I set the SAME value as the auto column but manualy instead of keeping it on (Auto) then the system won't boot but ffs it's the same numbers that (Auto) gives me. That's really weird.. so I could only boot by keeping it on Auto as even if I'd put very slack timing it wouldn't boot for no reasons. Now I've managed to boot in auto at 6-6-6-15 but at only DDR3-1100 because of the memory multiplier :shadedshu I just don't get it why it wasn't 100% stable at 1450 7-7-7

I thought my cpu was being unstable at 3.85Ghz with 1.50v but looks like it was a weird memory issue I had. I'll see if I can push the cpu further, else I'll stay there and lower as much the voltage as I can.

Is it useful to raise these voltages?
- CPU PLL (2.50v stock)
- DDR VTT (0.75v stock)
- NB/PCIE/PLL Voltage (1.80v stock)